We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT ANYWHERE NEAR OLD TOWN” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NOT ANYWHERE NEAR OLD TOWN”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel was fairly new and very clean and the free breakfast was great. There were eggs, bacon or sausage, all kinds of breads, pancakes, pastries, coffee, etc....not just a muffin and some coffeee in other words. The staff was very friendly as well. The only problem I have is that the name is misleading. This hotel is nowhere near Old Town and in fact, I was told that if I tried walking to Old Town from there I would be risking my life. In other words, not such a great neighborhood. There was a Lowes and a Walgreens across the street as well as the Pueblo Indian Cultural Center which has a restaurant with very greasy food. There is also a gas station across the street with a so so burritto stand inside. You will definitely need to rent a car to get around and to get to the tourist area of Old Town because this hotel is right by the highway and there is nothing to eat nearby. The McDonalds next door is still under construction. If you want to be near Old Town STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

Room Tip: If you are planning on staying here despite the fact that it's in the middle of nowhere, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsg324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmabqww, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast and our friendly staff.

Our hotel is located in the Old Town district, but about a mile away from the Old Town Plaza shopping center and restaurants. Great News is The Indian Pueblo Cultural Center has a seasonal shulttle that starts June 1 and runs through the end of October and we are one of their stops as well as the Old Town Plaza.

Thank you again for your recent stay and I hope you will consider us for your next trip to Albuquerque.

Haleah Todd General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    193
    44
    7
    13
See reviews for
194
205
29
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis, missouri
Level Contributor
192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel was new and pretty nice but... it is not really in Old Town. In fact Old Town was a good drive away. It is across the street from the Pueblo Cultural Center and the restaurant there and there is a Walgreens, gas station and Lowes nearby. It is in a newly developing area that seems like a suburb. (A McDonalds was about to open next door.) However, the room was very nice, the breakfast was good and plentiful and the employees seemed to care. Other than location (my fault really) was that their wifi was terrible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norms_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweetwater tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Good breakfast. Thumbs up. Check with Harris Balkan, the manager for ideas and best places to go and eat. You may meet him at breakfast.......... Feels like a good are an but a thirty minute walk to old town. Buses do come by to downtown but not to old town.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pafox777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Due to a cancelled flight on the evening of May 5, I was a "no show" at this Holiday Inn Express. The hotel manager, however, was very understanding about the situation. She waived the no-show fee, even though I forgot to call and cancel my reservation until the next morning. I was very impressed with the manager's courtesy and professionalism. I have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express on a number of occasions, and I will continue to stay there whenever I return to Albuquerque for work. It's a great place, with excellent management and staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this particular hotel because it said Old Town but in reality it was a 5 min cab ride or take a car as it really is located just off I-40 and noisy. We booked a mountain view room which should have been quieter but were "upgraded"to a suite at the front. The extra space was welcome but the extra noise wasn't. There was no corkscrew in our room and when we asked were told they used to have them but guests stole them, and they didn't even have one at reception that we could borrow. Really! Poor show Holiday Inn, there must be a kitchen for breakfast and I can't believe we are the first to ask for this. Staff were nice enough but pretty clueless about local places.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank behappy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel was in a great location. 10-15 minutes from the airport and right off of I-40 for attractions yet very quiet. The complimentary breakfast was incredible! So many options to choose from. Great price and very comfortable beds. Across the street is a gas station and Walgreen's so it has everything you need to start or end your day with. You will not make a mistake by staying here!

Room Tip: Request the mountain view rooms. Waking up with that view was a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whips2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Warm and inviting place to stay. Staff was most gracious and helpful not only with dining suggestions and places to visit, but were very accommodating when our car was involved in an accident and we needed a late checkout time. Thank you for all your help and concern

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Address: 2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Old Town district hotel is located off I-40. While staying with us you can visit the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (within walking distance) and experience Native American cuisine, learn about our local pueblos and even see a traditional dance performance. Visit the Historic Old Town Plaza(approx 2 miles) to do some shopping, have some great food, and visit the many museums Albuquerque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing