We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night of vacation. The motel is 15 min from the ABQ airport on old Route 66. Breakfast was very nice. The room was spacious and clean. The service was friendly and readily available. We checked in late (10pm) and it was not a problem. The price was very reasonable. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    235
    57
    24
    20
See reviews for
277
479
62
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sandia Peak Inn. Kay, an owner, checked us in. She was very nice and answered all of our questions about the area, including dining and attractions. The property is well maintained. The room was clean and everything associated with the room worked well. Linda managed the breakfast area. There were several people having breakfast, but there was ample food, fresh fruit, beverages. Linda worked with everyone and offered to make waffles. Although this property is not a "Big Chain" property, but it was clean, safe and priced right.

PS: Call and book direct.

Room Tip: Call Kay directly. She will work with you to select the best room at the right price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Long story short, I decided at the last minute to do a road trip from east to west coast with the kids. When we were pulling into Albuquerque around 8pm on a Saturday night, I went to my go to source (Trip Advisor) for hotel reviews and this place came up at the top of the list, but for half the price of the bigger chain hotels listed. I tend to stay in chains when traveling alone with the kids, simply because I know what to expect and there is always a front desk area that gives me a sense of security. But I thought I'd take a chance on this one, and I'm glad I did.

Here is the scoop, as I see it:

1. Kay, the owner, is wonderful. She is the kind of hostess that knows all of the guests name and the story that goes along with their journey. She works hard (without making it look hard) at creating an environment in a hotel that I haven't found anywhere outside of a B&B.

2. We stayed in Room 204, which is a corner room with AMAZING space. There are 3 queen beds, a bathroom with separate toilet/shower, dorm fridge, microwave, table with two chairs, tv, and still plenty of floor space for my rambunctious kids who have been in car seats for HOURS and HOUR to jump around and get the wiggles out. It's not luxury by ANY stretch of the imagination. But it is super clean (perhaps cleaner even than most other 3-4 star chain hotels I've stayed in), safe, and I know that if I needed anything, Kay would do her best to help me out.

3. The negative about the room, and I'm not sure if it's all rooms or just this room... the air conditioner had been turned off for the day when we arrived, so the room (late May) was stuffy and hot. It took a good three hours with the a/c running on 68 to finally cool the room down. It's a standard motel wall unit a/c, so it's not quiet, but I suspect that the humming a/c actually helped to drown out the Saturday night noise...so no complaints there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneAndOnlyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place may be a motel but the beds are comfy--as one would expect for a higher end hotel. We were 2 adults and 2 tween aged kids. While I booked this place for 2 queen beds, we were given the option to upgrade to 2 king sized beds with a futon for bit extra money. I slept very well that night, probably the best over my 1 week trip. Breakfast included waffles with strawberries--YUM.

This place elevates the motel experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWanderer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at Sandia Peak Inn based on the TripAdvisor reviews...not disappointed! It was easy to find, close to Old Town. The motel is older, but is very well maintained. The owner, Kay, was so helpful and friendly. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in, but rather than allowing us to wait the 15 minutes it would have taken to finish the room, she moved us to a different room, an upgrade, at the same price! She made a recommendation for a restaurant in Old Town which turned out to be an excellent choice! The continental breakfast had a broad array of choices available. Overall a very satisfying stay; we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was somewhat skeptical of the #1 rating for this motel given the price, but was extremely impressed during our stay. When we arrived (late) we were greeted by the owner, who was very friendly and helpful, as was the rest of the staff. The room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The full breakfast the next morning was great, with eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, etc. The location is an easy drive from the airport and is close to local attractions such as the botanical gardens and Old Town. Also, there are grocery stores nearby. We were just in town for over-night but would definitely make this motel a base for a longer stay in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

While traveling Route 66 east from Santa Monica Pier to Ohio we have stayed at several places on Route 66. Sandra Peak Inn was has been the Gem so far. The place was very clean, newly decorated and the customer service has been outstanding. It offered a indoor swimming pool, guest laundry and a great location. If you are in the area I would highly recommend the motel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandia Peak Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Property: Sandia Peak Inn Motel
Address: 4614 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87105-1654
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#39 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandia Peak Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Southwest! We are closely located to Old Town, Botanical Gardens, Aquarium, and other tourist areas. Clean rooms with a Southwest flare and expanded Hot breakfast with fresh fruit,Waffles boiled eggs Pastries and more are few of our amenities. Also includes Heated indoor pool with free WIFI. Sandia Peak Inn takes pride in its service and adds a personal touch from the moment you walk in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandia Peak Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Peak Hotel Albuquerque
Sandia Peak Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing