We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This HGI hit everything just right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This HGI hit everything just right”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I love HGI properties. Sure, some of them fall short, but they usually stick to a winning formula and this one was no exception. Every staff member with whom I interacted shined brightly, from Gustavo working the facilities to Lorie Lee working the bar and evening dining room, to the great breakfast staff, to AJ at the front desk, and to Art, the manager, who I first met as he was walking around the grounds, inspecting the exterior.
Standard HGI rooms. Our first stay here was a straightforward king room, our second stint saw us in the "suite" configuration. I recommend the suite if you need more room, but either should do. Neutrogena toiletries, nice sleepnumber beds, I like the HGI breakfasts. Sure, if I was a family and had to pay for it I'd be miffed but since I am Diamond with the HHonors program I get comped breakfast. They always have good fresh fruit assortment, a wide selection of breads and pastries, good fresh REAL oatmeal, and eggs made to order. The fellows working the kitchen at this HGI know what they're doing. They made me poached eggs with no troubles and I watched them work at night as I sat and had a wine or two while chatting with Lorie the bartendress. They don't mess around!
I never had housekeeping touch my rooms (never do) so can't speak to them. I did not try the pool nor the fitness center this time around but they did have a multi-station weight machine which looked to be in decent repair and their elliptical looked to be a little old. There was one TV for the whole room whereas I prefer the seperate monitors on the elliptical/bike/treadmills so that I can plug my headphones in and zone out for an hour of cardio.
I also stayed at the Hampton Inn on Navigation Blvd. and at the Holiday Inn on the Bayshore this past month. I'd recommend the Hilton Garden Inn above all, easily and handily. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Bring AJ at front desk some Grimaldi's pizza - personal size w/ mushrooms & extra cheese
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYknowitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amenendez39, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for your great review of our hotel we all appreciate your kind words. I made a copy of your comments for the staff, they were very impressed with your detail and we all appreciate you remembering our names. You are right AJ loves her Pizza. Just so you know we are planning to revamp our exercise room sometime in early 2012 with a great new look from the new Hilton design. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    146
    75
    40
    22
See reviews for
196
104
41
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Great stay at this hotel which had great service and breakfast was great. the room were very clean and the bed very comfortable. I would stay there again

Room Tip: Booked this hotel from their website and got the best price that beats priceline etc....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hlsr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our wonderful hotel. I am happy to hear all of the positive comments about our hotel and staff. The entire staff at the Hilton Garden Inn is committed to excellence in our service and product, and we constantly strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction 100% of the time. If I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at your convenience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Corpus Christi.

Kindest Regards,
Barbara L. Israel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I arrived at the Hilton Garden Inn in Corpus Christi at approximately 10pm on June 22nd and checked into the hotel. We carried our kids to the room only to find that the room was a smoking double, and not the non-smoking King suite we had reserved. When we went back to the front desk, the representative indicated that no other rooms were available, and there was nothing she could do because I was the last one to check in. After calling the Hilton Honors phone line I was able to make alternate arrangements for my vacation at an Embassy Suites hotel a few miles down the road. While I appreciate the folks at Embassy Suites accommodating us, I can't help but feel that the team at the Hilton Garden Inn "got away" with their actions, because in the end they did not have to change anything. Meanwhile, my family and I were forced to relocate late in the evening, and stay at an older hotel that was further away from our vacation destinations. Very disappointed with the conduct of the hotel staff and management, and generally displeased with the experience we had with Hilton during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TFO25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLIsrael, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are pleased to announce our hotel is now owned by one of the top management companies in the country and is undergoing a complete renovation this year. We have already made very many improvements and the hotel is amazing. I would like to invite you back to the hotel on your next visit to Corpus Christi.

Regards,
Barbara L. Israel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This Garden Inn is very clean and a good place to stay to be close to the ocean as well as restaurants. This time we got the suite we reserved and were very pleased with the room. Other tips from this visit: There is a Cheddars restaurant nearby that wasn't there last year. The food was very good with very reasonable prices. We went to the botanical gardens and enjoyed it. It looks like a very small area when you drive up, but there are some trails that are very nice and plenty of exhibits and nature to see.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our wonderful hotel. I am happy to hear all of the positive comments about our hotel and staff. The entire staff at the Hilton Garden Inn is committed to excellence in our service and product, and we constantly strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction 100% of the time. If I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at your convenience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Corpus Christi.

Kindest Regards,
Barbara L. Israel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I spend two nights and the service, location and value for my money was excellent. The breakfast buffet is very good. A lot of restaurants in the area and the staff was very friendly. I will like to recommend this hotel because is great!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grace56062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our wonderful hotel. I am happy to hear all of the positive comments about our hotel and staff. The entire staff at the Hilton Garden Inn is committed to excellence in our service and product, and we constantly strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction 100% of the time. If I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at your convenience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Corpus Christi.

Kindest Regards,
Barbara L. Israel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
148 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

As always, making my reservation took less than 3 minutes using the Hilton website.

The hotel is easy to find with excellent freeway access and location near services, restaurants, and entertainment.. The hotel offers plenty of convenient and free parking.

The gentleman on the front desk who checked me in was a disappointment. He seemed inexperienced and spoke too rapidly and with a heavy accent. Moreover, he had no knowledge of local restaurants and services (I had to do my own internet searches). However, aside from the guy on the front desk, my stay at this HGI was fine.

The hotel itself is set back front the freeway frontage road and is quiet, very clean, and well-maintained. My room was on the third floor and was also very clean, with a spotless duvet and a very comfortable bed.

I am a long-time Hilton Diamond HHonors member, and virtually all of my domestic hotel stays are at HGI properties for reasons (as in this case) include: free and convenient parking, free high-speed internet, a free and well-equipped business center, a clean indoor pool and a free and well-equipped fitness center, and a restaurant offering good food at reasonable prices.

The property, my room, and all of the usual HGI amenities made for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Were it not for the guy on the front desk, I would have given this property a 5/5 rating. Notwithstanding that, I recommend this property to you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flying_Lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our wonderful hotel. I am happy to hear all of the positive comments about our hotel and staff. The entire staff at the Hilton Garden Inn is committed to excellence in our service and product, and we constantly strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction 100% of the time. If I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at your convenience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Corpus Christi.

Kindest Regards,
Barbara L. Israel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We spend one night. The hotel sits back from the freeway and was quiet. The grounds, lobby, room were clean and fresh looking. The free light breakfast should be expanded to include items for people on diets/no sugars, etc. For example, how about plain yogurt, 2% yogurt, bananas (not just apples). Also, signage needs to be improved so guests on the far side of the hotel know how to get to the lobby. I got locked outside between the pool & the hotel with no way in because I thought it was the way to get to the lobby. Not a "bargain," but clean, comfortable, quiet.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpNOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amenendez39, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The Hilton Garden Inn in Corpus Christi Texas provides services comparable to that of a full service hotel at a reasonable value to our guest. We provide services like free internet connection, lounge, full service restaurant, room service and many more amenities. Our King size beds self adjusting system is unique to our Brand. The staff is friendly and hospitable, waiting for your next visit. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
7.7 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#8 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Corpus Christi
Hyatt Place Corpus Christi
#12 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Corpus Christi
SpringHill Suites Corpus Christi
#4 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi
Address: 6717 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78412-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Corpus Christi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Corpus Christi
#15 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, offers easy access to the SPID Highway 358, and is convenient to attractions, concerts and beach areas. Relax in one of our 119 guest rooms, suites and accessible rooms. Rooms are equipped with complimentary WiFi, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, a spacious work desk, and a hospitality center featuring a microwave, refrigerator, and Keurig coffee maker. Start each morning with a cooked-to-order breakfast. Join us again for dinner or a cocktail at The Garden Grille and Bar. Buy snacks or TV dinners from the Pavilion Pantry. Unwind with a workout in the fitness center, or take a dip in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi Hotel Corpus Christi
Hilton Corpus Christi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing