We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel in a not-so-nice area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Emmaus
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Nice motel in a not-so-nice area”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We really liked the room and the motel, but the surrounding area was dicey and noisy. My wife did not feel very safe walking the dog in most places. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room itself was nice and clean, with comfortable beds, but due to the environs we would not want to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    50
    29
    7
    8
See reviews for
45
44
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Very pleasant stay! Front desk staff very helpful. This was during spring break and we had nope problems whatsoever. Close to downtown and several attractions. The continental breakfast was very good with a nice blend of selections.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mike75766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

First - I enjoyed my stay, slept well, and don't regret staying here after reading many reviews here.

As to staying there again - big maybe due to location. I never felt unsafe, however there are a lot of homeless folks in the area and it's pretty seedy. Just an old and unkept area with no restaurants or shopping nearby. This applies to most of the area north of downtown Corpus Christi for that matter. However, I was able to drive to some good restaurants in about ten minutes so not a huge deal.

As to the hotel itself, I was pleased with the size and quality of the room. It was more like one of the new BW-Plus hotels but with outside entries. Great bed, good linens, good towells, nice flat-screen with large selection of channels, above average coffee, great fridge, good micro, very nice staff. A few nicks, but overall very comfortable. I didn't try breakfast so can't comment on that.

I drove around much of the downtown (and "uptown") areas of Corpus - the town I was born in - and found that it was more frayed around the edges than I remember it. Perhaps there are new areas that are thriving that I didn't see, and I plan on exploring for those on my next trip. I'll likely look for a hotel in such an area if I can find it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoboTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado City, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in December. The Motel itself was nice and fairly new. It was pretty clean with the exception of the sheets and office chair. There were some stains on the sheets and the office chair was just really dirty, I decided to give the room (chair, door knobs etc) a wipe down with Clorox wipes just to be safe. Also, the room smelled like cat urine but I didn't seem to notice it after a while. I myself own cats, therefore it bothered me even less. However I am happy they are pet friendly. Even though I didn't travel with my two cats, I am aware there are so many places who discriminate against pets and their owners, this is not one of those places.
Now the staff of the hotel was very friendly, however the guests did seem to be loud until around 1 a.m. on Saturday night but things were pretty peaceful on Sunday night. In addition the breakfast was nothing to write home about. I'm not sure if they ran out of food because there were so many guests or it was just not being kept up. Either way, there was no fruit available on Sunday morning and on Monday morning there was only one item of fruit. The Econo Lodge offers a pool, however it is so tiny it is probably better for children vs. adults. The pool itself was very clean.
The location of the hotel is not great but its not horrible either. It is not far from downtown and there is a Beach and Marian downtown if that is something you are interested in. I would NOT consider this a "bad" neighborhood to stay in and I felt pretty safe with the exception of the noisy guests which were more annoying then anything else. Overall this place was okay for the price. A motel/hotel can really make or break a trip and I'm happy to say my husband and I enjoyed our time spent in Corpus Christi.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahrose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Was looking for a place to stay for a night after a day in Corpus. Chose this hotel after reading the reviews here and they were definitely accurate. The area looks shady but is right off the highway. not too far from the water/marina. Never felt unsafe while we stayed here either. Some of the best customer service I've encountered in a while. They truly want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. 15-20 minutes after checking in, they called us in the room to make sure everything was alright and if there was anything else we needed. We booked the room with the hot tub, which was fine. The "2-person" part is kinda pushing it as we fit but not 100% comfortably. Nothing fancy about the room or property but it was clean and well maintained. If you're looking for a basic place to stay in Corpus, definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bucs0535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

If you want a view of the water this is not your hotel. However with a GPS you can get to most places easily. Rooms were okay. Bathroom was tiny with broken toilet seat. Pool is more like a hot tub size but with pigeons! The best part of this hotel is the super friendly and efficient staff. The beds had the tiniest, hardest pillows I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a very pleasant experience. We were there for the presidential election, so that was the buzz. We enjoyed waffles each morning. We were about 5 minutes from the beach, the aquarium, many restaurants and all of the tourist shops. The surrounding neighborhood was not so good. It is just off the freeway so that is great!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynell s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
4.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
#52 of 80 in Corpus Christi
34 reviews
3.3 mi away
Plaza Inn
Plaza Inn
#48 of 80 in Corpus Christi
76 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites on the Beach
Quality Inn & Suites on the Beac...
#54 of 80 in Corpus Christi
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#14 of 80 in Corpus Christi
86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#42 of 80 in Corpus Christi
568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Chr...
#47 of 80 in Corpus Christi
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 722 N Port Ave, Corpus Christi, TX 78408-3952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
#14 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites is located right off IH 37 near downtown and offers a free breakfast, free high speed internet, outdoor pool & spa, lots of other amenities and service that you will remember with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing