We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serene and beautiful mountain cabin”
Hummingbird Cabin in spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hummingbird Cabin in spring
Full Kitchen Open Plan Living Space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Hummingbird Cabin in spring
Full Kitchen
Open Plan Living Space
Down Stream
Adobe Chapel Nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pecos, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie L
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Serene and beautiful mountain cabin”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Cabin was beautiful and furnishings were very warm and inviting. Excellent fishing at the bottom of a well maintained grassy yard with multiple flower gardens and a deck with a gazebo, gas grill and a fire pit. Beautiful mountain surroundings only 1 1/2 hours from Albuquerque. Very quiet except for the restful sound of the running river and the breeze in the pine trees.

I will return often.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: gnats
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni W
1 review
“MAGICAL !”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent Labor Day weekend at this paradise. Though the town of Pecos itself was crowded, we had our own little private oasis that truly was paradise.

Laying in the hammock and listening to the river flow during the day was our favorite thing.

The cabin itself is lovely and has everything you need. It's quiet, clean and peaceful.

Thank you Joe & Barbara for creating this wonderful place, we will come back time and time again to enjoy this paradise!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modean09
Austin, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You won't want to leave.”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I booked the Hummingbird Cabin for a four-night stay to show my boyfriend the magical place where I spent many of my summers as a kid at summer camp: the Pecos River Canyon. I booked based on reviews, river frontage, and location (the cabin is about a mile away from my old camp), and I will book again for a million more reasons!

The photos of the cabin don't even quite do it justice. The moment we arrived, we were so impressed with everything about it. The cabin was spotless. The decor was tasteful and simple (lots of cool Oaxacan art, nature photography, and other interesting touches), the furnishings clean and comfortable (no old, musty couches with suspicious stains or dingy-looking bedding here), and the layout cozy and inviting. Even the kitchen cabinets were organized so intuitively, so everything was right where you'd naturally look first. (Also, heads up: the cabin is stocked with spices, sugar, vinegar and oil, etc.--even high-altitude flour! You don't need to worry about bringing non-perishable basics with you.)

The landscaping was immaculate--as my yardwork- and gardening-obsessed boyfriend said, "There's not even a stray leaf anywhere." Joe and Barbara chose all the right spots to create places to sit and enjoy the scenery, which was spectacular--the Pecos River is right behind the cabin, its rushing water audible from the bedroom at night if you leave the windows open. Even the rock-paved driveway and parking area were perfectly maintained and laid out. That sounds like a weird thing to notice, but it's a great example of how no detail is overlooked here.

Joe and Barbara live in the house next door, but the cabin is situated such that it feels completely private and separated. They are friendly and available for any needs or questions but also very respectful of your space--the perfect hosts. They were extremely kind and responsive to questions ahead of our booking too.

The cabin is conveniently located for lots of great hiking (we left some suggestions in the guest book!) and only about 10-15 minutes from Pecos if you need provisions, green chile enchiladas, or cell service (there's none in the canyon, though the cabin does have a land line where people can reach you).

We loved sitting by the firepit at night to make s'mores and stargaze (the stars are seriously unreal here), and we enjoyed slow, leisurely mornings having breakfast in the gazebo and watching the hummingbirds buzz around the feeders on the porch. This was a wonderful place to return home to at the end of a long hike or a day exploring the area. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail is obvious everywhere.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and scenery.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
billjtx
Missouri City, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Setting, Great Fishing, Best accomodations we have experienced”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This cabin and the setting on the Pecos River is beautiful and a true wonder to experience.
The hummingbirds were there in numbers and variety. The cabin itself is comfortably furnished, well decorated, and very professionally kept. All the appliances, BBQ, Gazebo and even the hammock by the river were in excellent condition. I caught both Rainbow and Brown trout right in front of the lovely landscaped lawn down by the bank. We have stayed in cabins and B & B's from Texas to Washington State and as far East as the Smokey's, and this was the best. Our thanks to Joe and Barbara for sharing their wilderness place and it's hummingbirds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beutiful setting along with landscaped Pecos River
Liked least: Long drive to go out for dinner--we stayed and enjoyed our home cooked meals
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My wife caught more fish than me.
Liked least: Have nothing to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing