We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The windows!!”

Blandford Church and Cemetery
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Montana City, Montana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The windows!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The church is a must-see as part of any tour of Petersburg. First, the staff is very friendly and informative. You must start at the visitors center and the informative staff stakes you on a tour to explain the significance of the window. They are absolutely stunning, having been recently restored and cleaned. W walked a bit through the cemetery which is also interesting. A person could spend a whole day just in the cemetery. Go here and relish the sight of the windows.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah153478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    27
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
664 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Tiffany's Masterpieces”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Tiffany stained glass windows at Blandford Church are not only beautiful but are filled with history. Representing the Confederate States, each window was paid for by the state represented in each with only Kentucky choosing not to participate. Regardless of the time of day, the windows will look spectacular in their colors that only Tiffany's glass can provide. A guide will accompany you into the sanctuary where no photos are allowed and will give you the history of the church and it's grounds. There is a fee to enter the church, but funds from this fee and the proceeds from the gift shop help in the preservation of this historic landmark. The cemetery is still a functioning burial site, but be sure to drive through the memorial arch to the Confederate portion of the grounds to view the beautiful monument as well as the markers representing the unknown soldiers from those Confederate states that fought at Petersburg.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SaintVitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Indiana
Level Contributor
536 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Surprise!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It was raining very hard our first day in Petersburg so we were looking for inside attractions. Blandford church was suggested by our host at the B&B we were staying at and wow, we were so glad she did. The church became a field hospital in the Civil War and then went into a state of disrepair. In 1901 the Ladies Memorial Association decided to take on the task of bringing the old church back to life. They commissioned the great stained glass master Louis Comfort Tiffany to design the windows. I could go on and on about the windows he designed but I will leave that up to your guide. We had a great guide who was very thorough and interesting. Our only disappointment was because of the rain he could not give his outside tour. One thing I will tell you about the Tiffany windows is that they were amazingly beautiful!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very well preserved church and cemetery”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Make sure to follow the tour road so as not to miss the civil war memorials. Tours are given most days of the church. Grounds are open daily dawn to dusk. A definite must see for history buffs!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hlclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best of Louis Comfort Tiffany's stained glass windows”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A dozen stained glass windows designed and installed by LCT. A great tour of a historical site on the corner of the battleground of the seige of Petersburg. You need not be into war history because the church tour is separate. A must see.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blandford Church and Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Blandford Church and Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing