We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Brownsville
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in king suite. My two small children (5&6) slept on the sofa bed. We chose this hotel for several reasons. 1) it was pet friendly 2) it had a pool 3) free hot breakfast. I called several times before arriving to ask questions & every time each employee was as kind as the next! In my opinion this hotel has by far the best employees. Their customer service was perfect! Not only the front desk, our housekeeper was beyond wonderful. Very friendly & kind! The only thing I can even slightly complain about was the comfort of our bed. After the third night my back did start to hurt but I believe that can be expected anytime someone stays away from home. The breakfast was great too, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, bacon, ham bagles, white & wheat toast, oatmeal, &cereal!! Yumm then endless milk/oj/ apple juice. I love the free Laundry room also! &it's atoms a lot of food places but not a busy hwy! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaAutry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We here at the Staybridge Suites of Brownsville can not thank you enough for this wonderful comment! We are extremely happy that your family, your pet, and yourself enjoyed your stay here with us! We are humbled and thankful for choosing us and can not wait for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Staybridge Suites Brownsville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We just completed a six night stay at this property and were pleasantly surprised at every turn. We were in town to visit relatives, and the hotel was so comfortable we ended up spending most of our time in our room and the common spaces. The property is clean and neat in all respects, but the standout feature was the staff.
Wally, the desk manager, and many other members of the staff went above and beyond on several occasions to help us feel at home.
I work online, so I always notice the speed of the internet. The service here was fast the reliable.
Our suite was immaculately clean. However, what really stood out was the overwhelming curtsy of the housekeeping staff. We had someone check on if we needed extra supplies over the weekend, which is not typical of Staybridge properties. In addition, as we walked through the halls, the housekeeping staff would great us with genuine warmth. I have stayed in many hotels, but I think this is the first time I have ever experienced this level of quality interaction with housekeeping. It truly does make you feel at home.
The food service was a cut above as well. Breakfast included at least two hot choices as well as oatmeal with lots of toppings, a range of cereals, juices, yogurt, and fruit. Food was kept hot and the supply was replenished throughout the service hours. The evening social hour was the first I have ever attended that actually felt social. This was due in large part to Joe, the host. The food, again, was very good, and my husband said the beer was outstanding. Joe welcomed guests as we entered, got to know people's names, prepared our drinks in frosty glasses, and waited on everyone as if we were honored guests in his home. This created an environment where guests lingered and enjoyed a truly relaxing social.
We used the backyard grills on several occasions, and the space was so inviting. Even on hot days, the evenings by the grill were delightful. On one occasion, the grill ran out of gas, and even though this is a free service, the hotel staff sent someone (I think his name was Mike) out to get us a new gas cylinder so we could finish grilling our meal. This was way beyond the call of duty, and we truly appreciated it!
When we had a minor maintenance issue, the hotel sent up Mike to help right away. While Mike was working on the problem, my husband mentioned that our daughter was very congested. I think it was a change in the weather, but Mike offered to check the furnace and got us a new filter. The next day, when we were out, the staff returned and vacuumed out the air conditioner coil to make sure that the air was a clean as it could be during our stay. Even though the outdoors still bothered her breathing, we had a haven in our room thanks to the extraordinary efforts of this hotel's staff.
I have stayed in several Brownsville and Harlingen area hotels in the last few years visiting my sister, and this one is in a class by itself. If you are in the Lower Valley, this is by far your best bet. The value is outstanding, but it feels like home in a way that hotels rarely do. I know I will be back, and perhaps I will see you at the evening social. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DocAnne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

All I can say is WOW! I am speechless and yet so very excited with our teams performance! Our team here has been trained and built to try everything possible to make sure we go above and beyond for each and every guest that comes and visits our home. This is such a wonderful review and we owe it all to our team for making your stay a very much memorable one! We know as a traveler you have many options to choose from for accommodation needs and we are very glad that you chose the Staybridge Suites of Brownsville. It's comments and reviews like this one that allows us to celebrate service and recognize the great job that this team has done on this occasion. We thank you for your review and hope you come and visit us once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

great value at government rate of $86+tax; free breakfast everyday; free dinner snacks tue-thrs; clean; very courteous and helpful staff; joel is tops; free shuttle from airport and surrounding area to restaurants, etc. close to mall with lots of shops and restaurants. stay on top floor on east side for quieter room. great air conditioning; window unit has normal noise. nice tv channel selection. k-mart, many restaurants within walking distance; HEB within driving distance

Room Tip: stay on top floor facing east for quieter room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PULAOKHAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for choosing Staybridge Suites and thank you very much for the kind words. We definitely see our fair share of government travelers making their ways into the Brownsville area and knowing that you are away from home on business, we love trying to make it feel as homey as possible. Joel is our Ace and knows how just to get your mind off the rough day you may have had. Social hour is a great time to unwind and recharge yourself for the next day that's to come. We appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a great full service place - free food, free laundry, great suites, nice pool, nice staff. HEB supermarket a few mins drive away is great value and organic food. The only thing I would say is... Staybridge in a huge huge mall complex. So if you're there to soak up any Brownsville/S Texas culture don't stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay here with us. Our location typically does have guest leaving with mixed emotions. Some enjoy being close to all the shopping outlets and some don't. Some enjoy that it's much quieter being away from the expressway and some prefer being closer to expressway. Nonetheless we love to take pride in our service and we give it our all to make sure everyone has a great memorable experience. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to you visiting again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

we were staying for only two nights and things got off to a bad start. we had reserved a room with a king size bed, but were given a room with a queen size bed. additionally, no reason was given for this change and no rate adjustment was made until we complained. on the second night our room air conditioner stopped cycling and getting someone to hear our concerns didn't happen very easily. our stay was really horrible and we won't book here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwin725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We are very sorry to hear about your recent stay with us. We can understand how disappointing it can be to not be accommodated in the suite that was originally booked. This could have been handled much better and it is our job to make sure that every guest leaves satisfied. In this particular situation we did fail. If you can find it in you to give us another chance when and if you travel back to the area we would love to change your impression of us. Thank you for your feed back it is greatly appreciated and helps us to better improve ourselves so that we have more satisfied guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Staybridge is clean, convenient to everything in Brownsville and a quick drive to South Padre Island. Basketball court and pool are great backyard fun for my two sons. Mall is across the drive for the ladies and the staff are great for and to everyone. There are bit many places you can go and find such pleasant staff especially when faced with various challenges. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Brownsville not pay the high prices in SPI while this resource is a available!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamionBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We are very much pleased to have South Padre Island in our backyard and enjoy accommodating summer travelers that come to visit the beautiful views of South Padre. We are grateful that many travelers choose to stay in Brownsville especially when they choose Staybridge Suites. We thank you for the kind words and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We made a reservation here due to their airport shuttle since we were here to meet our children coming in from DFW but no shuttle after 11PM which is not published.

In addition we had reserved a 2 bedroom both king size beds but were given one king and one 2 bed. The king bedroom toilet did not work so we had to use the one bathroom where the toilet dispenser was falling off the wall. The bathroom had one of the door hinges missing a pin thus the door will soon fall off. The insulation is very poor since you can hear ALL of your upstairs neighbors movements.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jupiter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2900StaybridgeSuites, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Brownsville, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Staybridge Suites of Brownsville for your accommodation needs. We are very sorry that your stay was not the best that it could be. We can sympathize on not getting the correct room type and aside from cleanliness being very important so is the condition of the guest suites. We hope that we can attract your attention on your next visit to the area so that you can see the improvements an second time around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brownsville
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Brownsville
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Brownsville
Courtyard Brownsville
#7 of 26 in Brownsville
76 reviews
22.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Brownsville
Residence Inn Brownsville
#4 of 26 in Brownsville
78 reviews
23.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Brownsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Brownsville

Address: 2900 Pablo Kisel Blvd, Brownsville, TX 78526-4293
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brownsville
Price Range: £68 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Brownsville 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites is a 100% non-smoking all-suite extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for temporary housing. Whether relocating to the area, on a project assignment or in town for training, the Staybridge Suites is Brownsville s ideal corporate housing. Our hotel is located in the Sunrise Commons shopping center, north of Matamoros, Mexico and east of South Padre Island Brownsville International Airport. As members of the Brownsville Chamber of Commerce and Convention and Visitor s Bureau, our hotel resides near the Matamoros International Bridge, Sunrise Mall, Gladys Porter Zoo, University of Texas Brownsville/ Texas Southmost College (UTB/ TSC) and South Padre Island. This property offers 3 suite types: studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom/two-bath. All suites are fully furnished; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, desk and ergonomic chair, 2-line telephone, voice mail, 40+ stations including HBO along with a DVD/ CD player, and free high-speed Internet access. The hotel amenities include a 24-hour convenience store, complimentary breakfast buffet and evening reception (Tues-Thurs), free newspaper, business center, fitness center, sports court, BBQ grills, outdoor pool, free guest laundry, and valet laundry available at a nominal fee. Must be at least 21 years old to check in. Complimentary airport shuttle provided Monday - Friday, 6 AM - 10 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Staybridge Suites Brownsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Brownsville Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing