We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free is always good.”
Review of Beach Loop

Beach Loop
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic drive from Downtown Corpus Christi along Ocean Drive with gorgeous views of the bay.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
179 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Free is always good.”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Scenic and free but I would say this is made out to be way more than it really is. A tour guide recommended we do this as a fun time... 2 hours of driving mind you. and this ferry ride is nothing special, you don't even get out of your car.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jthlampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FunintheSun”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Love the free parking and statues. There are lots of shops and places to get a drink. Swimming areas are well marked.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyERNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Views”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Loop is pretty and you get to see the ocean or the bay almost the whole time. There is also a small free car ferry trip that you take which was fun for us first timers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Here we Go Loop (ty) Loo!”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This is a really fun loop if you go at the right time of year. Since we are locals we seldom like to be caught up in the 'seasonal' traffic, but truly enjoy this ride during the off times when the roads are quiet. If you go during the thick of beach season you will spend more time trying to stay alive driving amongst the 'fast paced' folks, and get to spend almost no time looking around. If you go during quieter times of year (or right at sun up any time of the year) you will find the ride to be very pleasant.

We start out in town (C.C.) on 358 (South Padre Island Drive or S.P.I.D.) and head out to the (Padre) island. There we take 361 (to the left) and enjoy the stretch from Padre Island to Port Aransas.

Port A is very quaint, and well worth a look around. There are some great eateries, and really cute shops in town. You are right by the water, and plenty of sea birds grace the area. This is where you will catch the ferry.

The ferry ride is short, but fun. Quite often you can spot a school of dolphins having a blast swimming and showing off for the passengers along side or behind the boat. That is a real treat. Pelicans are all around...which is another draw. I love watching these magnificent flying machines with their great pouched beaks making clumsy landings in the water. It's quite a show!

After exiting the ferry you are in the tiny community of Aransas Pass. From here you can either take 35 right off the bat, (then drive on around until you come to the Harbor Bridge...over the port of Corpus Christi), or you can take a left off the ferry and continue on 361 until you get to the 35/181 South. You will take that on to the Harbor Bridge.

The view from the bridge is great...day or night. After we cross it we take the Shoreline exit so we can continue up the street of Shoreline that runs directly parallel to the Corpus Christi Bay. That road will turn into Ocean Drive. You have a magnificent view of the bay for miles.

This is a ride worth taking if you go at the right time of day or the right time of year.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Phoebe729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snyder, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go to Galveston..”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

This was our first trip to cc. We always go to the Galveston area, but decided to change it up a bit this year. Needless to say, Corpus Christi will not be graced with my presence ever again! The "hottest spot" right there by the Lexington and the Texas State Aquarium, is disgusting.. That's the best word I can find. For this area to be so popular, they do not take very good care of it. We took one look at the beach, from a distance, and walked back to the car! There are no lifeguard towers, the jellyfish are numerous, there is trash and debris everywhere, and piles of broken glass, beer bottles and lots of hoodlums! .. Not to mention the vulgar graffiti! Never again. If safety, cleanliness, and relaxation is anywhere in the priorities of your vacation, please, please go elsewhere!

Helpful?
8 Thank c_hughes_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach Loop also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Beach Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing