We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Find”
Review of Sasi's Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Sasi's Thai Restaurant
Restaurant details
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Welcome Find”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and I were not impressed with the dining scene in Brownsville during our last visit, so when I found that a Thai restaurant had opened since then we decided to give it a try. We were very glad that we did. Service was prompt and friendly, prices were quite reasonable, portions are substantial, and the food was most enjoyable. My only real criticism is that many of the entrees do no come with rice; you have to pay extra for that, which is something I have never encountered in a Thai restaurant before. The menu is somewhat limited, but we had a long chat with the owner, and he is hoping to expand the resources in the kitchen. Not strong on atmosphere, but with such good food at affordable prices, we were very happy with Sasi's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just What We Needed”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Sasi's is a great restaurant with excellent service and pleasant ownership! While I've already chosen what my favorite plate is (noodle soup), everybody I take there orders something else and they always walk away impressed. The ingredients are fresh and the choices are vast. Keep up the great work!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andres D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I ate here a few times last year when Sasi's first opened. Spring rolls are good but sometimes they run out after lunch so if you come for dinner they may be out by then. . I don't understand why they don't make more if it is such a popular item. The stuffed cucumber soup is really good.

The curries have good flavor but are a little watery and it seems they use frozen veggies?

I love thai food. This is average but the only game in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zz8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh, Authentic Thai - Who could ask for anything more?”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Sasi's is one of the best Thai restaurants I've experienced. Given that I'm from the Twin Cities area of Minnesota where there are many Southeast Asian restaurants, that's saying a lot. I found the food very fresh, carefully prepared, responsively served, and definitely authentic. Who could ask for anything more? Winter Texans can eat here assured of sanitary conditions and in control of the level of spiciness. Locals can eat here and be guaranteed authentic Southeast Asian cooking - unusual for Brownsville.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneSturdivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing Fourth time is the final one”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Vegetarians need to look elsewhere

Food is bland noodles And the. vegetables are overcooked
I tried four times and was hoping each time for even am average meal But certainly not thai, greasy and overcooked

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wificontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sasi's Thai Restaurant also viewed

Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing