We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

JB's German Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 17 Dessert in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Brownsville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed eating at this wonderful bakery. The apple strudel is delicious. Even my grandmother who is extremely picky with her deserts loved the strudel. I recommend to eat the pork slice dish. The pork is delicious. My boyfriend had the german burger and he raved how delicious it was.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    88
    36
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great gem on the island”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

I'm a regular here. I've tried just about everything. I you are looking for carbs, this place offers a huge variety. The pastries are big and taste great. Their pie slices are huge and taste great. They have great sandwiches, huge variety of breads and a decent breakfast offering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummmmm”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I saw the great reviews of this German Cafe and knew my husband would love it, as he did. He got the Bratwurst plate with the German Potato Salad, and I got the Ruben Sandwich. OMG, it was all so good. And the almond pastry I got for dessert was heavenly. We got some of their bread to go, it was good as well.

It's easy to miss when you are driving by, be sure to look for the German Flag.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prause1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Authentic German Bakery and Bread”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a great bakery and coffee shop right on Padre Island near Whitecap Beach. I am fortunate to live near it so that I can go and get danishes, german bread, strudel etc. All just like in Germany.

If you are looking for some special treat to eat, don't drive by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Deutsches Brot!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I have lived in Germany for many years and appreciate a nice bread with a good crust. This place makes that bread. In fact their bread shelf alone just looks like the ones I am used to from German bakeries. As for their pastries, fortunately we do not live close by, so I cannot come here every day and eventually die from gluttony. In other words, they are good! As for the previous review missing the meats and cheeses in this place. Yes, that would be nice, but that is usually taken care of by butchers in Germany, not bakers (and I miss those too).
My only criticism about this bakery is that the person helping us spoke no German......hmmm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KurtHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JB's German Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to JB's German Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing