We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill since our last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As one of the nicer places to stay in Corpus, you expect more from a Hilton. Unfortunately, our stay this time was worse than our last visit.

The king bed was their special Hilton Garden Sleep mattress. It was mushy no matter what the dials were set to. If you like to sink way way down in a mattress, you might like this mattress. Literally a big depression would form where your body was. Also the sheets and pillow cases were scratchy. Given the bad bed, I wouldn't stay here again.

The room was incredibly humid, even with the a/c running all the time at a cold temperature. The towels never dried in the bathroom, with the door standing open all day and night. The carpet had this odd slick, damp feel, so that I had to wear shoes the whole time.

Finally the TV was mounted so you could only see it from the bed. Plus there were only 36 channels, some which were hotel advertising.

On the upside, the staff again were exceptionally friendly and pleasant. For the most part, the hotel was quiet, although you could hear people next door and walking above.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor since you can hear people walking around on the floor above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilers78751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear eilers78751,

Please accept my apology for the issues you mentioned during your stay. I appreciate the feedback so we can work on these improvements. We have went ahead and replaced your mattress now per your comments, and will be replacing all bedding during our $1.5 million dollar renovation that will begin mid September.

I have also asked our Chief Engineer to repair/replace the A/C in the room you stayed in.

I'm happy to report that we are getting an upgraded selection of TV channels very soon. The contract has been signed, and the site survey will be done this Thursday as we will be getting fiber cable installation to upgrade our television channels as well as our internet!

Thank you for the recognition of our service and I will be sure to share this with our team as they like to know they had a positive impact on our guests stay.

We hope you will come back and see all of our improvements!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel have some serious problems with their beds because they are worn out since 1 year ago and nobody has done anything to resolve this issue. They don't open their restaurant on sundays because they say it's not cost efficient. Of course, if you DON'T open it, customers will not eat or drink

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Hugo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Hugo Y,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and sharing your honest feedback with us. We have replaced the mattress in your room since we received your feedback, so thank you. I also wanted to let you know that we will be receiving a $1.5 million dollar renovation beginning in mid-September which will include new bedding in all rooms.

Our restaurant is currently closed on Sundays, however we do have food and drinks for sale in our Pavillion Pantry 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.

We hope you will join us again soon.

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was a great stay! Nice clean rooms, beautiful lobby, inviting pool area, and the AC got good and cold!! This location was on the way to the northern end of Padre Island and a close drive to most parts of the city. There were plenty of places to eat nearby, as well as the usual late night eateries. There was a breakfast buffet in the morning that prepared your food to order, not food waiting on steam tables. A couple of usual drawbacks. One person handling check ins at the posted check in time. I will say that another clerk came out and logged on and helped move the line
quickly. There were several staff members on the floor for breakfast service so there was not a lot of time waiting for anything. The only slip up was that they lost my brothers order, but he said they quickly took cafe of him. Bottom line, the pluses outweighed the minuses and I would gladly stay here again and recommend this site to a friend. Oh, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ramon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Ramon B,

Thank you for staying with us! We're glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable, and I apologize for any issues you encountered. I am the new General Manager here and our priority is to make sure that everyone's stay is a great one. I'm sorry we lost your brother's breakfast order but am glad we took care of it quickly.

I will be sure to share your comments with our team as we take pride in the good, and work hard to improve any areas where we are lacking, so thank you for your feedback.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This a very convenient area. Plenty of dining and entertainment options. Very quick to get to Corpus Christi and South Padre Island. This is a good HGI. It is exactly what you expect. Clean, friendly, convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Kyle C,

Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel with other travelers, and especially for choosing to stay with us!

We strive to provide our guests with clean, comfortable rooms and exceptional service with a smile.

Your "Best around" review makes us proud that we were able to impact your stay in Corpus Christi. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Enjoyed my staff. Staff was very helpful. I lost an earring and the receptionist asked other staff members to help. The rooms were quiet and clean and the breakfast was make to order. I used the equipment in the exercise room and the area had many other shopping locations and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Diann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Diann B,

Thank you for staying with us and for recognizing our team! I hope you were able to find your earring? I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your room and our breakfast (you can't beat cook-to-order!), as well as our fitness center.

Our location definitely is great whether you want to go to the beach, shop till you drop, or just relax. We're glad you chose to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Family and I stayed for a short vacation. Having all 4 of my kids the accommodations were great. Location a big plus! Easy in and easy out! Restaurants and fast in minutes! Hotel was very clean and hotel staff very friendly! A must stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Marie T,

How exciting that you were able to get away for a short vacation with all of your kids! We're glad you enjoyed everything we have to offer and sharing your experience with other travelers.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I'm a Hilton Diamond member and been for years. HGI is one of my #1 choices.

The staff at this HGI are great. I was received with a smile and every member of staff on site greets you in a sincere friendly manner.

Great pool and breakfast.

I requested a late checkout and received it no problem.

I only have ONE big complaint. I'm not sure if this is the norm, but there are not enough breakfast staff to serve and assist in the mornings.
Especially on a long weekend when you're packed with people.

The poor girl on Monday morning did a great job in trying to keep up, but she had no way of doing it by herself. ALL the patrons noticed it.
The tables stood full of dirty dishes as new guests arrived for breakfast.

Like I said, the guests could see she's overwhelmed and like me, some just moved the stuff to one central table and wiped our own tables to help out. We would get up and refill our own drinks since it was impossible for the staff to do everything.

Another staff member (a man) noticed and started helping the girl by cleaning and prepping tables. ( maint/housekeeping super maybe?)

Each and every HGI I see at least 3 people handling the breakfast in the morning.

Breakfast was still great, the guests still happy.

I hope the girl that worked Memorial Monday morning receives a bonus for her efforts, she deserves it!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Willem_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Willem-TX,

First let me thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton family and especially the Hilton Garden Inn brand. We appreciate your business and congratulate you on your continued Diamond status.

We're glad you and your son enjoyed our pool and breakfast during your stay, and it was our pleasure to provide you with a late check-out.

I apologize for the chaos at breakfast on the Memorial Day holiday. Though there is no excuse for it, we were extremely shorthanded (I was doing the dishes, our Chief Engineer helped refill items and one of our housekeepers pitched in to bus tables - it became a true team effort). We have hired additional people to be a part of our dining team so that our guests won't experience this in the future. Again, I'm sorry and really appreciate your understanding.

We thank you for your review and honest feedback and hope you will join us again on your next trip to Corpus Christi.

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
7.7 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 79 in Corpus Christi
3,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Corpus Christi
Hyatt Place Corpus Christi
#15 of 79 in Corpus Christi
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
3 mi away
Courtyard Corpus Christi
Courtyard Corpus Christi
#21 of 79 in Corpus Christi
164 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi I-37 - Navigation Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi

Address: 6717 South Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78412-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Corpus Christi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Corpus Christi
#15 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range: £83 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi, offers easy access to the SPID Highway 358 and Padre Island, and is convenient to attractions, concerts and beach areas. Relax in one of our 119 guest rooms, suites and accessible rooms. Rooms are equipped with complimentary WiFi, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, a spacious work desk, and a hospitality center featuring a microwave, refrigerator, and Keurig coffee maker. Start each morning with a cooked-to-order breakfast. Join us again for dinner or a cocktail at The Garden Grille and Bar. Buy snacks or TV dinners from the Pavilion Pantry. Unwind with a workout in the fitness center, or take a dip in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi Hotel Corpus Christi
Hilton Corpus Christi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing