We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth remembering”
Review of Nuevo Cafe

Nuevo Cafe
Ranked #104 of 700 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth remembering”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The location is not ideal, but if you work downtown this place is worth remembering--and obviously people do, as it is usually busy. On a recent visit we ordered the fried green tomatoes for a starter and I had a bowl of the poblano soup--both delicious, and I could only eat about a third of the soup as it is so rich. My husband had the salad and turkey sandwich, which also came with a small side of pesto pasta salad (a bit underseasoned). The salad was large and fresh. We ended up taking half the sandwich and the pesto salad and rest of the soup home. It's nice to have a little bit funkier of a place. The art on the walls isn't necessarily to my taste, but it still enhances the experience. Service is fine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing find on Ayers”
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

After several glowing reviews, I finally stopped by this smaller, unassuming cafe near Six Points.

I was not disappointed! The disco tea was delicious, and the famous poblano soup left me wanting more, even after a large bowl.

Arrive as close to 11 as possible or be prepared to wait 30 min - an hour.

Support your local eateries and give this place a shot. It will quickly become one of your fav lunch spots in the city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rortiziii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

A friend took me here for lunch. Very simple atmosphere, really like all the art on the walls. The menu is simple with soup, salads and sandwiches. The food was fresh and very good. Service was good and the $ was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trxreb2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy soups and sandwiches!”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This place is great! Always good service and great food. The pablano soup is definitely worth a try. Reasonably priced. It can get very busy around lunch time, and parking can be a little annoying. So I always try to go before 12 or after 1 to miss the crowd.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pablano soup is soooo good!”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Had soup and sandwich, both were fresh and delicious! Had fresh fruit also. Art on the walls changes regularly so visit often.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nuevo Cafe also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Nuevo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing