We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Clean and very nice place. The Staff was very friendly and good varity at breakfast in morning. Rooms are also very good size and has a very pleasent environment. Has a nice outside pool to relax and have good time. The Hotel is almost right of 85 freeway with 24hrs Waffle House beside it to help you to take care of your appetite even at midnight.

Room Tip: Very nicely decoratetive and clean place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jms_ltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWDVA, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction at our property! We hope you choose to stay with us in the future. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    22
    9
    6
    9
See reviews for
19
13
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here on our way home from Myrtle Beach,we chose it because we wanted somewhere close to Petersburg VA Civil War sites,we were very pleased.The hotel has had a recent renovation and seems like a new hotel.The staff were very friendly and always had smiles on their faces that made us feel very welcome.The breakfast had enough choices that you could find something you like to eat.Very quiet and close to historical sites and highways.We plan on visiting Petersburg again and would stay here again,very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWDVA, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We recently stayed here for one night on our way to Ft. Lee . Very close to Ft Lee which was a plus, the complimentary breakfast could be better. I think Holiday Inn Expresses have the same breakfast items , so thats not a surprise. The room was clean. Overall it was ok and I would stay there again. (P.S -- do not eat at the Waffle House beside of the Holiday Inn Express--yuk~!)

Room Tip: skip eating at the waffle house beside the hotel its not clean and the food wasnt good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWDVA, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

I travel every week with my job. So needless to say im no stranger to living out of a suitcase in and out of hotels. So out of all the hotel I visit it takes alot for a hotel to really stand out for me to sat down and write a review. I strongly suggest that you stay here if you have a chance while in Pettersburg va. The owner Mr Patel has done and is continuing to do alot of remodeling, and I can not speak enough about the staff. Great people that really make you feel at home away from home. On weds night they have started doing a reception that is great, it's a work in progress but during my stay it was getting better each time. Be sure to ask for Ms Tina at the front desk if you have any issues. Shes a great manager that knows how to keep a smile on your face. Thank you all at the Holiday inn express for a great 3 weeks. We will see you again soon. AJ S

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajshaw_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEDINWIDDIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you so much Mr. Shaw for your compliments. It makes us here at the Holiday Inn Express feel proud to know that all our hard work and efforts are noticed. Until your next visit with us we will continue to make improvements as well as work on our Manager's Reception to make it even more pleasurable for you and our guest on many more events to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Driving from Daytona Beach can be tiring, and a good night sleep can rejuvenate for the next day's long hall to Canada. As a Snowbird, we are always looking for a clean, quiet, restful place on the way to our winter destinations or to our return to the north. This Holiday Inn in Petersburg Virginia was that and more. If you are looking for a good nights sleep, this meets the criteria of the most discerning traveler. Warm pool was a welcome addition to our stop. The room was "Spic and Span", staff was fantastic and breakfast was basic but filling. We even had a AAA/CAA discout well below the advertised price. We recommend this Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the South Side are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Citizenbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEDINWIDDIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
We are so happy to hear how pleased you were during your recent stay with us. We do our best to provide all of our guest with the most memorable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a standard per diem area for government workers. Beware of this as staff tells you a much higher government rate (and is listed as government at this inflated rate on their website). I am from Dinwiddie but do not like personally eating the over charge since government rate is not honored. Per Diem hotels are available not far away in Petersburg. Beds are also showing their wear and you could hear the springs moving in the mattress.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingHokie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear TravelingHokie83,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the government per diem rate and the the bed condition. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill
Level Contributor
424 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

They are the only game in town and charge what they can. I have stayed twice and have noticed that they do not have many guests. The lobby is new and attractive. The staff is friendlier than it was two years ago. The room was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courthouse067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEDINWIDDIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Sir, at all times we try to remain price conscious of you our guest at the same time we are always implementing new things to make our guest stay even more pleasurable than the last. We welcome your thoughts and ideas are wanting to assure you that our pricing is always decided with you the guest in mind as well as hotel improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
5.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
Address: 5679 Boydton Plank Rd, Petersburg, VA 23803-8945
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel. The newly rennovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites has a great deal to offer when you arrive at the hotel. Hotel is located a short distance from Virginia Motorsports Park, Virginia State University, Chapparal Steel, Inland Paper, Boar's Head, Walmart distribution center, and Fort Lee base. Only seconds away for your shopping and dining, Southpark Mall. With sixty-seven (67) pleasant interior corridor rooms. The rooms feature guestroom types of king suites with sofa-bed, two double beds and Presidential Suites. Each room includes 27-inch color TV with cable stations including three HBO channels, ESPN, ESPN2, DISNEY and more. All rooms are equipped with micro-fridge, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, alarm clocks, hairdryer. Other amazing amenities and services offered at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites are a beautiful seasonal pool, hallmark featured continental breakfast, and many other conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Petersburg
Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing