We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend not to stay if you can help it”
Review of Motel 76

Motel 76
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel 76
Ranked #134 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly recommend not to stay if you can help it”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I don't usually give out "As" or five stars and I definitely don't usually flunk or give "Fs", but Motel 76 in Albuquerque, NM deserves one giant F or one star. My family and I were driving to Texas from California for a funeral. We arrived in Albuquerque pretty late (10 pm), stopped to get gas and decided to stay the night. We considered staying at the La Quinta up the street, but, my brother was exhausted and the rates were fairly reasonable for one night and we definitely got what we paid for. A king room was $35 plus tax per night and a room with 2 queens was $40 per night. I've stayed in a roach motel once when I was younger and I knew what to expect with this place, though I saw no bugs, almost every corner in the room was filthy. The carpet was sticky and the mattress was worn so that I would roll to the middle for the bed. I fought to sleep on the firmer part of the mattress, if you want to even call it sleep. The lock on the door was not only a dead bolt on the inside, but also a looped cable was used as a form of security. My brother and his wife stayed across the court yard and he pushed a chair up under the door for additional security. The decor in the room wasn't anything all that great, and I wasn't expecting it to be so. But, I slept atop the comforter with my own blanket and pillow.

My mom roomed with me and just before going to sleep, pulled out her iPad. She took the cover off and placed it in the nightstand drawer. The next morning we were up early to get back on the road and she forget to grab the cover. We returned a couple days later and asked if anyone found the cover. We were informed they didn't have the cover. When my brother-in-law asked to inspect the room just in case the housekeeper didn't check the night stand drawer, it wasn't there, but, the housekeeper informed my brother-in-law that he would need to give her $5.00 to check the room. I couldn't believe that the house keeper would be so brazen. Not only did she know that the item wasn't there (I think she took it) and then "charged" him $5.00 to open up the room. It may have been just an iPad cover, but, that wasn't the point. The point was that (if the room was used after we checked out and or if the house keeper even bothered to check the night stand drawer), but that she had the audacity to charge him $5.00 to open up the room just to be sure. I highly recommend NOT staying at Motel 76, its filthy, unkempt, and staff (house keeping) appears to have little to no integrity.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hula324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel was just as expected - a bed, a shower, reasonably comfortable. No refrigerator, though. But it was cheap. The location is good - right off of the interstate. The front desk is a very small room, but they don't need anything bigger.

Room Tip: This place is fine for the price, but don't choose if you want a frig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Beware of the cockroaches. They moved us to another room. It smelled horrible! We did not stay and was not able to get a refund . I highly recommend the owners spend time cleaning their rooms and riding the rooms of strange insects.

Room Tip: I would not stay here. You would be better off at another cleaner place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jherbert08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is your basic motel. The room we stayed in was comfortable and clean. The bed was in good condition and made for a good nights sleep. The internet service was the best I've had in ANY motel/hotel in a long time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justj700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

This was definitly a case of "check for recent reviews" before you choose a place to stay. First of all there were absolutly no refunds, and I paid for two nights upfront. Or else I would have turned right around and found another place. The room was filthy. The carpet looked like it had never been cleaned. It had stains of unknown origin. The chairs in the room were so dirty that I was afraid to sit in them. We decided to get our sleeping bags out of the car instead of sleeping on their sheets, and even then that felt scary. I would have actually refered to it as a roach motel but I think the roaches felt there was a better place to stay.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katmai_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2010

The rate was reasonable. It was clean and quiet. Just the basics.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Araceli-Cheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 August 2004

Stayed one night @ hotel 76. Rate very reasonable, room clean. Very close to Cracker Barrel for breakfast.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Inn Albuquerque
Ambassador Inn Albuquerque
#122 of 144 in Albuquerque
2.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#85 of 144 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Suites
0.5 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 76

Property: Motel 76
Address: 2007 Candelaria Rd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107-2032
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing