We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was disappointed in my hotel experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We sent two nights and had many different issues and did not feel welcome. The air conditioner made a loud noise all night and children were running up and down the hall all hours of the night. An alarm woke me up in the night both nights I was there. There were no beach chairs for guests..... I had to pay a company $50 to have chairs and tent on the beach. Breakfast was crazy! Apparently they had a new cook and he was just learning to cook! That was the excuse for slow service. The staff wasn't really friendly but had to have them print out boarding pass as the guest computer was not working. Parking was horrible as beach visitors used the parking lot and it was always full. I had to register my car with a tag but apparently no one was monitoring the lot.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharibaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Sharibaer,

Thank you for your review of our hotel regarding your stay.

It is regrettable to know that we have left you with a less than memorable hotel experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the noise from the air conditioning system has caused you and for the dissatisfaction you had with our level of service. Additionally, I am truly sorry if our breakfast didn't live up to your expectations.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We value you as a guest and we hope that you would still give us a chance and allow us to redeem your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights. First the good: Being right on the beach is wonderful, and the room was adequate, despite being a bit outdated. The beds were very comfortable and the wifi worked. We ordered food from the restaurant downstairs and it was delivered quickly, and was tasty.
Now for the bad... The first night of our stay, around 11:30pm (we were already in bed asleep after spending much of the day out in the sun) the fire alarm went off... I shot out of bed and went into evacuation mode... I grabbed my 5 year old and was preparing to exit the room when the alarm stopped. We looked out into the hall and saw a few other tired and confused looking people; we then called the front desk and were told that it was a false alarm. Okay. The next night, around the same time, we were all in bed asleep again, and the alarm went off. My reaction was the same, I was up and ready to evacuate when the alarm stopped. I called the front desk, and was again told that it was a false alarm. Seriously?
The elevators are tiny, so if you are claustrophobic, take the stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Erin H,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I'm sorry to hear about your experience regarding the fire alarm during your stay with us. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The workers were friendly, and the property was fairly well maintained for its age, but there was a general inattention to details. For instance, when we checked in, there was a razor cap from a previous guest left on the bathroom floor. The 2nd and 3rd days of our stay, the beds were made, but not with the top comforter. The 3rd day, our room went unvacuumed. Also, we ran out of toilet paper on Day 3 because it had not be refilled during our stay. They also only supplied 2 washcloths on Days 2 & 3 even though there were four in our group. Their internet service was down, and instead of resolving the issue themselves, they gave me the number to call. The problem was resolved when they refreshed the system closest to our rooms, but IT told the Front Desk that it was probably a problem with our devices. It was not. None of these inconveniences was horrible but the number and frequency of them made the stay unpleasant. Also, our room overlooked the trash area, which was not well-kept so we kept the curtains drawn the entire visit. The elevator, hallway, and stairs seemed to not have adequate climate control so that they smelled musty and just a bit unclean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear S4Life,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on my way to Laguna Astascosa NWF. The Hotel is very clean, the staff was nice. The house keeping did come around pretty early in the morning about 9am. So I found that odd because checkout wasn't until 11am. I also had a 1pm checkout because I am a Priority Rewards Member so I don't know if they would of tried to clean my room if I had went out? So that would be my only complaint. The Front desk just needs to make sure the housekeeping knows when people's check out is, if it is later. This is a Smoke Free hotel which I like, however disrespectful guests were smoking on my floor, not the hotels fault, just thought I would mention it. I am sure if I would of brought it to the front desk's attention they would of handled it. Be Aware that the Hot Water is VERY HOT! It is burn your skin hot, which I was happy about but just be careful before you step in. They also do have great water pressure. The Beds are very hard, so not too comfortable. On my way back through a few days later I decided to stay another night before heading home, & my experience was the same. I have uploaded a few pictures & I will also be uploading a video to You Tube soon. So look for that. My You Tube is ButterFlyKey422.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butterflykey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for sharing the pictures. It is enjoyable for us to see what it is like from the guests point of view. We appreciate your compliments and your concerns. It gives us an opportunity to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We've always had good luck with Holiday Inn and am a long time Rewards Member. Seems this one wasn't up to par. Workers were great, equipment poor. Door key wouldn't work, wold open the door once, finaly after the 3rd time, had the lady scan a new one. Fridge was broke and the 'New' replacement had spoiled food in it, nasty smell filled the room. Hair dryer needs light swtich on to work, wish front desk knew that. Coffee pot was too small for maker, only provided half a pot of coffee. It was like the guests after spring break gets to figure out everything that is broke. Worst of all is Holiday Inns online review, I had explained my problems completly, then the site said I had too many character's, so they want to know your issues, but not really. We'll still us HI but not at North Padre Island.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the full beach view, not partial view, Hair Dryer needs light switch on to work.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim_churchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear tim_churchman,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the hotel conditions that did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. I want to assure you that your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This being our first trip to Padre, I checked for a hotel that included a restaurant and lounge. Holiday Inn was the only one, which turned out great. The gal at the front desk was very nice and got us a great room. The weather turned windy and cold but we still had a good time and didn't have to leave the property for drinks or meals.

Room Tip: We didn't get a room facing the ocean, but we did have a balcony that we enjoyed. We weren'...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkcKTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Welcome to Padre Island, we are happy that you chose to stay at the Holiday Inn. Our Sand Bar and restaurant are some of our main attractions and we are glad that you enjoyed them. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Good hotel...had to be in Corpus during Spring Break for colleges. Rooms were at premium buT found this one for the weekend. It was a typical crazy college group but actually Hotel did very well. Room was better than Ok, windows could have used a cleaning but all in all I would stay there again. Price was reasonable, right on the beach, staff was great, and pool had a great party around it

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Daniel J,

We do thank you for the review. It was a busy time during your stay. We are so glad we exceeded your expectations. We do hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Joe DePalma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#36 of 80 in Corpus Christi
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#17 of 80 in Corpus Christi
540 reviews
18.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#23 of 80 in Corpus Christi
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Padre Island
Best Western Padre Island
#5 of 80 in Corpus Christi
325 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Isl.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Ch...
#35 of 80 in Corpus Christi
218 reviews
16.7 mi away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#42 of 80 in Corpus Christi
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island

Address: 15202 Windward Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range: £86 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Corpus Christi, Texas is North Padre Island s only full service hotel located directly on the Gulf of Mexico.Hand painted murals liven the inside and summer weekend entertainment livens the outside at our Sand Bar. Seasonal children s activities, an outdoor playground, and indoor game room create a perfect family beach vacation. Two large outdoor swimming pools overlook the natural beauty of the ocean and there are many direct beach access points. Both corporate and leisure guests will appreciate the meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom has a microwave and mini-fridge and many offer an ocean view and a balcony. The Beachside Grill and Lounge complete this perfect hotel package!Golf and tennis are less than 1 mile from the hotel. The USS Lex Aircraft Museum and the Texas State Aquarium are 22 miles away.Downtown Corpus Christi provides night life fun, fishing and sightseeing boats and bicycle rentals. Sports enthusiasts can watch a baseball or football game at Whataburger Field, a hockey game at American Bank Center, or Texas A & M Islander basketball. Fish from Bob Hall pier, kayak around Packery Channel, surf at J. P. Luby Park, boat around Bird Island, or walk the many birding trails in the Coastal Bend. Book your hotel reservation with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - n. Padre Island Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing