We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emerald Beach Hotel
Ranked #41 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
1 review
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Floors were nasty, after getting out if the shower the bottom of our feet were brown. Bathtub nobs had holes between them and tiles, tiles and grout were just nasty. Ceiling above door was practically black from yuck. Worst/nastiest place I've ever stayed at and couldn't get out fast enough.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harps2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldBeachStaff, Online Marketing Coordinator at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Can you please email me your information, such as your date of stay, name and room number, at mrodriguez@hotelemeraldbeach.com. I would like to have our maintenance staff address these issues as soon as possible. Thank you so much for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    137
    128
    86
    103
See reviews for
229
111
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud OK
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Emerald Beach Hotel. It was our first trip to Corpus. I was impressed with the courtesy of the staff (we had flight problems that made us really late getting in). I was a bit unhappy that with 5 of us (my adult son and 3 young daughters) there were only 2 queen size beds in the room. Being so worn out we made due until the next day then got a fold away bed which worked out great. My children were thrilled with the beach and especially the indoor play area, which had an excellent jungle gym, pool and other amenities. The shuttle driver drove us to the harbor and picked us up as well. Oh, and let me say a little about the food! The in house restaurant was wonderful! (A word: be sure to order off the menu, that way your kids get to eat for free! ) The gift shop was handy as well, and we shopped there a few times and were even able to get over the counter medication for one of us that had "tummy trouble".
I don't know if we'll go back to Corpus Christi, but if we do, the Emerald Beach Hotel will be at the top of the list!

Room Tip: We had to stay on the smoking floor due to prices and availability, but if you can, try to shoot for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StroudOKBlondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldBeachStaff, Online Marketing Coordinator at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled you and your children enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Decided to get away for a weekend and we wanted to be on a beach. This hotel delivered. The bay view room was older and small but was first floor and we could literally walk out onto the beach. The sand blowing all over was not the coolest but what do you expect. They were not the best at cleaning the room but we were only there for two days. The bar was awesome, beachfront and outside. The restaurant was good but room service was slow. The play area was terrible. Old, rundown, smelled of vomit and pee. Would not let the kids near it. The inside pool was nice. Would definitely recommend the wings. The beach was clean, the staff was pleasant, it was worth the money. Mom had a handicapped room that was on the 5th floor. Was not sure why a handicapped room would be that many floors up but it was big. A broken beer bottle in the corner of the balcony. No refrigerator or microwave in the handicapped room. Mom would go back, she was in a quiet area. The only thing she missed was the frig and microwave.

Room Tip: If you don't want sand in your room I would not recommend bay front. If you want peace and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldBeachStaff, Online Marketing Coordinator at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi 420tammyh, thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I apologize you had some issues and I have shared your feedback with our staff. We hope you and your Mom come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Emerald Beach hotel for four nights, at a cost of about $800 total...not too bad a price since we could walk out to the sand and be right on the ocean. However, when we got to our room, the door had to be slammed in order to close all the way, we were told over the phone when we booked that we'd have beach views..which if you count having to stand at the window and look out at an angle over a roof to see a triangle of beach, i suppose is true. Then the bathroom door handle was literally falling off, the screws holding it on were mostly backed out. We had adjoining rooms with more family and their bathroom door handle was the same way. We ate at the restaurant downstairs...where the buffet was more expensive than the meals, and not very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clmahan1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldBeachStaff, Online Marketing Coordinator at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
I don't know about you, but I think we all need door handles!

Thank you for taking time to review us, we are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
I have shared your review with all departments involved, so we may address these issues.

We certainly appreciate your feedback, and would love another opportunity in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corpus Christi hotels

Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Corpus Christie for one night and just wanted somewhere relaxing with easy access to the beach and this place was perfect! I was a little skeptical because of some of the bad reviews but decided to just go there and check it out in person, and was very pleasantly surprised! We booked the room online and got a cheaper rate than what the front desk quoted us. The staff was very friendly, The hotel inside is very nice and the room was clean and had everything we needed. There's an indoor pool, restaurant, and little store so you can stay here and never leave if you want. We slept great, got room service the night before for dinner which was not bad and was affordable. Went to a great little breakfast place the next morning which was just a 5 minute drive away. But the best part is walking out the back deck and having the beach right there. There's a bar outside as well as lounge chairs set up underneath umbrellas for rent for very reasonable price, I think we paid $25 and you can lay there all day. I would stay here again if I am ever in CC!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lidabiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldBeachStaff, Online Marketing Coordinator at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy we surprised you!

We can't wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel with my husband and dog. It is a perfectly fine, clean, decent beach hotel. Any reviews complaining clearly had too high expectations and are too high maintenance - they should have booked into a different hotel to begin with if they are so picky - or not gone to plain ole Corpus and expected more. We got a great deal on expedia mobile app, and they still upgraded us to a nice ocean view king room. It was clean and large enough. Right on the beach - chairs and umbrellas can be rented from outside company for $5/chair and $10/umbrella. Cheap! Hotel used to be a Holiday Inn, it is standard and sufficient. It's not the Caribbean or tropical, but a hotel property in Corpus, centrally located, safe area, dog friendly, beachfront, and it works just fine. I had low expectations and was pleasantly surprised.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsey514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldBeachStaff, Online Marketing Coordinator at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Lindsey514,

Thank you for your great review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here durning a conference - from the moment I walked in I was unhappy. The staff is rude and unhelpful .The hotel is old and rundown - when I arrived in my room -the toilet was dirty - both bedspreads were dirty the chair in the room was unspeakable . I took pictures and showed them to the manger who looked at me like this is normal. I checked out two days early - I couldn't take the nasty conditions of this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in the south tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldBeachStaff, Online Marketing Coordinator at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Shakisha,

Thank you for taking time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations and you did not enjoy your stay with us.

I have forwarded your review to all departments involved, so we may address these issues. We take all feedback very serious, as it is only with this feedback that we can better ourselves.

Thank you again for your review, we truly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#21 of 80 in Corpus Christi
965 reviews
1.3 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
2,846 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#6 of 80 in Corpus Christi
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#14 of 80 in Corpus Christi
82 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#45 of 80 in Corpus Christi
132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downt...
#15 of 80 in Corpus Christi
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Hotel

Property: Emerald Beach Hotel
Address: 1102 S Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-3511
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of casual relaxation and business convenience, with the most unique hotel location in downtown Corpus Christi. Just minutes from downtown businesses, you can enjoy fresh sea air and sand between your toes as you walk the beach behind our hotel. Our spacious bay front rooms, with fantastic views of the bay and marina, featuring free high-speed Internet connection will allow you to relax and conduct business. Enjoy a hearty breakfast in our dining room or room service on your balcony, or maybe a cocktail at our beach side bar. Just a ten minute drive or open air trolley ride gets you to area attractions, such as Texas State Aquarium or the USS Lexington Museum. After work we will provide transportation to downtown restaurants and entertainment. When its time to leave we will take you to the airport as well. Try Emerald Beach once and we are sure you will return every time you visit Corpus Christi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - Emerald Beach Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing