We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need all around you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brownsville
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Brownsville
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Right off highway, walking distance to mall, at least 5 big name restaurants, very nice hotel inside and out. Well stocked hot breakfast, clean pool with a BBQ pit

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yearyinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I don't love staying here, but it is clean. Other similarly priced hotels in Brownsville are my pick for a two or three day stay. The rooms are always clean. The breakfast has a lot to choose from if you are not keen on the hot preparation for the day, which is usually so-so. The staff is pretty unresponsive when it comes to complaints or service issues. I have been given the key for an occupied room on one occasion. There was not mattress on the sofa bed on another occasion, which makes sitting on the sofa impossible (and it has been that way for 2 years). This is where my boss puts me up, so I put up with it, but it is not up to par with other Comfort Suites properties.

Room Tip: 201 has not mattress on the sofa bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beach_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This is the first time I've felt compelled to write a hotel review because I thought the Trip Advisor rating/ranking didn't live up to its billing. In this case the hotel definitely disappointed. First, we were assigned a room that was alreadying being used by somebody. Second, the hallways smelled. Third, the breakfast bar -- at 7 to 7:30 -- was by far the worst I've seen at a Comfort Suites. It had paltry selections (no fruit, no yogurt, no water for oatmeal, no cereal, no milk) and was unattended. (I will add that after I left, more than an hour later, my wife went down and told me that by then cereal and milk had been added, and there was an attendant by that time.) Fourth, the front desk was unhelpful when we called down for bedding for the sofabed, and we had to follow up by going down to the front desk ourselves to get what we needed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mid40smale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

This hotel has lots of potential, but its lack of good management is apparent. It is almost brand-new, but it already shows signs of decline. The two things I want most from a hotel when traveling for business--a good TV and a hot shower--were lacking. The remote for the TV was missing, and the guy at the front desk couldn't find one that worked. The water from the shower was lukewarm. I found several insect carcasses in my room and there was a huge separation in the grout on the shower surround. The equipment in the exercise room didn't work well. The owners of the hotel also sell gold items, so there were signs and banners advertising that they "buy and sell gold!" This detracted from the appearance of the hotel.

It's too bad, because this hotel could be excellent if it was managed better.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raoulduke101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Great staff great room. Speedy check inn. Restaurant in same parking lot "great location". Everything was great except hot breakfast to many people I'm line for 1 waffle maker. Eggs and sausage very low quality. Tasted like previously frozen. All in all guest room was great.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOTELGENIUS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I only visit Brownsville on business, and I have stayed at several other hotels in Brownsville, but this hotel is by far the best! From the begining of the stay the front desk staff (Yesenia) and ( Mike) always greet us with a smile.The rooms are always clean, and the rest of the staff is great, they have never hesitated to go out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. (Large rooms, large bathrooms large TV, and very dark, once the curtains are closed,(great for sleeping in) Thanks to all at the Comfort Suites in Brownsville, Tx. See you soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francodlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We were in the Valley for Work/& Leisure and our family was quite comfy here! The Front Desk, Housekeeping, everyone we encountered always had a Smile! Always Greeted us! After Reading the Reviews it wasnt hard to make a decision, and sure enough! Most' comfortable Beds!!...Big Rooms! Flat Screen was Awesome and very nice big bathroom! There was even a Sofasleeper which we didnt need but made it more homey with kids! Fridge/Micro top it and Free PC/Interent in the Lobby! Its near everything and Minutes away from South Padre Island! Sunrise Mall is a Hop away! Swimming Pool was great to for kids! Not Very Big but Good enough! Did I mention the Free breakfast and very often Free Dinner Buffet/and Drinks! Dont Pass this one up!...the only complaint I could have but I didnt let it trouble me, was that it can be a bit noisey' but turn up the AC and takes care of the noise which is from people in room above walking hard, or in hallway passing by! All the the Good stuff out weight's that thou!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brownsville hotels
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brownsville North
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brownsville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Brownsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Brownsville North
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Brownsville
Courtyard Brownsville
#4 of 28 in Brownsville
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
#9 of 28 in Brownsville
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brownsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brownsville

Address: 651 Sunrise Blvd, Brownsville, TX 78526-4384 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brownsville
#4 Business Hotel in Brownsville
Price Range: £69 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Brownsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Brownsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brownsville Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing