We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in Brownsville”
Review of Madeira

Madeira
Ranked #6 of 362 Restaurants in Brownsville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Brownsville”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

What a treat! Great food and atmosphere. Our waiter was knowledgeable and very personable. Architecturally appealing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank DeWit58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    10
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wrap up visit to RGV”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Great place good food. Fair price excellent service. Waiters look professional and knew what they were doing

Helpful?
3 Thank Elhomero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super expensive”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very nice place, great service but very expensive and hard to find, the appetizers we ordered weren't that great and were over priced as well as the drinks we had. Nice place but prices are too high for the quality they're serving.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank SPS35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
“Sophisticated First Class Restaurant”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were in Brownsville on business for a few days and on the last day wanted a different cuisine from traditional Mexican food. We located Madeira on Tripadvisor. It was Monday evening and they were busy, but fit 6 of us in. When we arrived, we were greeted enthusiastically. The atmosphere was warm, very sophisticated, and welcoming. If you have been coming to Brownsville on business for many years, you will be pleasantly surprised. Our server, Roberto, was knowledgeable, helpful, and got everything just right. For appetizers, our group had oysters rockefeller, amazing ceviche (3 different recipes), and bisque. For entrees, we had beef filet (3 different delicious recipes), halibut, and chicken breast stuffed with wild rice, ricotta cheese and spinach. The wine list was lengthy and featured Spanish wines from different regions of Spain. It was a great wine list and many not expensive. You can do some serious celebrating here if the occasion calls for it. All in all, Madeira is really a great restaurant. Although I like the simple Mexican restaurants in Brownsville, this restaurant is a must to eat here when in Brownsville. The dinner we had at Madeira was fun, comfortable, elegant, and delicious. We really enjoyed everything about the restaurant. I think you will too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank rwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice hidden gem”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We found this place through TripAdvisor and confirm good reviews about Madeira. The restaurant is somewhat difficult to find, but with help of my GPS we located it ok.

Food was great. We loved the salmon tartar and a steak. Portions are moderate, service very nice. We had a table outside, which was very nice.

Over all a nice place for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DonK1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madeira also viewed

Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing