We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Corpus Christi
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We picked the hotel because of the location and we were not dissappointed.The views from the breakfast room were awesome.The hotel staff were very accomadating.The room was spacious enough even with 4 people and suitcases.The beds were very comfortable and the tv was positioned so whichever bed you took you could still watch it without straining your neck.There were previous reports of cars being broken into so rather than park the car in the undercover car park (which did seem a little dark even during the day) I opted to park mine in the open.Even tho the car was very warm when we got in I thought it would be a safer option.It does say that there are camera's monitoring the carpark so I figured if it was out in the open there would be more chance of catching anyone.We didnt hear of any break in while we were there.All in all a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chorleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim C, Manager at Best Western Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
We appreciate your feedback and your business. I am glad that things were enjoyable for you. We hope that when you visit Corpus Christi again that you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    240
    151
    73
    47
See reviews for
270
254
28
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

What a great location! My partner and I stayed for 2 nights here, The first room we were allocated was on the second floor and was spacious, spotlessly clean, with all the usual Best Western facilities ( coffee machine, fridge), plenty of pillows and the bed was comfortable. However, we hardly slept a wink due to the background loud rumble , we think from the hotel's generator. It was'nt noise from the air con. The next morning, after a pleasant enough breakfast ( served on 11th floor with views to die for over the bay), we asked at reception if anything could be done about the noise,and were immediately offered an alternative room on 7th floor. We were invited to inspect this room before making a decision. The background noise could still be slightly heard but not to the extent that it would be disturbing. Having quickly changed rooms, we had a peaceful second night!
The hotel provided free on site parking, and also free use of a laundry ( you just have to pay for small pack of detergent). This was really useful as we were in the middle ofa 2 week tour of Texas and had brought minimal luggage.
The location of the hotel was great, just across the road was the sea front and harbour, great for strolling along. Behind the hotel was a really good restaurant called the Water St Oyster Bar ( serving a great selection of seafood, chicken, steaks, salads etc) A short drive away across the bridge to USS Lexington and Texas State Aquarium. We took a one hour harbour tour, and visited the Lexington ( aircraft carrier museum) both of which provided good entertainment and interest for our one full day in CC. If travelling to CC, we would recommend staying on the Northshoreline Boulevarde area in preference to anywhere on South Padre Island Drive, the latter being very built up and busy, and far less peaceful.
All in all, The Best Western Marina Grand was absolutely fine for a couple of nights, and was good value.

Room Tip: Do ask on booking for a room on the upper floors, probably 6th floor or above in order to get a peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birminghamcorbiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim C, Manager at Best Western Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
I am glad to here that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here one Saturday night in mid-September. We did not have reservations, and there was a large contingent of senior tennis players staying in this hotel that weekend. However, I was still able to walk in from just down the block and secure a double Queen room on the 7th floor with a gorgeous view of the marina. (#710). The young lady at the front desk was extremely nice, polite and helpful.

Our room was actually quite nice, especially for the price. The view was pretty stunning, all things considered, and you could actually step out onto a "standing room only" balcony and look out over the marina. The bed and bedding were very clean and quite comfortable. The other elements of our room were fairly described as standard, except for the shower head, which was sub-par, indeed. It was too low, and a miserable fixture. The common areas were clean and bright, but pretty standard and not particularly impressive. The elevators were not "slower" than those of the Bellagio in Vegas or the Four Seasons Chicago when a large number of people are using them all at once.

The breakfast on the 11th floor is pretty cool, actually, because it is in a large space and the view, again, is terrific. The food was on par with most Best Westerns, although there were raves about the (Texas-shaped) waffles, which I did not have. (I realize it's probably inevitable and unavoidable at this cost, but there is something not quite completely "hospitable" about eating off of paperware with plastic cutlery to me...unless I'm actually on a picnic or something like that.)

The area has several decent places to eat, well within walking distance. Two, at least, are out in the marina itself. I must note, too, that I am not actually surprised that others have had issues with vandalism to and theft from their vehicles--not that there is any particularly negative characteristic about the parking area itself. It is right next to the hotel, and it is "open." (Maybe that's the problem.) There is a noticeable number of transient, down on their luck folks in the streets just behind this hotel, and a sad number of vacant commercial spaces on those streets. It seems clear that the economic downturn has had a significant negative impact upon this part of Corpus. The owners of this hotel cannot control this factor, to be sure. It is also not at all unusual for any waterfront area to have this happening, unfortunately. If there was any way to do so, it would be excellent to hire a "night watchman" for the parking area, in my humble opinion.

This place is sort of a "gem in the rough," mostly due to the location (regarding the view and vicinity to the marina) and the friendly, competent staff. The "rough" part is the current state of the neighborhood behind it, which I'm optimistically thinking is temporary.

Room Tip: Get the full-on marina view, on the 10th floor, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divemastergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim C, Manager at Best Western Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thanks for your feedback, it is very much appreciated. I am pleased to here about your stay and hope that you will return. Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Although some reviews have complained about noise and break-ins, etc, our stay was very nice. Good location for walking to either restaurants or the marina and friendly staff. No noise but it was early in the week. Free breakfast on the 11th floor was a nice touch. If the elevators are slow, then take the stairs and get some exercise.

Room Tip: company website had better internet rates at the time of our booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggie1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

First room we got had a/c problem. Second room we got had pair of dirty socks and toe nail clipping from previous guest. Manager was hard to get in touch with but gave us offers and points. Would rather have had the first night comped for all the trouble or next night so we stayed somewhere else second night. Good view and breakfast though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip to Corpus Christi. My accomodations were booked by someone else so I knew very little about the hotel prior to arrival. I was greeted by a very courteous and accomodating staff and that level of interaction continued througout my stay. The hotel is older with many of the trademaks of an older hotel , structurally. ( ie..soundproofing-specially in bathrooms, a/c and ease of internet connectivity) However, I will say for as structurally dated as this building is, they have done a good job at remodelling, upkeep and cleaanliness. The views and access to
the water from my room were great! This is a Best Western ...not a Westin or Noble House.
The fitness center was adequately equipped, however as a woman I would suggest maybe glass doors to the hallway...it felt a bit isolated and risky, although a keycard is needed for entrance.
My experience was tainted as I left and discovered that my car had been broken into and burgalarized while parked on site. The staff was very polite and tried to be accomodating, yet I felt a bit embarassed for them as it was obviously not the first time that they have had this issue and were not sure he apologetic for something that was obviously not an anomily and clearly posted as a risk.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotulla, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My family and I stayed in Corpus for 3 nights on one of our trips this summer. We stayed here 2 of those nights and loved it. The beds were so comfortable. The free breakfast was more than your usual cereal and coffee. They had tortillas, eggs, beans, waffle makers, bagels and a few other yummy items (saved us about $30 every morning). The staff was very nice. Oh yeah, Texas State employees, don't forget to ask for your discount; that saved us about $90 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors, the view of the beach is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravelers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
2,767 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#20 of 80 in Corpus Christi
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downt...
#15 of 80 in Corpus Christi
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#39 of 80 in Corpus Christi
551 reviews
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Corpus Christi

Property: Best Western Corpus Christi
Address: 300 N Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-2565 (Formerly Best Western Marina Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Corpus Christi
#19 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Corpus Christi 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Corpus Christi Hotel. Overlooking Corpus Christi Bay and Marina, the hotel is across from the historic seawall, and minutes from beautiful beaches, restaurants, fishing boats, piers, golf courses, museums and attractions, such as the American Bank Center Arena, Texas State Aquarium, USS Lexington, Selena Museum and Padre Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corpus Christi Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing