We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Emerald Beach Hotel
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Scottsdale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel right on the beach”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My significant other and I have had the pleasure of staying at the Emerald Beach Holiday Inn on several occasions. We try to get away for 2-3 days several times a year and Corpus Christi is one of our favorite destinations for a laid back, romantic "quickie". Our most recent visit to Emerald Beach was enjoyable, as usual. The staff at this hotel really goes the extra mile to assure that your experience is more than satisfactory. The front desk clerks are always cheerful and eager to help. We love the outdoor bar and always enjoy spending an hour (or two!) there with a refreshing libation (or three!) This hotel sits directly on the best stretch of beach in all of Corpus. I like to start each morning with a sunrise walk on the beach and this hotel is in a perfect location for that. The hotel has been renovated since our last visit and the new look is modern and very appealing. I especially love the new carpet- tres' chic! The beds are super comfortable- and I am SUPER picky when it comes to my sleeping arrangements. All in all, you won't find a better hotel in Corpus and the beachfront location makes Emerald Beach a slam dunk choice.
Go, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Rooms on the water have beautiful views and you can hear the ocean all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radiantstar333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    137
    131
    88
    103
See reviews for
234
112
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Went there for a convention. Had been there a couple of times before and had few problems. This time, I was given a room next to the indoor pool, but it didn't have a desk and I needed one. Front desk late at night was good about changing my room to one in the tower, which is where I'd recommend.

The staff, by and large, was very nice in dealing with requests. The restaurant was accommodating and friendly, and the banquet food was much better than normal. It's also hard to beat that it's right next to Corpus Christi Bay.

There were two downsides. First, the wireless was consistently poor, even in the lobby and meeting rooms. When I asked about that, they seemed overwhelmed by the traffic from our conference. There was one day when I couldn't get any reception. The second was the temperature in the meeting room. In the presentation I gave, it was sweltering. The one next door was freezing.

Overall, it was worth it, but I hope those two issues will be addressed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are a little quieter, better views, have desks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The hotel is very well located right at the beach with conveniences for swimming at the beach or in the local pool. Very close to a wide variety of restaurants of the Shoreline Blvd at the bay. The main inconvenience was with the elevators. The only functional (or available to the public) was an outdated unit while the 2nd was being updated. In the words of someone there, "they are been updated from the 8-Track to the DVD player era". The other incovenience was the AC unit in the hotel. The thermonstats were the old analog type from Honeywell and it didn't appear to control the unit. We were constantly turning it on because the room was getting warm and turning it off because the room got too cold. The local restaurant has a variaty of options and their personnel is very service oriented.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalsaMan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I expected more for $123.00. I was there on a Wednesday night, hotel did not appear to be busy and yet they gave us a room in the old part of the hotel on the backside of the new part. Our expensive view overlooked the service entrance and the lower roofs of the other buildings. We were on the 5 th floor room 5025. Our vehicle was broken into with a screwdriver jammed into the doorlock, luckily the remote still worked. The pool area was nice and clean, no complaints there. If you are looking for a cold room to sleep in look elsewhere, this one had the temp set by the hotel. It is okay for an older hotel, I just felt it was overpriced for what we got.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the newer part of the hotel where the lobby is located. It appeared that there was a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TxPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear TxPinky,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I brought a group of students here for a statewide student journalism convention. This hotel has plenty of conference space and accommodated everyone easily.

It's right on the beach, and that proved popular with my group. The hotel also has an enclosed area that includes a pool, hot tub, souvenir/convenience shop, two air hockey tables, a pool table, two ping pong tables and a children's jungle gym. We enjoyed this space a lot. There were lots of families there, too.

If you're of age, there's a small bar on the "back porch" that looks over the beach, and it's a nice spot to catch a drink and the sea breeze.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the hotel even offers a free shuttle to get you to a few local destinations. My room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is for purchase in the restaurant or through room service.

I would imagine that this hotel is crazy during spring break and parts of the summer, so plan your trip accordingly. I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Butler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

First off, we were traveling with 2 small dogs, Schnauzer and Terrier, and it is difficult to find a hotel in Corpus that will take dogs let alone multiples. Our room was as expected and advertised, it was clean, when we needed more towels, the staff was 'Johnny on the spot". Now I will say that the area around isn't too great, although conveniently located at the beach and boardwalk, you do see an occasional person homeless around the hotel when walking dogs at odd hours. But where better to be homeless than in a warm climate by a beach.... (My husband even bought the guy a sleeping bag, but then he didn't show up again....) Also nice is the hotel bar at the (public) beach and the umbrella, jetski, etc rental right below. Breakfast at the hotel was tasty, the wait staff was friendly and quick.
So all in all we had a good experience, and so did our four legged friends.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view! (with dogs you don't get those though....)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exghentite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Hondo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The room and beds were wonderful, except the air conditioning was not too cold at night. It was so close to the water; just walking distance...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckiejune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#23 of 80 in Corpus Christi
986 reviews
1.3 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
2,903 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#8 of 80 in Corpus Christi
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#14 of 80 in Corpus Christi
86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#43 of 80 in Corpus Christi
133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downt...
#15 of 80 in Corpus Christi
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Hotel

Property: Emerald Beach Hotel
Address: 1102 S Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-3511
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of casual relaxation and business convenience, with the most unique hotel location in downtown Corpus Christi. Just minutes from downtown businesses, you can enjoy fresh sea air and sand between your toes as you walk the beach behind our hotel. Our spacious bay front rooms, with fantastic views of the bay and marina, featuring free high-speed Internet connection will allow you to relax and conduct business. Enjoy a hearty breakfast in our dining room or room service on your balcony, or maybe a cocktail at our beach side bar. Just a ten minute drive or open air trolley ride gets you to area attractions, such as Texas State Aquarium or the USS Lexington Museum. After work we will provide transportation to downtown restaurants and entertainment. When its time to leave we will take you to the airport as well. Try Emerald Beach once and we are sure you will return every time you visit Corpus Christi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - Emerald Beach Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing