We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONLY WATERPARK CURRENTLY HERE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurricane Alley Waterpark

Hurricane Alley Waterpark
kferrell1
Level Contributor
189 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“ONLY WATERPARK CURRENTLY HERE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is the only waterpark, or fun swimming place, that this city has at the moment. We are in the process of getting a bigger water park (Schlitterbahn), but there has been lots of delays with it.

Hurricane Alley is a small waterpark that consists of a lazy river, a small wave pool, a set of 3-4 lane body slides, and 4 tube slides, plus a kids area and a swim up bar.

The tubes are usually under the tube slides, but you can find them floating free to take in the wave pool, along the lazy river, and at the end of the large, high tube slides. We have never had a problem finding a tube, you just got to look around.

They open at 11 am. Parking is $5. The park is rarely crowded and usually you can get on and off rides with no problem. The entrance fee of $20+ is to high in my opinion for the number of things to do (you can ride everything in about 30 minutes). Make sure you check the website and/or their Facebook account - everyday but Saturday, they have discounts (usually $10 days when tickets are bought at the door). Definitely go on the $10 days and avoid the higher prices! Lockers are $6 or $9 depending on the size you want, for an all day rental.

The place is very slippery, so be careful! The brown walkway to the kids area gets super hot and your feet will burn. You don't need water shoes, but if you walk thru the swim up bar area, you can avoid the brown walkway to avoid burnt feet.

They do have a quick service restaurant and ice cream places. On some of the days they offer deals with ice cream. Check the website and FB page for daily specials.

They do have kids life jackets and the guards do a good job of keeping everyone in line. We have never encountered any problems here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank kferrell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    19
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elsa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice little waterpark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I didn't know what to expect, but overall our experience was a good one. It opens at 11am and my family and I got there at about 10:45, if you look online, you can see the daily specials they have-pretty neat, we saved 10.00 from each ticket. ☺️It is a small waterpark, so you're not overwhelmed. We did not have any problems with tubes or water vests for our little one, everything was accessible, nice little tables with shade and the staff was friendly. Overall an enjoyable day for us.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ylozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clueless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Drove 160 miles to visit and encountered nothing but rude unknowledgeable staff who make up the rules and guidelines as they see fit in order to keep those out who they'd rather not participate. Do yourself a favor and avoid this one at all costs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Unhappy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waiting for Tubes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The only problem with this waterpark is there isn't enough tubes for the waterslides throughout the day. Everyone hordes the tubes at their tables, by their chairs and just lounging on them. When you want to ride a waterslide you have to go and find a tube. Therer were three of us 1 adult and 2 children. Other than having to go and find tubes my kids really enjoyed the waterpark. I couldn't find anyway to contact Hurricane Alley and complain.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rckflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Other reviews give it a bad rap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This place isn't nearly as bad as some of the other reviews make out. You have to modify your expectations for what you're paying for, I think. We dished out $100 for five people on a Monday and that also included lunch for four and all-day drinks for two. No, this isn't a big park and no, the rides aren't thrilling but my 8 year old daughter and teenage neice and nephew all had a great time. There was covered seating for my mother and enough for keep us occupied and fed for about 3 hours. In addition, there many bathrooms and showers/changing areas. I think that's a bargain for what we paid (as I've spent WAAAAAY more on a water park ticket elsewhere).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank soshbfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurricane Alley Waterpark also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hurricane Alley Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing