We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tacos”

Taqueria El Ultimo Taco
Ranked #7 of 362 Restaurants in Brownsville
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Tacos”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

They have a variety of meats and the tacos are very good, although a little greasy. The charro beans are tasty. The place is small and always crowded.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Tx
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“To this Demitrio guy or whatever.”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

You are insulting yourself more than the restaurant. Everyone knows ultimo taco has been rated number 1 taco joint in Brownsville for a reason, simply because they are the best. And cockroahces? Really? HAHA! They always maintain a clean environment, warm food, clean restrooms which not even national food chains maintain those types of duties. And not to mention Ultimo Taco's quaint outdoor setting for those in the mood to sit down and enjoy looking at brownsville's beautiful palm trees and just to enjoy the outdoors. Fantastic tacos, phenomenal frijoles especiales, fresh lemonade made every day. I love ultimo taco and that is why I choose it as my favorite taco restaurant. You Demitrio, are just some scumbag probably trying to put down ultimo cause you obviously made your post just to amp up mr. taco which will never be better than ultimo

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyvanAtten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“To Demetrio A..”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

You were probably sent by the competitor ( Mr.Taco) you are totally wrong about trashing this place. There is a reason why this place won BEST TAQUIERIA two years in a row 2011 and 2012...at least put one negative thing at a time, not 10. By looking at your profile it seems was only created to trash the place. This place is packed at any time you go...and there has to be a reason for that...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank patty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,973 reviews
1,206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“Good tacos not great”
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Heavy high school hang out, tacos are tasty but small. Pretty much need a 10 count for lunch. Service is rather non existent, prices are cheap. Worth a stop as it's by far one of the better taco huts in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
“COCKROACHES AND HAIR ON MY FOOD, AND OVERCHARGED”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Aside that the order was cold as my refrigerator, the owner overcharged me by $25, after i told him it was wrong he got all defensive and started giving really bad service, then double charged my debit card, their is hair on food and cockroaches... go to Mr. taco instead... not recommended, he then went back all mad and charged me again $9, not $8.50 like the ticket said, so i guess he gave himself a .50 tip, money hungry and bad service is what you will get here

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Demetrio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taqueria El Ultimo Taco also viewed

Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taqueria El Ultimo Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing