We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest Hotel”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Brownsville
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Finest Hotel”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hello,

I would first like to appologize to the management and staff of the Comfort Suites. I really do not know how you recieved a poor rating from me when I wrote a good review. I feel that your hotel is one of the finest in Texas. Your rooms are the cleanest I have seen in a long time. Your employees always greet everyone that walks through your door with a smile. You always feel welcome. Your the best. This is definately the place to stay. Thank You Comfort Suites.

Sincerely,
Gloria

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickHughes, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for the clarification, we appreciate you had preferred the Comfort Suites Brownsville as your home away from; we are committed to relentlessly provide superior customer service, we look forward to seeing you back soon. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff.

Rene D. Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    20
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
7
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Other hotels offered only smoking rooms, so we decided to give this hotel a try. That was a good decision! Location is great; it is quiet yet close to the Mall, downtown and to various eateries. The Texas Roadhoase is next door.
The staff was very friendly and helpful with tips for eating out, sightseeing etc. The room was clean and large with a comfortable sofa. They serve a good continental breakfast.
Tip: Mi Pueblito is a nice Mexican restaurant that is also close to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalmonEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect and only 25 mins from south padre. Customer service was great! Steve that works there is the man! The beds are very comfortable. Also there are tons of stores in the area but bring a bag because there are no plastic bags allowed in Brownsville.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

this was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. we stayed here for 3 nights when our grandma passed away the staff was friendly the rooms were clean, the pool was like paradise gym was clean, the washer and dryers hadn't been emptied so we couldn't wash but the clerk offered to wash or clothes breakfast was great with sweet workers I will Definatly stay here when we come back... home away from home!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 23svr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Conveniently located near 77, rooms are nice with ample space.

My Choice hotels membership was recognized at check-in and was also provided with a bottle of water and a granola bar at check-in. Staff is nice.

The comp breakfast has slim pickings. My only main complaint is that given the atmosphere (humid), common areas and room itself lack air circulation. General sense of mugginess throughout, especially on fourth floor where I stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtfresca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I reserved 3 rooms for one night on Saturday, June 22, 2013 for a family gathering in Brownsville, TX and the stay was great! I reserved 2 rooms with 2 queen size beds and one with a king size bed and all three were great. The hotel is right by the freeway very near the mall. They all had a microwave, a small fridge, sofa and chair. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and well stocked with bathroom items and bed linens. The beds were comfortable and we felt very secure in the area of the hotel. It is surrounded by lots of shopping and eating places. The free breakfast offered was good except for the coffee. My husband and I didn't like the taste of the one made for the breakfast and the one available at the room. Otherwise they had a good choice of items along with scrambled eggs and bacon. I went through Choice Privileges, ChoiceHotels.com and got the best rate compared to others. I would stay here again but just bring my own coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totoya_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
245 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here one night while on business. Not sure how old this hotel is, but is was very clean and seemed new. The staff was very friendly and helpful - there was a relatively small problem at check-in, which was remedied very quickly and with more apologies that necessary.

I was there on a Wednesday night - they had chicken wings and beer in the lobby - not sure if there is something every weeknight. It was pretty good.

The room was average sized for Comfort Suites - I had a King bed. the sitting area was average size, but very comfortable. Decent sized fridge and microwave. Bathroom was clean and everything in good, working order. Towels were at least average to plush.

Breakfast was ok, but nothing special on my morning. Coffee was not too my liking - sort of bitter tasting (and I'm not that picky).

Several restaurants within a few minutes drive.

Overall, if you are a loyal ChoiceHotels guest, you can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Request upper floor to avoid "walking above you noises"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brownsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Brownsville
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Brownsville
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
#6 of 25 in Brownsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brownsville North
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brownsville
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Brownsville
Courtyard Brownsville
#7 of 25 in Brownsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 651 Sunrise Blvd, Brownsville, TX 78526-4384
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Brownsville
#6 Family Hotel in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite hotel, 100% Non-Smoking, Wireless & Hard Wired Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Brownsville, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing