We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little help needed here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
275 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A little help needed here”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were looking for a change, but this was not what we were expecting. While going to our rooms we had the distinct odor of smoke. I though I would mention it on our way out for dinner, but I was told the smoke must of come out of one of the rooms where smoking is allowed. Hey, keep the smokers on one floor. Breakfast in the morning was a challenge with just one person trying to keep the food available for the guests. There were a lot of army persons there and they were eating to be able to get to there training, that's fine. However, the one person working the breakfast seemed to be overwhelmed by the demand for different foods that were being consumed faster then she could put out more. Perhaps another person to help out, or changing the layout of the breakfast would help. Take a look at other Hampton Inn's and see what they have done to improve your services and layout.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking floor, if they have such a floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norbert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager23805, General Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee, responded to this review, 16 June 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments areessential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    134
    64
    28
    14
See reviews for
164
179
38
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

As a person that travels every week and have a diamond tier with Hilton, this hotel is NOT a hilton standards hotel. It did have two cockroaches in the bathroom alive and one dirty towel that didn't belong to me, besides a used shampoo bottle. The front desk kid and the manager did not care for this incidents and the room didn't get clean. Absolutely will not recommend to no one.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager23805, General Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear, Madam

We apologize for the very unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. Our guests’ health and safety is very important to us and is always a focal point of our property operations. Due to the inconvenience I have honor the 100 percent for one of the night Guest will see the credit back to your account in three to five business days. Once again I am truly sorry for the inconvenience and We appreciate that you brought this to our attention and are working to make sure the problem is addressed.

Thank you,
Divyesh Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We showed up without a reservation at 9 Pm on a Saturday. We were greeted politely, the man at the desk was friendly and helpful. We got the last smoking room with a king bed, it was actually a suite, with a whirlpool tub in the bathroom. The room was spacious, and pleasant. The whirlpool tub was wonderful. We had no problems with housekeeping, and the hotel was clean and well kept. The breakfast was lacking a bit, We were wondering if we just showed up at the wrong time, since they were out of just about everything, and a lot of people were standing around waiting for food. The bacon was greasy and the toaster was very slow and not very efficient. The woman at the desk was very nice and efficient when we went to leave. I would stay here again if passing through the area. (After reading other reviews, I would also like to add that if you drive down Rt. 301 a few miles there were several restaurants, including a really fantastic Mexican restaurant right next to the Taco Bell.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edisoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for one night for a baseball tournament. Upon checking in, the front desk guy could barely speak/understand English to get us checked in quickly and efficiently. Gave him my credit card and drivers license and in the morning when we looked at our bill, there were no charges. Even after explaining that someone else had booked our room for us but I was paying, he still charged them for our room. When I went down to handle the situation, I was met by a rude front desk lady. I have to say that the front desk was lacking in professionalism and friendliness throughout our stay. When I asked the evening person where was a good place to order pizza, I feel like I barely received a grunt and was given two menus and told, "I don't know, I guess it's whatever you like". Ok, fair enough but maybe a little more friendliness.

Our room...the rooms are tiny, the air conditioning made a horrible noise all night long, the beds were horrible, the comforters do not stay on the bed because they are slick on the backside, so all night my husband and I were constantly re-adjusting the comforter and picking it up off of the floor. I don't even walk bare foot in hotels let alone wanting to be covered by something that has been on the floor! As far as cleanliness, it was fair. I didn't see anything in particular that I can mention. In the morning, the cleaning ladies are loudly banging on doors and saying very loudly, "HOUSEKEEPING".

Definitely have had MUCH better stays at other hotels lately. Very disappointed in this stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_rogers614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager23805, General Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I appreciate the review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service. I have addressed these issues with our staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience a hopefully improved level of customer service. Thank you once again for your comments. If you have any further question please feel free to contact me to 804-732-1400.

Thank you,
Divyesh Patel
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

While it is a clean hotel and seems to be well-kept, it has nothing around. No decent food, nothing... Just dropped out in the middle of nothingness.The staff was very helpful however and were engaged with their roles.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Yorkielover2-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager23805, General Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee, responded to this review, 16 June 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments areessential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronkonkoma, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Rooms were great! Very clean. Everything seemed clean and new. Staff was polite. The breakfast was good too. A little pricey but definitely the best hotel in the area- by far! We have to be in the area again next month and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Hotel is well maintained , location is good. Front desk Manager on duty is very well informed about nearby places for Dinner. Sophia Lindo is a very good Manager and extremely Pleasant. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank LiveFree008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 18 in Petersburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee

Property: Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
Address: 11909 S Crater Rd, Petersburg, VA 23805-7409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiet outskirts of town, Hampton Inn Petersburg-Ft. Lee is located 6 miles south of Petersburg, conveniently positioned within easy access to I-95, I-85, and 295. We are within minutes of the historical downtown district! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee Hotel Petersburg
Petersburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing