We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi
Ranked #26 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
“Awesome Service”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was my first time here. The service was the best I've encountered in a very long time. The staff was great. Edie was very helpful and pleasant to visit with. She always had a smile a such a great personality. High marks for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rl09235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hello rl09235,

Thank you so much for your review! We agree, Edie is great! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Corpus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    43
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
59
23
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have stayed several times at this Holiday Inn Express over the past several months and I have been pleased every time. In fact, I am almost there every other week traveling on business, and I really like the location which is close to most anything one might need in the Corpus Christi area. I particularly enjoy staying at a Holiday Inn Express due to the level of quality of service and cleanliness of the hotel chain in general. This particular location DEFINITELY upholds the high level quality that I have been accustomed to from the various different locations of Holiday Inn Express that I have stayed at both across many states in the US and throughout Mexico.

What makes me title my review "Home Away From Home" is due to the staff at this particular location. The whole staff is very helpful and friendly to all of the needs of the guests and are always willing to accommodate as best as possible. The cookies in the evening are always delicious and the breakfasts are pretty good too!

When reading the other reviews of this location, one really stood out to me that was a shocker! The person who wrote about the "Nasty front desk woman" must have stayed at a different hotel completely and doesn't know Edie at all! In fact, Edie is usually the person who checks my co-workers and I in because we arrive in the late afternoon when she works that shift. Not only have I had a wonderful experience in working with her, my fellow co-workers who travel with me also have nothing but great things to say about the friendly service that Edie provides. She is very personable and always takes the time to give that personalized level of service to make sure that my/our stays are always up to the expectation. In fact, the review looks to have been written on a day that Edie wasn't even working. It just so happens that during one of my recent stays around the same date this other review was written, Edie shared with me that she would be out of town and staying at a different Holiday Inn Express herself and would be able to experience being the customer instead of the service provider. So my question is does that person even know who they are talking about????

To sum it up, I would have to say that as long as I continue to be traveling to Corpus, I will try to stay at this Holiday Inn Express every possible chance I get. And for those who want to write bad reviews about the location or the staff, please feel free to stay somewhere else where you can be grumpy so I can have my "Home Away From Home" a wonderful and friendly environment like it always is when I stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Bryan- Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We appreciate all of your kind words. I promise I will pass on your glowing review to our staff and especially Miss Edie! This will make her day. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you and your team back next week.

-Julie Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was my stop in between Galveston and San Antonio. Four nights, mid September.

The hotel is quite classy and is clearly targeted toward business travellers. The room (427) was spacious, with a good bathroom - no bath tub, but the shower cubicle was huge. Good, firm mattress. Reasonable selection for breakfast, which runs until 9.30am. The staff are very helpful and professional. The hotel is situated in the middle of a collection of restaurants, so there's always somewhere to eat.

There is a bit of a noise problem: the doors are heavy so they slam constantly, the elevator makes the loudest dinging sound you can imagine (my room was right at the end of the corridor, as far away from the elevator as possible, and I could still hear it), and there tends to be loud music from somewhere outside the building.

I'll be honest: my biggest problem with this hotel was simply that it was in Corpus Christi. The hotel was great. The city was awful. If you absolutely have to be in Corpus Christi, then I recommend this hotel. If you don't absolutely have to be in Corpus Christi, just go somewhere else.

Good points: nice room, firm mattress, clean and professional.

Bad points: it's in Corpus Christi.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of a corridor - the elevator is centrally located and makes a very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahKnowsThisOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hello SarahKnowsThisOne!
Thank you so much for the nice review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that while you did not enjoy Corpus Christi, we could at least provide a bright spot during your trip. Should you ever happen to find yourself in Corpus again, I would love to show you some of the lesser known attractions and stops that may make our city shine a little brighter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We called from the road to reserve a room and the woman who answered, Edie?, was not helpful and very short tempered with us. We should have taken her attitude as a clue that things would not go well at the hotel. When we arrived Edie was demanding additional information and threatening to raise the rate unless we satisfied her request for additional written documentation during check in. We have stayed in Holiday Inn Express & Suites all over the country using points and credit cards and this is the first time we've encountered any of these probing questions. It wasn't any of her business exactly why we where in Corpus Christi. I wouldn't have minded sharing that info with her if she wasn't so hateful about it. She shouldn't be in a position to interact with the public. She is much better suited to solitary housekeeping duties or cleaning the parking lot. We had planned to stay a couple of nights but almost left before we finished checking in. I must admit that I was so tired, I just wanted a shower and a bed. Edie got us so worked up we started arguing between the two of us. (Not an easy feat.) We decided to go to the pool and soak in the jacuzzi to unwind and calm down. Be careful...the jacuzzi step design is terrible, I nearly broke a leg getting in due to the unexpected drop off. The water was at least 104 degrees and the chlorine was so strong it was stripping the paint of the walls, not to mention what the fumes did to the surface of our eyeballs. The pool was salt water but still had tons of chlorine in it. I washed my swimsuit out with soap and it still smells like chlorine. Personally, I enjoy outdoor swimming pools and I usually don't turn my nose up and opt out unless it is like this one. Now I know my breaking point when it comes to pool areas. The room was clean and bed great but the whole experience was tainted by Edie. We won't stay here again, ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hello Jane O,

I am so sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay with us. I would love to get more information from you about this incident so I can take the appropriate steps to ensure that it does not happen again. If you have the opportunity, please email me at gm@hiexpresscc.com or I can be reached by phone at 361-857-7772. Again, I would like to apologize. This is not typical of how we treat our guests and I will be addressing the situation immediately.

Julie Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILLinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for about 5 nights. The hotel is clean, and well kept, and the staff was great. We had plenty clean towels, the linen was clean, and the bed was comfortable, so no complaints there. There are many restaurants for dining, and the theater is not too far away either. We did encounter a few problems that made the stay less than enjoyable. The first problem was that the air conditioning unit in the room was extremely loud....so loud that you couldn't even hear the TV. It was either turn the unit off while watching TV and be hot, or turn the TV up and disturb the other guest, so we had to keep turning it on, and off. The second issue we had was with the internet, it went down one night and was down for over 24 hours, and when it did come back up, we kept getting kicked off the network. I had to keep signing in all day, when I usually only had to sign in once, and I am in unless I log out. The third problem was parking. If you go out, and come back after 10 PM, you will have no parking! We had to park on the street one night, so from then on, we made sure to do whatever we had to do, and get back to the room early because there were a number of cars, and trucks parked on the street also, so even that wasn't guaranteed. Not sure I would pick this hotel if I am ever in Corpus again. It it wasn't for those 3 issues, the stay would have been great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hello VacationNikki,

I am sad to hear of your issues during your stay with us. I would love to get some more information from you so that I can thoroughly investigate these issues and get them resolved. Please contact me at your earliest convenience at gm@hiexpresscc.com. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Reviews like yours allow us top continually improve the level of service and accommodations we offer and we appreciated your candid comments.

Julie Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Check in was great because they did let me do it a little early. No problems
With anything, staff was very helpful. My only issue is the cleaning lady entered our room using her pass key thinking we were not there. We had not checked out yet and she did not knock. It made me feel very uneasy.I noticed I was short 1 cellphone charger after we got home and don't remember if I left it or it got lifted. Next time I will load the car before breakfast and check out after.
Oh yea,! The indoor pool was nasty smelling ,I guess enough chlorine to kill bugs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello Lawrence R,

I am saddened to hear about the housekeeping and pool issue during your stay. Our policy is not to knock on any guestroom door on the day of departure prior to checkout time. I apologize that this happened to you and would love to have more details from you so that I can get to the bottom of the situation. As for the pool, I am surprised to hear that it smelled like chlorine as we have a saline pool that requires minimal chlorine. Again, I would love to be able to speak with you so that I can ensure that these issues are addressed immediately.

Thank you,
Julie Johnson
gm@hiexpresscc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Upon arrive everything was fine. Came in with a group of 9 due to baseball tournament. We had no problems til the second day being at hotel. When the hotel cancelled two rooms under our group stating they didn’t have funds in their cards embarrassed the parents when on record the credit card number wasn’t correct and the contact #s they had on file for the parents were not used to contact the party in regards to the room. Front desk claimed they called. Front desk stated if there is no funds in credit card they take the rooms away. The parents complained they had the wrong credit card info but it was too late. Their rooms were given to another party. Its upsetting because we had to accommodate parents in other parents rooms and being the summer all hotels in corpus were booked. It was late the parents were tired and they didn’t have anywhere else to go. If they would of just kept the reservation we would have been fine. Prior to this, we have heard of this happening with other parties that were at the desk prior to our complaint. The hotel doesn’t want to give you one night and prefers you to stay the two days. Just so happened these two parents couldn’t make it Friday like everyone else so had to come in Saturday and look what happened. They didn’t help us because we had a discount and prefer their rate for the night to be offered to someone else.
If you don’t have anywhere to go beware of you will be lucked out if corpus is booked. Room service knocks on door early and if you don’t answer she comes in. we were awakened by her in the room!! Parking is horrible if both hotels are booked.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hello klove3! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Unfortunately, our policy states that we must have a method of guarantee for all reservations. Because your group booked through a travel agent, rather than directly with the hotel, we only have the information provided by the travel agent to contact the guest in the event of a problem with that method of guarantee. In this case, we attempted numerous times to contact not only the guests involved, but also the travel agent and the group leader and were unable to get a new way to hold the rooms. I can understand the frustration and inconvenience this may cause but unfortunately, if the hotel cannot guarantee the arrival of these reservations, we must release them to other guests that can. I hope you will give us another chance to better serve you on your next trip to Corpus Christi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corpus Christi
Staybridge Suites Corpus Christi
#13 of 80 in Corpus Christi
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Corpus Christi
Courtyard Corpus Christi
#22 of 80 in Corpus Christi
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Corpus Christi
SpringHill Suites Corpus Christi
#4 of 80 in Corpus Christi
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi
Address: 5213 Oakhurst Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78411-4369
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, where you will find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Corpus Christi. Contemporary hospitality and Corpus Christi excitement are waiting for you. Whether here for business or pleasure we are located just 10 minutes from Downtown Corpus Christi and the central business centers: NAS/CCAD, Texas A&M Corpus Christi, American Electric Power, Citgo, and the Corpus Christi Medical Center. The Holiday inn Express & Suites is only minutes away from the Corpus Christi International Airport, Bayfront Auditorium, USS Lexington, American Bank Center, Texas Aquarium and the Beach.Relax in your own elegant room featuring stylish dA(C)cor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, executive desk, cable TVs, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. If you re hungry, we are within walking distance to many restaurants.Enjoy a swim in our crystal-clear indoor pool or energize in our Fitness Center. Polish that presentation at the business center and we even have the right space for your professional meeting. We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Corpus Christi a success. We re the Holiday inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Corpus Christi
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing