We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Dependable HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Petersburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Had a great stay at this local Holiday Inn Express and have no reservations recommending anyone to stay here. The staff was courteous and my room was clean and quiet. The free breakfast is always a bonus and tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Well, where do I begin. Started out good, but soon discovered they gave us the wrong room. Maintenance was working on the appliances when we walked in. Back down 5 floors, get another room;once again, wrong. No jacuzzi suite. Back down for a third room. This one good. Go down to the pool area, key card wont work. No one at front desk; sign stating be back in a few short minutes. Had to flag down another resident to use their card. Hot tub and pool are great. No problems there. Back up to room;TV in either room not working. Talked to maid. None of the maids speak English. WTH??? Final straw, we checked out 4 hours after we got there and will def be asking for no charge for this absolutely awful time. Staff was pleasant but def overworked.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room was nice on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dixiecat314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sljonesharris, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Dixiecat314:

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. I do again apologize for the cable outage that we had immediately contacted Comcast which was a issue on their end. Again we do hope you come back to visit with us again and we look forward to your future visit.

Thank You,
Shaneika Jones-Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I would like to say I enjoyed my stay here the staff made my stay one of the best ever. They were very helpful,l just wanted to give Jennifer and vey special thanks, she always had a smile on her face and was willing to help you with a smile everyday, thank you Jennifer for you kindness ,and keep up the good work .this holiday Inn Express is a wonderful place to stay the staff is great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights on vacation in Petersburg. We did not realize we were getting a suite so we were pleasantly surprised by this. I like to read and cross-stitch at night while on vacation, but the light was too dim in the sitting room part of the suite for much of either. However, both the sitting room and bedroom boasted large flat-screened TVs. Our room was clean. It had both a microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast was wonderful! Both days there were eggs, sausage, biscuits, and sausage gravy, and the wonderful cinnamon buns Holiday Inn is famous for. We didn't need lunch! The only complaint I have is that there was not a separate sink in the room which would have been nice, only in the bathroom. Also, I don't know if they have some sort of sound-proofing, but it was a very quiet hotel, which I really appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umcrevwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Had many issues staying at this location. They charged me for a Reward Night, the lock was bad on my room door and they were out many food items at breakfast including the much coveted sticky buns. the pancake machine was broken as well. The staff was nice, but seemed overworked to me. Room was a little dated, but clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Could have been a fluke,but I would choose another hotel if I had to stay in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drumclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear drumclub,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The rates are satisfactory and the rooms were clean, but they had forgotten the soap for the rooms. When I went to the front desk I was told that there would only be one cake of soap would be allocated for each room. Let's see four adults and two children does not one cake of soap per room go very far. The breakfast was good, but the front desk folks also had to double up refilling the cereal dispenser, and the breads. Wonder if somebody called off or that's the way this pace is run. May have try another place on my next trip.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are on a floor with an ice machine. Our 4th floor did not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norbert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Norb K,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us. It is great to know you liked the breakfast you had. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had with the room amenities and the service you received. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the HI Express on our way from Maine to North Carolina. We were tired and eager to relax for our final night. We travel frequently and fell we hit the jackpot with this lovely hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was a delight! We were given a 1 bedroom suite which was very comfortable and large. It is two rooms and a nice sofa and chair in one room and the beds in another. The beds were clean and comfy. The refrigerator was a nice plus. The breakfast provided many choices, including a pancake machine, pre-made omelets, fresh fruit, good coffee and the typical cereals and pastries.

We feel it was a great value for all we enjoyed.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet. We always travel with a 3-way bulb, and I did use i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatC330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
196 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
517 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee

Address: 11979 S Crater Rd, Petersburg, VA 23805-7409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range: £72 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where contemporary hospitality meets thoughtful amenities, at the Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee. Located just off I-95 at exit 53 in Colonial Heights, we offer a convenient gateway to Petersburg, Hopewell, Prince George, Dinwiddie, Chester, as well as Fort Lee and Virginia State University. Surround yourself with a diverse range of attractions, from the thrills of Virginia Motorsports Park to the Petersburg National Battlefield and Pamplin Historical Park to the bargains at Southpark Mall. Even if you're in Petersburg/Colonial Heights to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors as well. Savor tasty grill favorites and delightful ambiance in the Mixing Bowl Restaurant, or dine in the privacy of your room. Enjoy the solitude of elegant rooms, featuring stylish décor and the comforts of home. Stay current and connected with high-speed Internet access. Stock your refrigerator with snacks, drinks, and easy-to-prepare meals. Polish up tomorrow's presentation at your spacious work desk with ergonomic chair. Hosting an event? Select from over 6,000 square feet of event space, including 5 elegantly appointed meeting rooms. Trust our on-site event planners to design a flawless catered event. We're here, ready with all you need to make your trip to the Tri-Cities a success. We're the new Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee Hotel Petersburg
Holiday Inn Petersburg
Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing