We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
432 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My experiences with the Holiday Inn brand have generally been consistent and good However, this one is a stunning exception. It started with the absent desk clerk, her difficulty in locating my prepaid reservation Add to that very slow Internet connection (measured a mere 1.95 mbps), a defective desk chair and a soggy mattress, As for the chair issue, the front desk clerk assured me that she would contact housekeeping in "...a couple of minutes..." 30 minutes later, I took the initiative myself. I would have expected better. And as of this writing, I have not yet checked out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfig218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear tfig218,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations and service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    52
    27
    27
    16
See reviews for
102
55
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The staff was friendly and welcoming. I needed to stay late and it was no problem. The place is clean, the rooms were comfortable and I have a good night sleep. The dining area is large and a light breakfast is available to start your day. The Internet worked without a problem. I have to download some information and it was quick. Most hotels, the Internet is slow. Left with a smile on my face.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here in route to South Carolina. Being very familiar with the HIE brand, this location was probably average for the chain. We checked in early to our two queen bed suite which reminded me a lot of the Embassy Suites room layout. Walked into a large living room with pull out bed, large flat TV and wet bar with fridge. Behind a closed door was the bedroom with two queen beds and another large tv. The room was spotless and updated (wifi worked well too!) but my only complaint was the living room was like sitting in a cave as their was a light on the wall and a small table lamp to light the entire room…. it was so dark it was hard to even read! We went to a local BBQ restaurant for dinner (Kings) which was very good and came back to fresh cookies and coffee in the lobby which was a nice touch as a lot of the HIE have dropped the cookies. Trying to sleep posed another issue… paper thin walls! I was not able to sleep until midnight as the room next door had a crying baby that could be heard from our suite and the room above us sounded like elephants tramping on the floor….. I finally got to bed at midnight and was awoken at 6:30am by a trash truck outside emptying the dumpster. The other disappointment with my stay was the breakfast. Having stayed at many locations this was by far the smallest array of choices I have had… No pancake machine, no cinnamon rolls, no yogurt etc. I thought all this was standard for the HIE brand but I guess not… Overall this is a solid hotel for travelers that is a great value and very clean but I was just a bit disappointed the inconstancy with my usual expectations of the breakfast and the lack of soundproofing.

Room Tip: Top floor so no one is on top of you and facing away from the interstate which is also where the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The suites has two separate rooms and a 42' TV's in each rooms. The staff is very nice and housekeeping as well.There's breakfast in the morning and cookies & coffee in the afternoon. I really enjoyed my stay. Surely will be staying here when I pass through again. Submitted by Diana S

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deseronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We would like to let everyone know, that if you are looking for a high quality Hotel, with excellent staff, and nice clean rooms, you will want to take exit 45 off I-95 in Virginia and stay at the Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast buffet provided free in the morning was excellent in taste and presentation. We can't say enough good things about our stay at this HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS.

Submitted by Paul and Carol N.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul and Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I would like to recommend the Front Desk Lady for some sort of excellent customer service. When I checked in on Saturday, November 30th she was extremely busy with check ins, walk ins, maintenance calls and of course the telephone. She patiently took care of each customer and made sure all of their questions were answered. I have worked in hospitality here in Panama City Beach, Florida for about 10 years now and she is a very good example of what an agent should be. My parents and my friend were also equally impressed with her skills - I believe her name was Jessica or Jennifer. Good job Front Desk and if we come to the area again I will definitely be staying with you at your property.

Room Tip: You cannot ask for more as to these rooms - very fresh linen and spacious as well. No complaints fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was a last minute decision 2am, and I must say the best decision I have made. The staff was extremely pleasant. The room was magnificent well worth the money, very comfortable and LARGE rooms with a separate living room, fridge, microwave, 2 tv's.... I highly recommend to anyone very clean and to top it off a good breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 18 in Petersburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - F...
#4 of 8 in Colonial Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee

Property: Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
Address: 11979 S Crater Rd, Petersburg, VA 23805-7409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where contemporary hospitality meets thoughtful amenities, at the Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee. Located just off I-95 at exit 53 in Colonial Heights, we offer a convenient gateway to Petersburg, Hopewell, Prince George, Dinwiddie, Chester, as well as Fort Lee and Virginia State University. Surround yourself with a diverse range of attractions, from the thrills of Virginia Motorsports Park to the Petersburg National Battlefield and Pamplin Historical Park to the bargains at Southpark Mall. Even if you're in Petersburg/Colonial Heights to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors as well. Savor tasty grill favorites and delightful ambiance in the Mixing Bowl Restaurant, or dine in the privacy of your room. Enjoy the solitude of elegant rooms, featuring stylish décor and the comforts of home. Stay current and connected with high-speed Internet access. Stock your refrigerator with snacks, drinks, and easy-to-prepare meals. Polish up tomorrow's presentation at your spacious work desk with ergonomic chair. Hosting an event? Select from over 6,000 square feet of event space, including 5 elegantly appointed meeting rooms. Trust our on-site event planners to design a flawless catered event. We're here, ready with all you need to make your trip to the Tri-Cities a success. We're the new Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee Hotel Petersburg
Holiday Inn Petersburg
Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing