We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Del Sol
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel DeVille(Corpus Christi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Shell Inn Motel(Corpus Christi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regency Inn(Corpus Christi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel(Corpus Christi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
V Boutique Hotel(Corpus Christi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
82
50
28
24
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
50
28
24
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselaine's condosweek stayheated poolcoffee makerlexingtonbridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2005

In our three day stay at a rented condo owned by Elaine Roser at the Villa Del Sol we had a lovely time and found the accomodations very comfortable and clean. We had a wonderful view of the bay and we were very close to the U.S.S. Lexington and the Texas Aquarium Our 4 year old granddaughter came with us and had a great time at the beach and the pool. Thanks Elaine.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kammaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2005

This was our first trip to Corpus Christi. We made our reservations for an ocean side room. Room 3201. We were so excited checked in, grabbed our stuff and headed towards our room. The elevator was very slow and dangerous. The door closed on my wife and did not re-open. Approaching the room was a smell of ocean and urine. The ocean smell is acceptable because the hallways are only partially covered. Entering the room was a long narrow hallway. The only window was the sliding glass patio door with glass on each side. The room was very dark. Appliances and furniture were out-dated and broken. The couch was badly stained and the cushions were horrible. The bathroom was tiny, dirty and had stained towels. There was a large gap between the window and window frame.

We stayed less than 5 minutes and left. We had 2 children and an infant. There was no way you would want to lay or sit on any of the furniture. We went to the office and the manager did not hesitate to cancel and refund our money.

We crossed the big bridge and got a beautiful room at the Holiday Inn. It was so clean and nice. The beach was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed the indoor pool. The whole area seemed to be such a safer place to be.

A family would not want to be in the Villa Del Sol area after dark. We read other reviews and thought that some were over exagerating or being stuffy. It's just not a safe area. We visited the area during the day because we went to the Aquarium, Pier 99 and BlackBeard's (all great places and just a short drive from the Holiday Inn), we stopped at a wooden sign to take a picture and a drunk old man insisted on getting in the picture.

Their website is deceiving. It's a scary place.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank c4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2005

We booked a condo at Villa Del Sol through VRBO and were disappointed.
The main reason I wanted a condo was to save some on meals and cook in our room. The place was filthy, the stove did not work and we ended up not saving money at all. I had already purchased food to cook which had to be thrown out since there was no stove or oven.
The bunkbeds have mattresses that are like rocks, the bedroom mattress had broken springs that poked you all night and the mattress on the fold out sofa was about 1" thick and you could feel the bars through it. None of us rested very well. The bathroom shower did not work and the bathroom was very dirty. I had to spend the first two hours of my vacation cleaning the unit.
The pool area and grounds were very pretty and well maintained and the beach was ok. We traveled to other beaches most days because there were a lot of jelly fish at Villa's beach. It really is not convenient to most of the attractions as you have to get back on the interstate and cross the bridge to get anywhere and there was a lot of construction on the highways. That, of course, is not the responsiblity of Villa Del Sol. WE had a good vacation, but were not pleased at all with our choice of Villa Del Sol.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bagby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Corpus Christi, texas
11
Reviewed 28 June 2005

We stayed at Villa del Sol 15 years ago and re-visited this past weekend and found it to be as we saw it 15 years ago. It was great.

Will go again and would recommend it to our friends. It is walking distance from the beach, which is what we wanted.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed 24 June 2005

Stayed at Villa Del Sol in mid June, for 2 nights, had rented the condo through Rick/Ty Bennet (sub contractors) not the hotel itself apparently there are a lot of the rooms that are owned or managed independently at the hotel that the hotel has little control over. Our room was decorated very nicely, had room for 6, and a wonderful view of the bay, we could see the waves rolling in. It also had a full mini kitchen with all the necessary appliances and utensils, a full size refrigerator, coffee maker, stove, toaster, so you can stay there for an extended period of time or take little ones (I have teenagers) so we didn't use much of the kitchen stuff we mostly went out to eat. Because our room wasn't exactly managed by the hotel it wasn't cleaned by the maid service, there is a laundry on site, and you can ask the front desk for extra towels they will accomodate for that. The grounds are very nice, the pool clean, and you are given a key card to open the gate that connects the grounds directly to the beach, and the entry gate. It is very secure. Over all we had a nice stay however, next time I will book directly with the hotel, not with a middle man. I like having the room made up and fresh towels every day. I would stay there again. An absolute must when your in Corpus is to dine at Blackbeard's on the Beach it is just down a few blocks from the Lexington. They have the best food, and the atmosphere is great, we eat there every time we've gone for the past 10 years. Pier 99 is fun too.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews