We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - Mediocore Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island
Ranked #34 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location - Mediocore Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There wasn't anything clearly horrible about this property. It's right on the beach. Nice outdoor bar. I guess it's just the little things. Tiny hot tub. It could only fit 3-4 people comfortably, when 5-8 wanted to get in. Rips in the hallway carpet. Musty (wife thought it smelled like feet) smell in the rooms. Again, nothing glaringly awful. I guess I am just used to better accommodations from Holiday Inn. Customer Service was great. Loved being able to walk on to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beradams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear beradams,

Thank you for the review and comments about our staff! We also appreciate the comments concerning the property. We are currently making plans for a renovation. We hope to have the hotel updated in the near future.

Sincerely,

Joe DePalma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    146
    120
    79
    82
See reviews for
229
152
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel at least once a year for quite a while. On this visit, Kristen, who checked me in was friendly and helpful, as were all the staff I interacted with. After a dinner at Doc's Seafood under the bridge, I decided to visit the hotel restaurant for a cordial and dessert. On asking what they had for dessert, the twenty something hostess said "We only have dessert on Fridays when the chef is here". Huh? Did that mean that if I'd ordered dinner, there was a troop of monkeys in the back who'd pop my entrée into a microwave, but no chef? Three couples wandered in while I sat there and promptly left.

The room: My balcony was liberally spattered with bird droppings. I guess housekeeping's job description does not cover cleaning this area. The towel rack in the bathroom was piled high, but removing one facecloth caused the entire rack to come crashing down,

I really want to like this hotel as it has a great location on the beach, and do not mind paying for it if they deliver good value. Read my recent review of the Sheraton Bouganvillas in Puerto Vallarta to see how a really good hotel delivers on those promises. At this time, this Holiday Inn has a ways to go to win back my business.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Jeffery G,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay. We always appreciate when a staff member is mentioned in a positive way. We will also share this review to improve our operation in the restaurant. We do apologize for the towel rack falling. We are reiterating out preventive maintenance program to prevent this from happening. We do hope to see you very soon in the future.

Sincerely,

Joe DePalma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The last time I stayed in this hotel was about two years ago. When we arrived around 10 pm there was no parking because there was this huge beach party going on, we checked with front desk to ask about the parking. They suggested I park on the fire lane and move it in the morning. Guess what was on my car the next morning? A nice $500 dollar parking ticket! When I brought this to the attention of the staff they just looked slightly surprised and said how funny it was because the police never patrol around that area unless called to! They suggested that I call officer and tell him that they gave me permission to park there! I tried to have it resolved with the management staff and what did I get back? Nothing! They didn't even comp my room in exchange for the cost of the ticket! And on top of that they're beds are as hard as rocks and facility smelled aweful! It is not worth spending hard earned money on this hotel. Beyond disapointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear JanaC

I am so sorry for the parking issues at the hotel. I would like to speak with you regarding. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly.

Sincerely,

Joe DePalma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corpus Christi hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The room was bad. Doors are facing outdoors. Odor smelled like feet. Corner room was good but it could use ALOT of updating. Not the quality that Holiday Inn should have. Breakfast and customer service better

Room Tip: Not updated. Very dirty outside and inside. We needed a room for one night so we stayed, but I will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4Smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear 4Smiles,

Thank you for your stay with us and reviewing our property

I am disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the level of service and truly sorry for the room condition fell below your standards. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concho, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a great stay in March. We had a balcony room with a beautiful view even though it was too cold to spend too much time out there. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. We rented one of the golf carts to drive up and down the beach which was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarvestMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear HarvestMoon,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay. We thank you for the review. We look forward to a return visit in the future.

Sincerely,

Joe DePalma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

An older, but updated hotel, was right on the beach with outdoor pool, hot tub and bar. Live music and margaritas welcomed us upon arrival. The room was adequate, but not spectacular. Located on the north end of Padre lsland so had to drive into Corpus for sights and restaurants. There are few places to eat on the island but larger restaurants are in Corpus. We did enjoy being right on the beach without having to cross any street.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jutsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear jutsie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward them to the appropriate departments for future considerations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
370 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We are Gold Priority Club members and love Holiday Inn and other IHG properties. This Holiday Inn was a much anticipated final stop at the end of a road trip, but shortly after we arrived we wished we had kept driving home. The room had a terrible odor, the paint was peeling, there were extension cords causing a trip hazard in the room. The pool bar was just a small over crowded area that closed early. The walls were paper thin and the guest next door kept us awake all night with her coughing. We spent extra and advance reserved a king bed with a balcony over looking the ocean but we were given 2 queen beds with view obstructed by a partition and charged the same. The water in the shower changed temperatures with no warning. The internet was slow, the front desk and staff were very rude and when we voiced our concerns their reply was telling is we were lucky to get a room at all even though we had booked in advance. The dining area was filthy, at breakfast the floor was sticky with French fries under our table, and service and food were terrible. There were no other restaurants in walking distance. This was probably one of the worst hotels we ever stayed in. I would definitely never book another night here and would tell anyone coming to this area avoid and stay away. There is nothing positive I can think of to say about this property even it's location is not worth the poor condition of this place, it's a dump and definitely not worth the inflated prices they charge for their rooms.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Jill V,

We truly apologize we did not meet your expectations. We strive to meet all our guests needs and in this case we did not. We do appreciate the feedback. Your comments will be shared with our team so we can improve our operation.

Sincerely,

Joe DePalma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#38 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#21 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
18.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#19 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Padre Island
Best Western Padre Island
#8 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#14 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Isl.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Ch...
#30 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island

Property: Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island
Address: 15202 Windward Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Corpus Christi, Texas is North Padre Island s only full service hotel located directly on the Gulf of Mexico.Hand painted murals liven the inside and summer weekend entertainment livens the outside at our Sand Bar. Seasonal children s activities, an outdoor playground, and indoor game room create a perfect family beach vacation. Two large outdoor swimming pools overlook the natural beauty of the ocean and there are many direct beach access points. Both corporate and leisure guests will appreciate the meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom has a microwave and mini-fridge and many offer an ocean view and a balcony. The Beachside Grill and Lounge complete this perfect hotel package!Golf and tennis are less than 1 mile from the hotel. The USS Lex Aircraft Museum and the Texas State Aquarium are 22 miles away.Downtown Corpus Christi provides night life fun, fishing and sightseeing boats and bicycle rentals. Sports enthusiasts can watch a baseball or football game at Whataburger Field, a hockey game at American Bank Center, or Texas A & M Islander basketball. Fish from Bob Hall pier, kayak around Packery Channel, surf at J. P. Luby Park, boat around Bird Island, or walk the many birding trails in the Coastal Bend. Book your hotel reservation with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - n. Padre Island Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing