We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for those moonlit strolls..”

Ranked #5 of 28 things to do in Brownsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State park comprised of more than 1,055 acres offering a variety of outdoor recreation on its land and adjacent beaches of Del Mar and Boca Chica, including swimming, birding, camping, fishing and surfing.
Harlingen
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for those moonlit strolls..”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Love the unclaimed beach and the serene setting. great for a day on the beach without all of the croud and traffic. NOTE* You are alone so, play it safe and be aware of the tides and soft sand.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Abelglz713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    9
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Boca Chica is the alternative to SPI. Obviously there are pros and cons but you get a little more freedom at SPI at the expense of amenities. It's basically a beach you can drive on with no entrance fee. You can drive to the jetties and fish or you could camp out over night. It's nice if you don't mind providing everything for yourself.

Helpful?
5 Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buda, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Solitude”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My beautiful wife and I took a day trip from SPI to the Boca Chica beach area. One can see it from the south end of SPI, but the only access is through Brownsville, Tx., about 40 miles one way. Well worth the drive. I strongly suggest visiting during the week or just after the holidays when the kids are back in school. You will have the beach to yourself. The day we visited was the day after Labor Day. We saw the beach patrol a few minutes after we arrived, but it was the last person we saw until we left the beach and drove back up the highway to the border patrol checkpoint on Boca Choca Highway, an hour or so later. The trash barrels on the beach were overflowing from the weekend, but the beach itself was very clean. We will be back next trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Mikey143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Ne
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Shells”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We always take our company here to hunt shells to take home. It is a fun place, and few people around, so the beach is usually yours and few other locals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NVI_Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Remote and Primitive”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Reached by a 20 minute drive from Brownsville, the road ends at the beach. Little used, this is a great place if you want to be away from the crowds.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CtFreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boca Chica State Park also viewed

Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Boca Chica State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing