We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Courtyard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Brownsville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Brownsville
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Brownsville
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Courtyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

All the usual Courtyard amenities, with an attentive staff.

I received a voucher for a free breakfast when I checked in, but I was never charged the mornings I ate downstairs.

The food I saw being served for dinner while having a drink looked like just your average bar fare, although the salsa with the happy hour snacks was excellent and made fresh. Unless your'e dead tired, it's worth it to head out to one of the nearby local restaurants for dinner. Unfortunately, none are within walking distance. There is a gas grill available for guest use on the patio by the pool.

For some reason the pool was closed, though it looked fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THOMAS P, Manager at Courtyard Brownsville, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear rtj17

Thank You for staying at Courtyard Marriott during your business travel to Brownsville, I understand you have a choice in hotels and I am glad you chose us for your lodging needs.
Thank for taking the time to review our hotel, every guest’s comments help us to improve our quality of service. I am glad to know that you found our staff to be attentive and that you enjoyed our homemade salsa during happy hour.
Our hotel is centrally located on the north side of Brownsville across the main expressway from several great restaurants and shopping centers and we do provide a complimentary shuttle to these locations.
I do regret that you did not have the opportunity to use our pool during your stay. We had it closed for preventive maintenance to ensure the quality and standards of the pool. I thank you for your patience with this matter and I hope that you visit us again when in Brownsville, Texas.

Best Regards,

Thomas P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    27
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
3
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolivar, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The courtyard in Brownsville is located across the interstate fromthe Sunrise Mall. THay are central to almost everything and 15 minutes from the airport. They provide a shuttle to the airport and as I understand it to virtually anywhere in Brownsville you need to go. This is a great service for family members staying at the hotel while their wife / husband is working. The restaurant on premises is quite good, and there are usually free appetizers in the bar at happy hour. All in all this property has covered all the major concerns of the business traveller. Nothing bad to say about this place. You can book here with confidence.

Room Tip: Rm 218 overlooks the pool with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VATraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stay in Marriott's all the time and this one had to be the worst one I have ever stayed at. I had a cold shower each morning, the toilet leaked and ran all day and night. The lobby is in desperate need of repair. I was there on business. I expected the same quality as all of the other Marriott's I have stayed in. Most certainly did not live up to Marriott's name.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank live4vacaNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is one of the best hotels i have stayed in at Brownsville. Helpful friendly helpful staff, clean, warm room, good location and good car parking. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Good standard Marriott courtyard with daily manager specials, full breakfast etc. Rooms are well appointed and the hotel has been maintained to a high standard. Small pool and hottub overlooked by the rooms near the elevator on the even numbers. These rooms also have small patios. No issues with this hotel - would stay again on business.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The bed is horrible – one of the most uncomfortable hotel beds I’ve been on. That said, the complimentary breakfast buffet that came with the room was delicious and the service was great. The buffet included eggs, waffles, oatmeal, juice and much more. It was a great pre-gym breakfast and when we found out that not only the buffet was complimentary, but so was access to Gold’s gym across the highway, I completely forgot about the bed. You have to plan on doing a workout at Gold’s – the cardio cinema provided a fun way to do cardio while watching a movie and there are plenty of free weights so you don’t end up waiting for others to finish before you can use them. After a great work-out, we went back to the hotel and looked around the property. There is actually a very comfortable living room area off the lobby and a workspace with computers adjacent to a peaceful covered patio overlooking the pool and hot tub. I appreciated that our room floorplan didn't allow you to see the bed from the door and I didn't have any issues with noise. Knowing there are relaxing public spaces, a sunny pool, free access to Gold’s and a delicious complimentary breakfast buffet in addition to a clean room, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again with or without the unfortunate mattress.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickstpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestville, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I was under the impression that Marriott properties would be a little nicer than this. The building and fixtures were fine in appearance, but a lot was lacking. Both of our queen beds had cheap and very thin mattresses. One had an extremely pronounced "divot" showing an extreme amount of wear. We both had sore backs after sleeping on these.
Near the gym/laundry/pool area, there was a strong gas smell; glad our rooms were on the other end.
The food available was fine and convenient, and the staff was friendly enough. There were computers and a printer available in the lounge/bar area, which was convenient.
I will not stay here if I return to the area.

Room Tip: Opposite end of building from laundry and workout room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1950Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brownsville
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
#6 of 25 in Brownsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Brownsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
24.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
24.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Brownsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Brownsville

Property: Courtyard Brownsville
Address: 3955 N Expressway, Brownsville, TX 78520-9391
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Brownsville 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our newly renovated Courtyard Brownsville hotel welcome you to the heart of the Rio Grande Valley. Perfect for business or leisure travel, our Brownsville, Texas hotel is located near UT Brownsville, Gladys Porter Zoo, Sunrise Mall and is a short drive from South Padre Island and Matamoros, Mexico. Businesses near our hotel include Delphi, Keppel AmFELS, Port of Brownsville and Homeland Security facilities. Getting around is easy with our free shuttle service within a 5 mile radius. Relax in your recently renovated guest room with luxurious Marriott bedding, microwave, mini-fridge and HDTV with premium channels. When traveling for business, our Brownsville, TX hotel will help keep you productive with free internet access and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Drop by our café for a hearty breakfast, stay fit in our Brownsville hotel fitness center or relax by our outdoor pool and patio/BBQ area. Planning an event? Our versatile Brownsville meeting space can host up to 60 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Brownsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Brownsville Hotel Brownsville
Brownsville Marriott
Brownsville Courtyard
Courtyard Brownsville Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing