We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be So Much Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ragland Mansion B&B and Events
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Estero, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Could Be So Much Better”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The only part of the stay that was worth the nightly rate was visiting with Ernest. The mansion needs an incredible amount of work: the parking was inadequate, the rooms look shabby, the whole house looks "drained". Ernest, however, provided simulating conversation and a wonderful breakfast. This old mansion could be so much better. It is truly a shame. Also no Wi-Fi or cable is a HUGH limitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, KY
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I were in Petersburg visiting some historic battlefields, five forks battlefield and Pamplin Historical Park. The innkeeper, Ernest, was very nice and attentive. The home is very old and I am sure in it glory days was a beautiful home. Petersburg had little to offer but the battlefields, a lot of the businesses in town were closed and/or in disrepair. Ernest perfectly prepared our breakfast and I would say was the high light of our visit other than the civil war sites.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglass1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here and were very please with all aspect of our stay. Our room was on the first floor and was roomy and well equipped. We were also allowed to tour the whole home and were able to use the sitting rooms and parlors as we desired. Coffee and tea were always available, though self service.

The breakfast menu was not extensive, but the food was perfectly prepared and well presented.

The innkeeper, Ernest, was pleasant and attentive.

All that being said, this is a home that is over 150 years old, and some of the wear and tear shows. Makes me wish I could have seen it in it's glory days. One of the brochures my wife read said that the ghost of a lady dressed in pink had been sighted at the mansion many years ago, but not recently.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My husband and I wanted to visit some of the history of Petersburg and stayed at the Ragland Mansion just on an impromptu weekend. We were greeted by a friendly face, Ernest who spent some time talking with us about our plans and provided us with a printout for a Civil War demonstration and provided several great suggestions for places to eat which we tried and enjoyed. The whole stay was wonderful. The atmosphere was comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast was terrific with fresh fruit and all of the extra touches on a beautifully set table. We were not disappointed and will recommend your B&B to all our friends. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Evelyn room. Very large with king size comfortable bed for a great nights sleep. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The mansion is beautiful and the accommodations were excellent. The house itself could use some tender loving care but, when one considers the cost of maintaining a home of that size and age, the simple fact that it is being preserved is exciting. Ernest made the stay wonderful, he went out of his way to help in anyway he could. One of the best bed and breakfast places I've stayed in the South. Also, probably the best accommodations to be had in Petersburg, Va.

Room Tip: My family had 3 rooms and they were all good. The 3rd floor is a climb if you don't like stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SherranD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We were uncertain when we arrived, but the caretaker did in fact take care of us. Probably your best shot in Petersburg for overnight accommodation. And hey, Joseph Cotton lived here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HPBsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stopped over for the night and stayed over mid week. The mansion was spacious with beautiful furniture. The caretaker was nice and friendly.
Our room had everything you needed and compared to other B&B's that we stayed in, it was more then enough space. The price was right and we had a nice stay.

We did notice in a house that size and the age of the house that it does need some TLC but I would expect that from a house of this size and age. I would also work on upgrading the the shower in the room we stayed in because it was slightly difficult in getting it to work. But, this would not cause us not to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillaxin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ragland Mansion B&B and Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ragland Mansion B&B and Events

Property: The Ragland Mansion B&B and Events
Address: 205 S Sycamore St, Petersburg, VA 23803-4265
Region: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ragland Mansion B&B and Events 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time in one of nine guestrooms individually decorated with antiques and retro furnishings. Create memorable moments in our stately event venue with the original crown molding, parquet floors and marble fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ragland Mansion B&B and Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragland Mansion Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing