We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of bed bugs and black mold.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Corpus Christi Northwest
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Full of bed bugs and black mold.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

I was eaten alive by dozens of bed bugs and the bathroom was full of black mold all over.

DO NOT STAY THERE!!!

Dr. Cantu

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonycantu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    14
    15
    14
    18
See reviews for
27
13
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We were traveling thru Texas and wanted a hotel close to the highway. We chose this hotel because we had stayed in Best Western previously and could count on their rooms being clean and pleasant. Wow, were we surprised! It was a disaster. The doors did not lock, the ceiling above the bathtub was caving in and covered in mold. The AC made a horrific rattle. The icing on the cake for us was the cockroach in the bathtub!
It's all unfortunate because we suspect that at one time this was a decent place. Nice garden area. The staff was very pleasant -- and that's all I can say positive about this place. We couldn't wait to leave! Had we not driven 10 hours we would have "moved-on" to somewhere else. Oh, almost forgot to mention: big sign outside that says "free internet" -- the internet did not work in our room -- very poor signal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyatonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brady, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel over spring break. The first room we were in had mold all along one side of the bathroom wall and mold in the a/c. It was also very poorly cleaned. We requested to be moved and they accomodated us and moved us to a different room, upon entering that room both pictures above the beds were covered with mold and the a/c also. The plug with the blow dryer/coffee maker didn't work, poorly cleaned/ safe didn't work. Spa was filthy and didn't work, they advertised a sauna and there wasen't one. Breakfast was terrible! This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I am very disappointed in Best Western, I have stayed in many of this chain but none as bad as this one.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcw904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

We stayed at this Best Western as part of our Texas tour and stayed for two nights. We chose to stay here based upon the proximity to Corpus Christi vs Cost, doing most of our research on a popular search engine and its Map facility.

The hotel is located 15 mins from downtown and the seafront and is off juction 11-B of I-37. Now to warn you; I-37 borders many oil refineries and chemical plants. So as you get nearer the hotel, you may think that you have chosen a very bad location to stay in- but don't worry!

The hotel is situated on the opposite side of the Interstate to all of the industry and is relatively isolated. It is located at a main exit/intersection of the Interstate but does not suffer from much noise intrusion. It has the usual take-aways/burger joints/chain restaurants that any intersection hotel has (within 5 mins). For a decent restaurant meal you will have to venture further into Corpus, but these are easily reached.

Rooms very clean and comfortable and have double door entry (one from the surrounding car parking and another that opens out onto the internal courtyard and swimming pool). Friendly staff and complimentary happy hour (7-9pm) seal the deal. We returned from a busy day seeing the sights of Corpus and enjoyed our plunge in the palm-shaded pool just ouside the door to our room!

Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2009

We stayed several days at this hotel with superior service and attention to customer satisfaction. It is on the north side of Corpus Christi so not close to the beaches. However, the value for the quality was excellent. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — distance from center of town
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pilota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2006

We stayed in this hotel one night while traveling. The rooms were nice but the pool and anything in the courtyard was unusable because of the stench of the grackles. The room comes with breakfast and it was okay, but the donuts looked like they had mold on them. The lady there assured us that the dark spots were from the racks that the bakery used. I think she was right, but I think I would change bakeries.
The rooms were comfortable and as long as you use the outside door and don't go through the courtyard it probably compares well with other motels.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FredTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northwest Corpus Christi Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Northwest Corpus Ch...
#25 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
8.7 mi away
Super 8 Corpus Christi
Super 8 Corpus Christi
#61 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi - Northwest I-37
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi - Nor...
#17 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Plaza Inn
Plaza Inn
#52 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
10.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Chr...
#48 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
16.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Corpus Christi - Staples
Extended Stay America - Corpus C...
#37 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Corpus Christi Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Corpus Christi Northwest

Property: Super 8 Corpus Christi Northwest
Address: 11217 Interstate 37 at Violet Rd, Corpus Christi, TX 78410 (Formerly Garden Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Corpus Christi Northwest 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Corpus Christi Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing