We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Least we felt safe” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Brownsville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Brownsville
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Brownsville
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Least we felt safe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Upon entering room... there was a funky smell. Everything seemed to be clean. The pillows were horrible. The beds were hard springs. The expressway noise was kind of bothersome. The pool is very small. Good luck getting in with all the huge families and their beach floaties. We paid $70+ tax... not even worth half the price if you ask me.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for the other side of the expressway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herheartsdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
11
7
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

the hotel rooms ok internet ok no place to walk for coffee or snacks need car did not honer the amt i had to pay on internet said $39.99 per night charged me over $60.00 per night said needed res # i did not have it they said could do nothing hotel feeling very cold no interaction with the staff had ok jet tub outside but as i said no place to buy anything it is at the far west end of brownsville i would advise you to look for another more friendly hotel this hotel as i said is at best cold & i do not mean the temp.

Room Tip: go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

When I first heard we would be stating in a Motel 6 I was not happy. However, with the suite we got, the room wasn't too bad. It was very standard. The bed was a bit uncomfortable, and the pillows were awful, but with a few modifications the room wasn't too bad. There was no breakfast, nor anything fancy, but the room wasn't bad. It just was.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sosmin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Small room, cleaner and better kept rooms. Not the most modern room but we stayed for a night. Only complaint on the room is that the sheets had cigarette holes and pillows were flat. Other complaint wasn't on the room but the loud customers and unsupervised kids. Overall it could've been worse!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sali80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

My hotel stay was just one night so I only spent like $45. The other hotels were almost twice as much and had I been staying longer than one night would have gone somewhere else. The room was a decent size, the bedding was scratchy and itchy, pretty sure I found someone else's hair in the restroom. The night attendant is more interested in putting on her makeup than helping you. Don't expext very much from this place. There is no shampoo, front desk doesn't have toothbrushes to offer you have to buy these from vending machines that will eat your dollars but not quarters. Also no complimentary breakfast of any kind, just coffee. Be glad you read this review because I found out about toiletries in the vending machine by coincidence. Also you will probably have to go to different floors to get what you need.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovettsville, Va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is the 6th winter we've stayed here but we are disappointed that they aren't doing a good job repairing and/or replacing worn out things and charge daily for internet.
The staff has always been friendly and helpful and they keep the rooms clean, even when construction workers stay here. The laundry room is clean and appliances work well. It's fun watching the different birds here and the water fowl on the resaca (large pond) behind the motel.
A disappointment, most of the owners of dogs staying here don't clean up after them.
We will return next winter, hopefully they will have finished renovating by then.
Elizabeth January 14, 2013. Arrived 2 weeks ago. Happy New Year!

Room Tip: Many folks come from Mexico for the shopping and many don't speak English. There are lots of act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milthomada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Nice and CLEAN kitchette with super clean refrigerator! Lots of lights....BIG bathroom. No toiletries in room...or hair dryer...or iron...but our room was super CLEAN. Pillows were kinda flat. I had an enjoyable stay. Grocery store down the street where I purchased food for lunch and breakfast. I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again....and next time I would bring an extra pillow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kr_satexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brownsville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Brownsville
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Brownsville
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 25 in Brownsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
#6 of 25 in Brownsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brownsville
1.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Brownsville
Magnuson Hotel Brownsville
#11 of 25 in Brownsville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Brownsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Brownsville

Property: Motel 6 Brownsville
Address: 2255 N Expressway, Brownsville, TX 78520-8852
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Brownsville 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Brownsville has Studio rooms that are fully furnished studios featuring a kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stove top, coffee maker, dishes, flatware and cooking utensils. WiFi available for a nominal fee. All rooms have a modern look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Brownsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Brownsville
Brownsville Motel Six
Brownsville Motel 6
Motel 6 Brownsville Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing