We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place needs some attention.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Corpus Christi North
Ranked #57 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
houstonburbs
Level Contributor
332 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“This place needs some attention.....”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Traveling through to visit family, led us to a quick stop over in Corpus. This hotel is an easy off....easy on, but there are other choices very close that could have been better, I am sure. This seems to be an older site, that definitely needs some updating. No ice bucket....we were told that the ice buckets are taken by guests, and they were on order...was given one from another room...hmmmm. Did not feel safe after that. Stained walls and carpet..... Found two electric outlets available for us to use. Disappointing visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybugtx76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    43
    45
    59
    69
See reviews for
136
26
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Keep driving to a better chain and location.

Reservations were made for us at this hotel (motel) by others in a group visiting Corpus and we assumed it would at least be a La Quinta with inside rooms (no exterior doors) and in a good location but it was neither. I was worried because most La Quinta hotels are OLD as dirt and this was no exception.

First, doors and windows open up to exterior walkways/parking lot which is extremely unsafe. Anyone has direct access to your door and can see in your room through the windows. Not recommended for families. When we arrived there were several workers staying at the motel enjoying their 12 packs at a picnic table below our room. Later several more brought their desk chairs out to drink and hang out on the 2nd floor walkway. Would not have stayed here without my firearm.
Second, location is an industrial area across from the oil refineries right next to a gas station and Denny's, which is about the only restaurant in the vicinity. Stay somewhere off 358 where there are plenty of stores and good restaurants.
Third, rooms have double doors connecting rooms which is not good if you do not wish to share rooms and have others try to open yours in the middle of the night. Ours had a king and a fold out couch (with a fitted sheet and no other linens) instead of a double bed for two adults and two kids.
Fourth, you hear much of the noises from outside and other rooms.
Fifth, shower head was way too short because it's an OLD motel.
Worst of all, I tested the smoke detectors and neither worked. Turns out that one electrical connection was disconnected at the wall (with no battery backup) and the other had the battery in backwards. Obvious attempts to smoke by previous occupants but why can't the staff ensure they are working during turn around of rooms? My next mention of this will be to the Corpus Christi fire inspectors.

Only positive and the one reason we didn't bolt is that the room did "seem" clean because it had relatively new paint, carpet, mattresses, and linens.
Breakfast wasn't bad but wasn't great. Two waffle makers, bananas, cereal, yogurt. Breakfast area/lobby was WAY too small.

Overall the hotel options were extremely limited in Corpus the week we were there. Either decent prices for bad motels ($125) or ridiculous prices for the better, nicer, safer hotels ($225) because most were fully booked.

Bottom line: Not safe, stay in another location in Corpus (off 358) and a better chain.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corpus Christi hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is one of the older La Quinta properties with doors that open to the exterior. It was a little on the pricey side, but in line with other similar properties in the area. The rooms have been renovated and are relatively nice. We were able to check in quickly and easily with the friendly front-desk staff and just stayed one night. In the morning, we skipped what looked like a pretty skimpy breakfast in the lobby (even by La Quinta standards) and walked to Denny's next door. Checkout was quick. The only issues that we had were a coffeemaker that was missing a part, and a VERY low shower head -- I'm 5'5" and had to bend my knees to get under it. We told the manager about the coffee maker on the way out, so that should be fixed! Can't do anything about the shower though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The2McDoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Everything was perfect. Especially the price of the suite. Loved that it was 10 mts from the beach. Had a great summer family vacation. The only thing I didnt like was the pool. Its ok but it was dirty. It looked like mucus was accumulating in the corners and my children would be grossed out. I was disgusted myself. Thats the only thing that was wrong for me.
Thanks, Liz

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Need queen beds on suites, because sometimes there could be big people that are on vacations and for a room like a suite needs to have more comftable beds luke the queen beds and of course at the same price. And talking about the breakfast more time like about 7-10 in the morning, because when you are on vacations you want more time to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed from 5/19/2013 till 5/21/2013 and the gentleman who posted below me is mistaken, at least about the pool. Me and my 5 year old son were in the pool at least two times a day. I didn't smell or see anyone smoking drugs. The staff greeted and had my room ready early. We arrived at about 2:30 pm. The staff gave us coupons for the USS Lexington, and well as a coupon for 20% off at Denny's. Yes it is an older motel, but looks to have been updated recently. Casey and Rosa were awesome at the front desk, and always friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank kychara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Chr...
#48 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Airpo...
#46 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Corpus Christi
Super 8 Corpus Christi
#64 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#40 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi Airport
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Ch...
#23 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Northwest Corpus Christi Inn & Suites
Best Western Northwest Corpus Ch...
#25 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Corpus Christi North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Corpus Christi North

Property: La Quinta Inn Corpus Christi North
Address: 5155 I-37 North, Corpus Christi, TX 78408-2614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Corpus Christi North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn Corpus Christi North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Motor Inn North Hotel Corpus Christi
La Quinta Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing