We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what i expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not what i expected”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

When we got there at 130 we were told our rooms weren't ready yet which was fine because the stated time says 400 the front desk said they would call us we waited for 3 hours but still hadn't heard anything we went back to the hotel only to be told it still wasn't ready when i was standing in front of the sign that says rooms guaranteed at 4 then when we finally got in the 2nd night our room was left unlocked by house keeping after repeated apologizing by the manager and said he would make it right he never did called housekeeping for towels never came she came the next day you can tell she wasn't happy wow now i know this hotel isn't worth the price

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    251
    173
    146
    119
See reviews for
415
246
22
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

After reading reviews on the hotel, I was unsure how our experience would be since there are so many both positive and negative reviews. I got a pretty good discount for booking online in advance and we stayed during the week so I felt the price was reasonable at only $30 more per night than the quality inn next door which was far inferior to this hotel.

We arrived late in the evening and check in was super quick and front desk staff was great. I expected to have a parking lot view since I did not pay extra or request an ocean view. To our surprise, the room was on the 6th floor and had an amazing ocean view. We were thrilled! The room was clean and a good size. As others mentioned, yes they did recently renovate and the rooms had some items that could also have used an update, such as the ceilings, but overall beds & bedding were new and clean, we had a nice TV and a fridge. There was some funk on the door to the balcony but my guess was that its from the saltwater and not much you can do about that. Overall it was nice but we are not super picky about stuff like that.

We slept good the beds were somewhat comfortable meeting my expectations for a hotel. We ate breakfast downstairs at the restaurant. The food was good and the kids had lots of options. It was a bit pricey for what you were getting so we chose not to eat there again. There were so many places we walked- the beach, aquarium, USS Lexington, restaurants (Blackbeards was delicious). We loved the 5 min drive to Whataburger Field (minor league Astros affiliate) and the water park (Hurricane Alley). The hotel pool was also nice. It was slightly small but it wasn't busy when we were there.

The cleaning staff was great- they left our room spotless and gave us lots of extra towels and soap without us asking. The gift shop in the hotel was also great as they allowed me to charge the purchase to the room since they didn't take AMEX. The only real negative of this hotel was the parking. There isn't much parking and the hotel doesn't enforce the no parking unless you are a hotel guest. They made us put a tag in our car but when we got back from the baseball fields, there was no parking and a ton of people didn't have tags in their cars. It was really annoying. Plus several cars were broken into with windows smashed one night, we were lucky enough not to be one of those victims.

If they could correct the parking situation, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mandy8041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I'm very disappointed with this hotel. The rates are too high for the poor quality. They claim to have a swim up pool yet it was closed.the restaurant was filthy with flies everywhere. Beds are hard and restroom door doesn't close. Sad because it's in a great location. Maybe this is why they take advantage of their customers and charge the high rates The least they could do is have it clean. Very, very, disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoyordgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave R, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We work hard to see all guests are satisfied and your comments are not typical. The Bar in the pool area is open daily and may close if the weather is bad, but is open from 1 to 8. If for some reason the bar is not open the restaurant servers make trips to the pool to see if anyone wants bar service.
The beds are new Simmons Ultra Plush and were put in one year ago when we renovated.
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay but appreciate your input so we can make improvements for all guests.
Dave R, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here May 2014. We got a room at the "government rate". It was a Harbor View room, clean and decently maintained with a large bathroom. We were happy with our stay. We just spent July 7 - 8 at the hotel this time bringing our teenage kids and my wife's father. We reserved two rooms side by side with an ocean view for both nights. We arrived at 4:30pm (30 minutes after stated check in time) to be told our rooms were on separate floors and not cleaned yet. I asked the lady at the front desk why our rooms were on separate floors when I specifically requested side by side rooms when I made the reservation. She apologized and stated they would have two rooms on the fifth floor later but they hadn't been cleaned either. She agreed to block those rooms for us and call me when they were clean. We went to dinner at Pier 99, a short walk from the hotel. At 6:30 pm, 2 hours later, after we had finished dinner, we still hadn't heard from the front desk staff. We went back to the hotel and were told one of the rooms still wasn't clean. The lady at the front desk checked us in and gave us keycards for the room that was clean. She stated she would bring the keys for the other room up when the room was clean. When we walked into the room it was readily apparent this room was NOT as nice as our previous room. The bathroom was so small our legs would hit the door if we tried to open or close the door. A ceiling tile was left halfway open above the shower. The frame for the back door to the ocean view was covered in scaly white crust and was fairly difficult to open or close. The safe didn't work. The front desk staff did bring up the keys to our second room for my son and father in law. Their room was the same as ours except the safe worked.

My father in law paid over $900 for the two rooms for two nights. None of us were happy with the rooms at that price. Especially in light of the other problems we had.

The beach access and proximity to the USS Lexington and Texas State Aquarium make this hotel an attractive option but the rooms simply aren't worth prime season rates.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texcuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave R, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay and allow me to apologize for the concerns you had. We do our best to accommodate the requests of all our guests and am sorry we could not do so for this visit. July is our busiest month and arranging rooms side by side is not easy to do with the high occupancy.
I am sorry we did not do a better job of getting you in earlier and will discuss this with my staff and will do all we can to see this does not reoccur, Often times our guests request a late check out (which we grant) and that backs up the staff to complete cleaning the rooms in a timely manner.
Please accept my apology and know we will do all we can to see this is not repeated.
Dave R.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at this location for our wedding anniversary, and were very disappointed with the hotel! We've stayed at other Radisson locations in the past, and have never had an experience as unsatisfactory as this one! First, we were given the wrong room at check-in (we requested and paid a higher rate for a specific room). They finally got us into the correct room - which wasn't well cleaned. We also had to call maintenance to come and clear the code in the safe programmed in by the previous guests. Then, we asked the desk before heading to the pool if we could bill back to the room and were told yes. Upon ordering at the swim-up bar we were told that no, that information was incorrect. Later that evening we attempted to order room service, and could never get them to answer the phone. The next day, when we returned to the room after being gone for 10 hours, we found that housekeeping had completely skipped our room altogether! We had to call the front desk at almost midnight to request towels be sent up. The room stayed very humid, and there was horrible water pressure.

Would we stay at Radisson again? Yes. Would we stay at THIS Radisson location again....absolutely not!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoBella713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave R, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Please accept my sincere apology for the issues you had while our guest. I assure you that is not how we choose to run this hotel and what you experienced is not typical.
Although we do our best to accommodate specific room locations, that is not always possible, therefore we do not guarantee a specific room. We do our best to satisfy every guests request. There can be circumstances that preclude specific rooms, but we will always try.
There is no excuse for your room not being cleaned and I will review the paperwork from that day to determine who it was and see they receive more training, again my apology.
I know we can do better and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you how well we can do.
Dave R, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ord, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The location of this hotel is obviously awesome. There are great views, beach access, and it's within walking distance of some good restaurants and attractions. The staff was very nice and helpful. Heck, we even liked the breakfast in the hotel's restaurant (ordered off the menu, didn't do the buffet). Only problem is, we are kinda spoiled and normally stay at very nice hotels. They did a nice job on there recent remodel with the lobby. The rooms, though, looked like they kind of hurried through it. They were just missing some of the finishing touches you would expect at a 4-5 star hotel, like a full vanity which covers the plumbing in the bathroom, and popcorn ceilings that could have been scraped off, and a second coat of paint on the walls would have done wonders. The rooms were pretty small, so we were glad it was just the two of us. One thing about the room we really liked was the large bench to put our suitcases on: very handy!

Room Tip: 4th floor beach view is not recommended as your balcony view also includes an ugly patio-roof view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave R, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for the compliments on the hotel and the staff. We appreciate your business and for taking time to send a review for others to see.
We will continue to make improvements to the ceilings and additional corrections are part of our on-going property improvement plan.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Dave R. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent two nights at the Radisson - Corpus Christi Bay - June 21 and 22, 2014. Our reservation was for 3 nights but we checked out a day early because we couldn't take it any longer. My adult daughter and I were visiting Corpus to tour the USS Lexington so she could see where her father did his carrier qualifications in the late 60s. The Radisson is literally right next to the Lexington and an easy walk on the sidewalk. The other plus of the Radisson is the swimming beach right outside the door. The beach is well maintained by the City, clean and open to the public. The view is wonderful if you upgrade to an ocean view room - which we did. We had requested a room in a quiet area and they told us it wouldn't be a problem and then tried to put us in a room that was right by the elevator and ice machine. We asked for a different room and they offered us room 719 which was in a much better location. Not sure why that room wasn't offered first.

The Radisson advertises that it was completely renovated in 2013 and they have a framed remodel award in their lobby. Despite the mixed reviews on TripAdvisor and the high price, we felt safe in selecting this hotel based on their recent remodel and their location. The view was the best part of the room. The room has been updated, but appeared the cheapest route was taken, especially in the bathroom. More like a DIY than a professional renovation. We had to wait in the lobby until our room was ready and we noticed people cutting through from the beach to use the hotel bathroom. Male and female adults were in the lobby in their bathing suits without any coverups or even a towel wrapped around them. I know this is not allowed in most hotels.

Our biggest problem happened on Sunday, June 22. We left the room about 10am to tour the Lexington. Came back after the tour to pick up some water and left to see other sights in the area. We got back to the room at 6:15 pm and our card key wouldn't work.
(1) My daughter went to the front desk, they gave her another set of keys and told her to call the desk if she had any problems.
(2) That set did not work either, my daughter called the front desk and they sent someone with a third set of keys and they did not work.
(3) That person called for maintenance. Maintenance answered quickly and had a "helper" with him. When maintenance tried to open with his master card, the lock would flash red and green at the same time. The helper started saying it is locked from the inside - someone must be in the room. You can imagine our concern since we were on the 7th floor and had not been in the room since approximately noon. The maintenance guy quickly said that it could also mean the reader needed a new battery. Maintenance finally gets the door open using an actual key and we were able to get in our room. Everything was fine in our room.
(4) Maintenance took the lock apart and replaced the battery, but could not get it to "read" a card. He then said that it was only his 3rd week on the job so he called head maintenance to come up.
(5) The two maintenance guys were able to recode the card-reader and the head maintenance guy said he wanted to make sure our new cards worked at the desk. He told us he would check them out and bring them right back to us. We waited 20 minutes and finally called the front desk. We were told the keys were waiting for us at the front desk, which was completely different than what we had been told by maintenance.
(6) Another hotel employee brought us the card keys and they did not work. At this point approximately 1.5 hours have passed. The employee offered us a different room, something we did not want to do that late at night. She did not know what else to do and said the manager would call us immediately. We stressed that we wanted to go to dinner and to please ask her to call ASAP.
(7) Once again we waited 20 minutes with no call. I finally called the front desk and Allyson Riojas, the guest relations manager, answered the phone. It sounded like she was getting ready to apologize for not returning the call, but quickly changed and asked what she could do for us. She came to the room with yet another set of card keys and also brought the head maintenance guy with her. I have to give the head maintenance guy kudos for admitting that he got another call and forgot to bring the keys to us. At least he admitted his mistake and apologized for forgetting. Keys still did not work. Allyson said she did not realize we even had a problem and no one told her she was supposed to call us. She was clearly putting the blame on the front desk staff and they were the ones who had tried to help us the most. Maintenance said the complete lock needed to be taken apart - he did not know what was wrong with it and wouldn't have the parts to fix it. She offered us a different room but again we told her we did not want to move to another room just for the night. Our room was safe to stay in since we could lock it from the inside, but only the manager could unlock it from the outside. She offered us a free breakfast for our trouble (we declined since we were leaving early) and that was the only compensation offered. She acted like she was irritated with us.
(8) We worked out a solution that we would go to dinner and when we got back, Allyson would let us in our room with her master card-key which seemed to be the only one that would open our door. We were finally able to leave for dinner and when we returned, Allyson did not let us in our room or even talk to us. She had the employee at the front desk do it.
(9) We checked out the next morning and a new front desk lady commented that we were leaving a day early and I told her we had some issues with the lock on our door. She said there were no notes, etc., as to the problem. Doesn't anyone talk to each other??? I would think the manager would have marked the room out of order right after maintenance told her the lock would need to be taken apart before he could even find out what was wrong. I guess new door locks were not included in their remodel.

The Radisson will continue to attract visitors due to its location for those who want accommodations close to the USS Lexington and a swim beach in the Corpus area. It seems like they don't worry about good customer service because they know they will always have customers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Corporate at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, Pat. We are sorry to hear about the extensive trouble you and your daughter experienced with the lock on your door, we understand how frustrating and inconvenient this was for you. Your feedback will be noted with the appropriate staff so we can take appropriate action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
2,780 reviews
2.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#39 of 80 in Corpus Christi
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#14 of 80 in Corpus Christi
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#10 of 80 in Corpus Christi
822 reviews
7.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach

Property: Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Address: 3200 E Surfside Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78402-1219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Beach Hotel is excited about the completion of our renovation. All guest rooms received new carpet, furniture, bedding new art work, drapes and lighting. New Guest hall carpet and paint as well.The Lobby has been totally renovated with a new open, light look with all new furniture and accessories. The Restaurant received a total new look with new seating and the Bar move to the lobby level with an entire new setting. We are anxious for you to see our great new look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Tx
Corpus Christi Beach Radisson
Radisson Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Radisson
Radisson Htl Corpus Christi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing