We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Petersburg
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Bracey, Virginia
1 review
“Run down and out”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff was outstanding. The manager was rude when his assistance was requested. The motel needs a few face lifts. I stayed for a week ad would have stayed longer but things were rapidly going down hill.

Room Tip: Find another motel - a few extra bucks goes a long way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinewmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay V, General Manager at Comfort Inn Petersburg, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel. I wanted to make sure and let you know that we are constantly trying to improve both the quality of the amenities, as well as the service we provide. We have gone through numerous and recent renovations including, new flat screen televisions, new bathroom vanities, new bedding, and the installation of an elevator. Our goal is to continue to renovate and improve the overall guest experience. I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to experience the changes that we will continue to make.


Sincerely,
Sanjay Vaswani
General Manager
Comfort Inn Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    42
    37
    20
    20
See reviews for
59
38
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel back in May on our way to visit family in North Carolina. Honestly, we were a little hesitant after reading some of the reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was fairly clean and in pretty good shape. Allen checked us in, and he was very friendly and accommodating. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windowrepair85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edisto Island, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our group stayed here overnight on May 25,2014. Apparently they do not have a cleaning staff or maintenance people. There was mildew in the tub, the water faucet in the sink would not turn off,the room had not been dusted in a long time and the floor needed to be vacuumed. We did not get a non smoking room like we had booked and were told they did not any other rooms available. One of the ladies in our group, had a room that the air conditioner didn't work and reeked of smoke. The front lobby had not been mopped in a while. There was only one person working in the evening so she could not leave the front desk to take care of anything. We did not feel safe with only one person on duty. When I talk with the manager the next morning about all the issues he did not seem to care. DO NOT waste your money on this disgusting hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 409Wolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay V, General Manager at Comfort Inn Petersburg, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Due to the number of reservations during that weekend, our staff was under a lot of pressure to provide our standard exceptional service, while still catering to all of the needs of our guests. I would like to apologize that our hotel was not able to meet the requirements and expectations of your group. If you would be kind enough to allow us another opportunity to serve your needs, We would be honored to demonstrate our commitment to the satisfaction of our guests.


Sincerely,
Sanjay Vaswani
General Manager
Comfort Inn Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

As usual on our road trip to florida from the north east we did not make reservations ahead of time for our overnight stop. We just never know how far we are going to get. As in other years this became an issue when we were ready to stop as there were no rooms at the hotels of choice I had researched on trip advisor prior to our trip. We ended up at the Comfort Inn and I went in very apprehensive. To my pleasant surprise the gentleman at the desk was super nice, funny and welcoming. He had us in a room within minutes.
The room was not glamorous but it was clean - and for this kind of overnight stay that is all that matters to me. Breakfast had the basics...again nothing fancy.
Bottom line - if you are in a pinch this place does the trick! and it was a great price!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindacof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a great experience during our time at this hotel. The staff was great and very helpful. They had great recommendation for local attractions. The rooms were pretty clean. Great location with easy access to I-95. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenland, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Pet friendly; good continental breakfast. While it has an excellent location right off I-95, the place is a bit run down; the room we had was cramped, and at the end of a very long hall next to one of the exterior doors which was very active and noisy late into the night. The staff was very good, but that wasn't enough to offset the annoyances of a simple night's stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We checked into this hotel in the middle of the night and stayed for less than 10 minutes. My husband was searching for a plug when he found a roach on the side of the couch. Luckily we did not open any of our bags and we got the heck out of there. It's a cheaper rate but not worth it if there are roaches. I took a picture and showed it to the guy at the desk. He refunded our money but it's going to take days for it to be released back onto my card. I had to pay for another place further down the road. It sucks! If you stay here check for bugs and make sure it's clean!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank puttsey1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay V, General Manager at Comfort Inn Petersburg, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
I wanted to start by apologizing for the experience that you had at our hotel.
Your concerns have been addressed with our entire staff.

Please be advised that we are looking into your concerns, and we will take any corrective action that is needed.

I also wanted to emphasize that your experience is not common or routine at our hotel. We strive to make sure that we provide the utmost in customer service, quality of amenities, and cleanliness.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and I hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to our guests' satisfaction.


Sincerely,
Sanjay Vaswani
General Manager
Comfort Inn Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 18 in Petersburg
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Petersburg

Property: Comfort Inn Petersburg
Address: 12001 S Crater Rd, Petersburg, VA 23805-7400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Petersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn, a Petersburg hotel minutes from Virginia State University. Perfectly located off Interstate 95, the Comfort Inn® hotel is just 10 miles from Virginia State University and 15 miles from Virginia Motorsports Park. This Petersburg hotel is less than 13 miles from the National Museum of the Civil War Soldier and Pamplin Historical Park, recognized as one of America's premier historical attractions and one of the most innovative Civil War history parks in the country. The famous Petersburg National Battlefield is also nearby. Several specialty shops, restaurants and cocktail lounges are in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Petersburg Hotel Petersburg
Petersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing