We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Brownsville
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Brownsville
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Relaxation Destination”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here over the weekend while doing a little weekend get away to South Padre. I booked it very reasonable on Priceline, but I saw the regular price as reasonable as well. The room was spotless, with quality linens. Their pillows are wonderful. I love the full kitchen although I rarely use more than Fridge or microwave. I know they have a nice complimentary breakfast but I was so comfortable, I got lazy and slept in. I love a quality hotel, I would rather pay a little more and stay with the brand I trust to be clean and comfortable.
The staff was friendly but I honestly did not interact much with them. I noticed they had an outdoor pool but did not explore much outside the room

Room Tip: It was off the main highway and only about 20 min to South Padre strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilinggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    33
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
7
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Clean, spacious room with sitting area and small kitchen area. Hot breakfast buffet offered different selections each day, but always had prepared oatmeal, make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, yogurt, fruit, muffins, bagels etc. There is also a nice happy hour/ light supper Monday through Thursdays. Pool was clean, although weather was not cooperative!
All employees encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoppyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed here four nights and found my room to be clean, comfortable and everything I needed. The complementary breakfast was decent as was the manager's happy hour food. I found the staff to be courteous, responsive and pleasant. There is a small gym with a couple of treadmills and exercise bikes. There is also a small swimming pool for those desperate to do some laps or cool off. While there is no business center, there is a computer with printer access for airline boarding passes etc. Finally, there is a complementary shuttle service that can take you to a large nearby shopping center (Target, TJ Max etc.) or local restaurants.

Room Tip: If you don't ask for a room near the only elevator, you could end up quite far from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosenberg, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I had been traveling for several months and not had this problem with any hotel until now. I use CLC (Corporate Lodging) for all my hotel stays. After confirming with phone calls and then in person at checkin, and even further with the desk clerk calling the Manager to verify, this Residence in called me 4 days and 3 cities later asking me for payment because there was a mixup! WHAT!
The Manager further explained that they thought CLC was the company I worked for and would need my Visa for payment. After some choice words and several phone calls from this Manager and telling them to call Corporate Lodging Co. I was offered points for being a gold member. Lost sleep, poor management, and lack of communication, but the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowood, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This is a reallly old hotel that has changed it's name. The building does not to justice the the Mariott brand. I will not be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paragkarania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

My husband and I met a couple of friends in Brownsville to go fishing and visit Progreso, Mex. I really like the floor plan and cleanliness of the room. I would recommend this hotel. I believe you get more than what you pay. The pool is very small though. The hot tub is outdoors.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Unlike some of the negative comments about this hotel, our stay was top-notch. Having just covered over 5000 miles travelling through the US, trust me, this is a hotel that offers excellent value. The breakfast selections are too numerous to mention, but above all, the hot choices are fresh and constantly replenished. I have never stayed in a place that offers complimentary dinner snacks, never mind including free beer and wine! You could make a meal of it (but why would you want to when there are so many great restaurants in the area
that are reasonable). The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. My only agreement with the other negative reviews is that the aircon is located right next to the bed, but again, I've experienced far noisier ones in my travels. Perhaps if you needed to stay for an extended period, you may come to find any of thiese places predictable and the food boring, but the same could be said for the fare in one's own home.
The hotel reception staff were all polite and most accomodating to any requests. Having paid the same or more at a number of similar hotels and gotten a whole lot less, I have to say, it's been the best stay so far in our trip across America. Kudos, Residence Inn!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsyfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brownsville
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Brownsville
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
#5 of 25 in Brownsville
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Brownsville
Courtyard Brownsville
#8 of 25 in Brownsville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,572 reviews
24.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,261 reviews
24.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Brownsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Brownsville

Property: Residence Inn Brownsville
Address: 3975 N Expressway, Brownsville, TX 78520-9391
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brownsville
#6 Business Hotel in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Brownsville 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Brownsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsville Residence Inn
Residence Inn Brownsville Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing