We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale Dining on the 20th floor of the Omni”

Republic of Texas Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Republic of Texas Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Twigg Street
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Upscale Dining on the 20th floor of the Omni”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great Bay views and wonderful menu selections at the Republic of Texas on the 20th floor of the Omni Hotel in Corpus Christi. Pricey but worth it. Gracious attentive service by a knowledgeable staff. Large floor to ceiling windows in the multi level dining room areas offer spectacular views of the Bay. Treat yourself to a great evening out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    80
    41
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food, great location.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We've eaten here a few times over the year and this visit was not disappointing. Keep in mind this is an upscale and expensive place. The view is outstanding. In fact while we were there a flotilla of sail boats came out of the T-head and sailed around the bay. Our waiter said it was a boating club that did that every Wed evening.

We had crab fondue, and outstanding dish not to be missed. However the shrimp bisque and Caesar salad were not good. We explained our concerns with the waitress and she promptly removed them and did not charge us for them. My wife had the fish of the day which was dover sole which was excellent. I had the pork chop which was very good but I wish it had been more tender.

Let me make a special mention to the margaritas here. They are the best. Not too sweet, not too sour, and knock you socks off powerful. You will feel it after two and three might be a bit too much. The jalapeno margarita was very, very good. However they should serve it with some tums.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank notyours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advance, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Specatular View”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a nice relaxing evening there to see the view and was very impressed. The food is fresh and delicious. Everything is house made. They have many interesting high end choices such as Rack of Lamb and Quail legs. It is a high end place to eat but worth a splurge!!! Service was very friendly and welcoming. The view is so relaxing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific View!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This restaurant has it all! Beautiful view and amazing food. It's an upscale place on the 20th floor of the Omni Hotel, but well worth the splurge!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CNICK871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We used open table to book our anniversary dinner at Republic of Texas Bar and Grill. Upon arrival we were greeted with "Happy Anniversary", that was very nice. We were promptly seated at a window table as requested. Our service was excellent, unobtrusive yet attentive. I started with a warm spinach salad that was exceptional. My husband had a very good wedge salad. We ordered a 12oz fillet mignon, which was well seasoned, and the 8 oz peppercorn tenderloin with a bourbon demi glaze. I found the demi glaze to be flat and pretty tasteless. The tenderloin melted in my mouth. We also had a side of garlic mashed potatoes, great. The desert was fantastic creme brulle. Overall it was a nice experience but a little overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank 2lovethebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Republic of Texas Bar & Grill also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Republic of Texas Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing