We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Petrified Black Forest

Another of the splendid sights within th Park where field of petrified wood of variegated... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
David B L
,
Los Angeles, California
Petfiried Rocks of large proportion to witness in person.

Stop here and get out your car and take in al the Petrified rocks, tress, and other amenities that... read more

Reviewed 11 August 2018
DannyWasserman
,
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Read all 26 reviews
  
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
18
4
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
4
2
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The Black Forest is near the north end of the Petrified Forest National Park. There are restrooms, a restaurant, and a large visitors center near by. This was our last stop through the park, so we were a little tired, but still enjoyed the views.

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank 10SWAK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

A lovely drive through and stop. The visitor centre and walk was great. A very interesting park. Overall a very good and worthwile place to visit

Date of experience: June 2011
Thank jim_bayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I saw several reviews complaining that it's not really a "forest" as the name indicates. That's apparently due to the tourists taking away a piece of petrified rock as souvenir when they visit. Supposedly, 1 ton of petrified wood goes missing every month. The photos I saw of the old petrified forest looks accurate to me.

We were very pleased with our visit to the petrified forest. There were a lot of different landscapes and the petrified wood also looked different along the trail; they got more and more colorful as we drove near the south of the trail. In the museum, there was a chart of all the petrified wood across the united states, and I would say these ones in Arizona were by far the most beautiful and colorful one. It's one of those things that become cooler the more you learn about it.

Thank tracyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We traveled from the Grand Canyon (out of our way) to visit the Petrified Forest. On our way into the Park from the south we came across many shops with all sizes of petrified wood for sale. This seemed to cheapen and lessen the park experience. As we entered the park, we immediately saw the petrified logs. They were beautiful in color and their story is amazing. At that point we could have turned and left but instead we drove through the park. This was dissapointing for us as we expected to see a "forest" of petrified trees. Not standing but trees non the less. What we saw was a piece of a tree here and there and the rest of the landscape was barren. The northern entrance was beautiful as it lies in the Painted Desert. The scenery here is absolutely beautiful and breathtaking. The Painted Desert is worth the trip, however the Petrified Forest will either put the kids to sleep or have them complaining for hours.

4  Thank Tippegirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

The word "forest" is not what we expected. The "forest" is all on the ground, sparsley scattered on the desert like plains. You have to really look to see the petrified logs and bits of trees to notice what they are. They are there and they are real. I would suggest you park and walk to see the pieces to actually get a good idea of the beauty. Otherwise, they look like stones just laying in a line. We were disaapointed at the number shops outside the park with what seemed a larger collection of petrified wood than what was in the park, and priced pretty high. ($15 for a baseball-size piece)
The Painted Desert was great to see. It is a part of the park, on the northern end. There was a good variation of odd colors to see.
Admission was priced OK.

Thank JnR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews