We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here unless you pay for one of the upgraded rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Corpus Christi Bayfront
Ranked #55 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Slaton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here unless you pay for one of the upgraded rooms.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We got in at 7:30pm, waited 20 min to be checked in. We had paid for and reserved a king value suite. Girl at the front desk said well we are out of that room so you can get the double queen for the same price or pay and upgrade. Well then what is the point of a reservation??? We settle for the double queen (come to find out later there were some kings available she was just to lazy to look), find roaches in the bathroom and random long dark hairs all over the bathroom. The floor in the entire room was tile, and the ac was a loud window unit. The decor was from the 80s. We saw some of the other rooms when doors were open, and they were obviously the upgraded rooms, because they at least looked like motel 6 grade or better. We went out on Friday night, came back to the parking garage (which we paid to park in), and could not find a spot. We counted 15 vehicles that were double parked and even more that did not have a hotel issued parking pass. Seems like anyone visiting the bay/bars in the area park there. We went in and complained to hotel staff and they said well someone will go through later and tow. Didn't help us then. We finally parked in a spot below ground level that I'm pretty sure was employee parking. All in all, the bad experiences we encountered were not enough to make the prime location worth it. There were plenty other hotels we could have and should have chose.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slothom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    39
    33
    53
    124
See reviews for
141
54
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I booked a two night stay through priceline here for $42 a night before I read the reviews. Due to the fact I had a conference to attend last minute , I gave it a shot. In reference to the other reviews that I read I partially agree & disagree.
Yes, the elevators and halls were warm. However, the temperature set in my room was at 65. Since I had no cooling problems in my room this was good for me. Yes, there was a smell in the elevator. However, it didn't smell like mold but just like an old building.
The lobby area was beautiful as well as all the doors. They did a good job making that part look good. The breakfast consisted of bagels , ceral, OJ, coffee , & milk. Not great but something to grab on the run. Although they had a coffee shop downstairs to make up for no coffee pot in the room you had to pay for it & was overpriced. Coffee and a muffin almost $8. After purchasing my coffee I was told they had no creamer but some magically appeared by 7am.
I didn't receive my first mornings wake up call as requested. This subjected me to grabbing one of the rubber tasting bagels since I missed breakfast that was being provided at the conference I barely made it on time to. Although I could see that they had renovated some rooms. Many of the rooms were open. You could tell they were just trying to put the minimum facelift on it. I personally stayed in what they considered their medium level rooms. I had a nice view of nothing but rooftops and parking lots. The bed was not the most comfortable but not the worst either. After a long day it was good enough to sleep but I'm sure exhaustion played a part of this. The shower was hot & had great water pressure. However, the faucet was starting to come loose & the repainted tub had started to peel. Other than pieces falling apart. It was at least clean. Although I thought I might make it out without having to agree with other reviews commenting on roaches ... I cannot. The morning I was checking out ...they were checking in.
I guess as long as you have no food in your trash and are only looking for a place to sleep, it might be okay. I would not suggest this place for a family. Definitely not for one with small kids due to cracked pieces of tile, pointed edges on the bed, & like I stated before .. the shower knobs falling apart. I also wouldn't recommend this for a couple looking for a romantic getaway. However, if you get it on a really cheap deal and don't mind the overall appearance, are careful in the shower, don't leave food in your trash overnight for critter visitors, have your own alarm, aren't there for the rubber bagel breakfast, & JUST need a place to crash before a business meeting. You can survive. It's like camping indoors but with a window unit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Iambubblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corpus Christi hotels

Temple, TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The room rates were exceptionable, and the hotel was very conveniently located near the Conference Center… less than a mile away. The interior of the hotel was absolutely amazing, and somewhat breath taking. The room was very nice and had great accommodations, however the bathroom was yucky!!... moldy, small, only one washcloth provided and no ventilation. It just did not make sense why this great place had such a horrible bathroom.

The interior of the parking garage has a scary feel about it. Be sure to park at the top of the garage in the open top area for a better feeling of safety.

This being said, I would stay there again if I could get the same great rate that I got on this visit ($61.00 per night).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sour-Patch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I just returned from another stay at the Hotel Corpus Christi Bayfront. It's not a fancy hotel, but then I didn't want to pay a fancy price. It's affordable, clean, safe, and in a GREAT location. I love to walk to local restaurants and the marina - it's perfectly situated for that. The rooms are large (I had a bay view king suite with a microwave & refrigerator). Well worth the price, especially when compared to other local hotels. Breakfast is included. Again, nothing fancy, mostly just cereal and fresh pastries. They do have WiFi but it's only accessible on the 1st floor in the common areas, not in the rooms. I will definitely stay here again. This was my 3rd or 4th stay, visiting family and friends in the area. There isn't a fitness center or spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My son and I stayed at the Bayfront for a week while visiting family in Corpus. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Sylvia and the breakfast crew. We had a jr. suite and our room was clean and well taken care of. Got a great rate. Will go back again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adonicabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel is old and has a very moldy smell. The entire hotel was hot, as if they didn't want to turn on the air conditioner. There were roaches in our room on the microwave and in the rest rooms. There was no tolilet paper holder in the restroom and wall paper was peeling where some more roaches were coming out of. I awoke because there was huge roach crawling on my head. We switched room, but I couldn't sleep just thinking about that!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I will never stay at this place again nor recommend it to anyone.
AND we had to pay for parking at their hotel garage.
I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My company made reservations for me to have a room with a fridge. The Lobby appeared nice. BUT thats all. No AC in the Elevators and in the hallways. Its was smoldering in the elevators and the hallways!! The 1st room smelled like (gas) and the freezer in the fridge was so full of accumulated ice, there was no way to put anything in there. So. she gave me a second room. Not any better!!!. So we went for a 3rd room and twice I was no able to use my key card to get in the room. I was toting several pieces of luggage during all these transfers. I finally gave back the room cards and went across the street to the Holiday Inn. Wonderful place!!!!. My company spoke with the Manger the next day and she refused to issue a credit. Who ever owns this DUMP needs to fire the manger!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downt...
#15 of 80 in Corpus Christi
404 reviews
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#43 of 80 in Corpus Christi
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#8 of 80 in Corpus Christi
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#42 of 80 in Corpus Christi
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
2,900 reviews
4.9 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
#52 of 80 in Corpus Christi
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corpus Christi Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corpus Christi Bayfront

Property: Hotel Corpus Christi Bayfront
Address: 601 N Water St, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-2327
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Corpus Christi Bayfront 2*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Corpus Christi Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Corpus Christi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing