We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value at $86+tax; joel is tops” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Brownsville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Brownsville
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“great value at $86+tax; joel is tops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

great value at government rate of $86+tax; free breakfast everyday; free dinner snacks tue-thrs; clean; very courteous and helpful staff; joel is tops; free shuttle from airport and surrounding area to restaurants, etc. close to mall with lots of shops and restaurants. stay on top floor on east side for quieter room. great air conditioning; window unit has normal noise. nice tv channel selection. k-mart, many restaurants within walking distance; HEB within driving distance

Room Tip: stay on top floor facing east for quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PULAOKHAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Staybridge Suites and thank you very much for the kind words. We definitely see our fair share of government travelers making their ways into the Brownsville area and knowing that you are away from home on business, we love trying to make it feel as homey as possible. Joel is our Ace and knows how just to get your mind off the rough day you may have had. Social hour is a great time to unwind and recharge yourself for the next day that's to come. We appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    32
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
12
1
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a great full service place - free food, free laundry, great suites, nice pool, nice staff. HEB supermarket a few mins drive away is great value and organic food. The only thing I would say is... Staybridge in a huge huge mall complex. So if you're there to soak up any Brownsville/S Texas culture don't stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay here with us. Our location typically does have guest leaving with mixed emotions. Some enjoy being close to all the shopping outlets and some don't. Some enjoy that it's much quieter being away from the expressway and some prefer being closer to expressway. Nonetheless we love to take pride in our service and we give it our all to make sure everyone has a great memorable experience. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to you visiting again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

we were staying for only two nights and things got off to a bad start. we had reserved a room with a king size bed, but were given a room with a queen size bed. additionally, no reason was given for this change and no rate adjustment was made until we complained. on the second night our room air conditioner stopped cycling and getting someone to hear our concerns didn't happen very easily. our stay was really horrible and we won't book here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwin725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your recent stay with us. We can understand how disappointing it can be to not be accommodated in the suite that was originally booked. This could have been handled much better and it is our job to make sure that every guest leaves satisfied. In this particular situation we did fail. If you can find it in you to give us another chance when and if you travel back to the area we would love to change your impression of us. Thank you for your feed back it is greatly appreciated and helps us to better improve ourselves so that we have more satisfied guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Staybridge is clean, convenient to everything in Brownsville and a quick drive to South Padre Island. Basketball court and pool are great backyard fun for my two sons. Mall is across the drive for the ladies and the staff are great for and to everyone. There are bit many places you can go and find such pleasant staff especially when faced with various challenges. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Brownsville not pay the high prices in SPI while this resource is a available!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DamionBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We are very much pleased to have South Padre Island in our backyard and enjoy accommodating summer travelers that come to visit the beautiful views of South Padre. We are grateful that many travelers choose to stay in Brownsville especially when they choose Staybridge Suites. We thank you for the kind words and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We made a reservation here due to their airport shuttle since we were here to meet our children coming in from DFW but no shuttle after 11PM which is not published.

In addition we had reserved a 2 bedroom both king size beds but were given one king and one 2 bed. The king bedroom toilet did not work so we had to use the one bathroom where the toilet dispenser was falling off the wall. The bathroom had one of the door hinges missing a pin thus the door will soon fall off. The insulation is very poor since you can hear ALL of your upstairs neighbors movements.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jupiter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Staybridge Suites of Brownsville for your accommodation needs. We are very sorry that your stay was not the best that it could be. We can sympathize on not getting the correct room type and aside from cleanliness being very important so is the condition of the guest suites. We hope that we can attract your attention on your next visit to the area so that you can see the improvements an second time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I chose Staybridge this time based on other Tripadvisor reccomendations and I fully agree that this is a great place to stay in Brownsville. The suites are nice, the staff is friendly, the breakfasts are good with a wide selection, and the evening happy hour is great. Once you know where the hotel is located (behind the shopping mall), it's very easy to get to from the freeway. I stayed for 5 night and it was starting to feel like home -- by the way, there is enough storage in the suite that a more extended stay would be very easily be feasible.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back behind the shopping mall. The first time you arrive, it may take a few minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We here at the Staybridge Suites are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and we thank you for sharing these kind words! We strive everyday to commit a high level of customer satisfaction and work hard to ensure all of our travelers/guest have a memorable experience. Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Other than half the washers out of service, our stay is going quite smoothly. Rooms are great, with a mini kitchen and a king bed in its own bedroom. We have two kids (11 and 7) and they can sleep in the pull out couch in the little living room. And Wi-Fi seems to be quick and glitch free, so far.

Love this place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangeshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brownsville
24.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Brownsville
23.0 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Brownsville
Courtyard Brownsville
#7 of 25 in Brownsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
23.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
24.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Brownsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Brownsville

Property: Staybridge Suites Brownsville
Address: 2900 Pablo Kisel Blvd, Brownsville, TX 78526-4293
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Brownsville 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites is a 100% non-smoking all-suite extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for temporary housing. Whether relocating to the area, on a project assignment or in town for training, the Staybridge Suites is Brownsville s ideal corporate housing. Our hotel is located in the Sunrise Commons shopping center, north of Matamoros, Mexico and east of South Padre Island Brownsville International Airport. As members of the Brownsville Chamber of Commerce and Convention and Visitor s Bureau, our hotel resides near the Matamoros International Bridge, Sunrise Mall, Gladys Porter Zoo, University of Texas Brownsville/ Texas Southmost College (UTB/ TSC) and South Padre Island. This property offers 3 suite types: studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom/two-bath. All suites are fully furnished; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, desk and ergonomic chair, 2-line telephone, voice mail, 40+ stations including HBO along with a DVD/ CD player, and free high-speed Internet access. The hotel amenities include a 24-hour convenience store, complimentary breakfast buffet and evening reception (Tues-Thurs), free newspaper, business center, fitness center, sports court, BBQ grills, outdoor pool, free guest laundry, and valet laundry available at a nominal fee. Must be at least 21 years old to check in. Complimentary airport shuttle provided Monday - Friday, 6 AM - 10 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Brownsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Brownsville Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing