We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed with Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed with Staff”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We chose this hotel because it was close to downtown and the softball fields. Last year we happen to stay across the street at the Candlewood Suites, and wanted to stay at the Holiday Inn but they were sold out so this year I my husband placed reservation early. I was very disappointed with the staff at check in (Mellissa and Zharia). We were traveling from Phoenix, AZ and we had a family friend staying with us who happen to get into Albuquerque 4hours before us. We informed the hotel that our friend will be checking in for us (gave them our friend name). When he showed up he spoke to Zharia, and she told him that the hotel does not have a reservation for us, than gives her the confirmation# and said no I don't have a reservation in that confirmation. She than send him to the Holiday Inn on Eubank. So he went to the Holiday Inn on Eubank and they also told him the same thing. Our friend goes bank to this hotel and asked Zharia are you sure you don't have a reservation for us. she said yes! So than our friend gives us a call, and we call the hotel and gave her our Confirmation# and she's like yes I have you for tonight for two rooms, and we asked her if it was okay for our friend to check-in, she said yes that's fine, but her not knowing that the call was on a three way, Our friend goes back inside and tries to check in again but deny him to checking in because we were not present. Our friend said he will just wait for us to get there, so he slept in his car. Once we showed up we approach Mellissa and she was friendly asked me how far along I was "I told her six months" and checked us in. I went up to my room and I reserved a non-smoking single king (two rooms), but my room was smoking. I go back down to the lobby and asked to please switch my room I cannot stay in this room. Her knowing I was six months pregnant she wouldn't switch out my room ( than her attitude changes) and she hands me back the keys. I told her I'm sorry I am not stay in this room, if I wasn't pregnant and didn't have kids than I wouldn't have cared. I told her if she cannot get me a different room than find me another hotel that has non-smoking. That's when Zharia stepped in asked what the problem.We explained everything to her again and she also told us I'm sorry I cannot change your room out. Than she goes and tells us that we booked a smoking room and one non-smoking. I told her NO I didn't, I booked two non-smoking. I also told her I should have comments and an alert on my reservation. So she tells me if I can show some type of proof I booked non-smoking rooms, she will she what she can do for us. So I pulled up my reservation for her and gave that to her to look at. That's when she changed our room. So much hassle to get checked in after an 8hour drive. Yes I was very upset with the customer service that I experience at this Hotel. As for me who use to work in Hotels, this is not a way to treat your guest. Overall the rooms are great and very large, the only thing is the bathrooms are small you have to step around the toilet to close the door. Breakfast was good. I hope my next stay will be better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oruiz10, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Marca W,

Thank you for taking your time and providing your valuable feedback. On behalf of the entire team, we apologize as we failed to meet your expectations and deliver superior customer service we always strive to provide. The confusion and lack of attentiveness will be held accountable for and you can rest assured the proper training will be put in place to prevent this dissatisfaction from occuring again. We hope we can regain your confidence in us and provide us with another chance to replace the unsatisfactory experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ottmar Ruiz
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    92
    29
    18
    19
See reviews for
87
70
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms and area not bad but looks aren't everything not a bad restaurant next door but to make a long story short why stay here when you're personal property is not safe locked up or not stuff stolen gun etc even had everything locked up high crime area

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Mike M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed two different nights on the same trip at this hotel. Compared to the other hotels we stayed in the ABQ area, they don't compare to the Holiday Inn Express! The rooms are very large, since the hotel was built in 1988. That's a plus, because the floors are made of concrete, so you don't hear the person in the room above you, unlike wood floor hotels. Now, the breakfast was the best! Tanya welcomed us every morning, and even sat with us and kept me and my mother company! She is a GEM to this hotel, and to the company! She deserves a raise for going above and beyond, and working so hard during the early Breakfast hours - I hope the manager of this location realizes this. The only downside to the hotel, is that the top floors of the hotel are half smoking, and half non-smoking, a downside to sensitive nosed people like me. But it really didn't bug me not that much. Be sure to stay facing the EAST, and on the 5th or 6th (top) floors, because you will get a BREAKTAKING sunrise over the mountains early in the morning, right in your bed! Absolutely beautiful, and a beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: Get a East Side room, on the top 2 floors for a BREAKTAKING Sunrise! Top floor (6th) is Half Smokin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oruiz10, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Michael K,

Thank you for taking your valuable time in providing us your feedback. I am very glad you had a great time with us and that Tanya went beyond and provided superior customer service. She is defenitely a great asset to our hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed the beautiful sunrise in the morning. We apologize on behalf of the entire team that our smoking section bothered you even if it was minimal. We will be working very hard to continue to deliver great service and product to maintain wonderful guests like yourself loyal to our hotel and brand.

Sincerely,

Ottmar Ruiz
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Before visiting relatives in Albuquerque my wife and I were searching online for a hotel that would accommodate our needs during our two night stay. While searching we came across the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Online it appeared to have everything we wanted such as a separate sleeping area, small area with a sink, refrigerator, microwave and a separate sitting area. It looked good online (which at times can be deceiving) but when we arrived we were not disappointed. The front desk attendant was great. We had arrived a few hours before regular check in time and were not sure if we would be able to check in. The young lady was very accommodating and we were checked in and in our room within minutes. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the room had everything we wanted and was pretty much what the web site claimed. The hotel was very easy to find and was central to all the places we visited while in the city. For a little over $100.00 a night (with AAA discount) we felt the price was reasonable and on our last day the breakfast served at the hotel was better than most we had in the past. The omelets and biscuits and gravy were tasty, the bacon and sausage were cooked well and there was plenty of fresh juice and coffee. Would I recommend this hotel to friends and family? Would I stay there again? The answer to both is WITHOUT A DOUBT.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oruiz10, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Tourist058,

On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your most recent stay. I am very glad we were able to meet your needs and provide an excellent stay for you and your wife. Your feedback is of high importance and critical in the success of our team. Thank you again and we hope to see you as soon as the next opportunity arises. Best Regards

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My Dad and I spent 4 weeks there for personal travel. The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean, comfortable and a great location! The hotel is close to restaurants, bars and in a nice safe location. Every weekday morning we were greeted by Tanya at the breakfast. Tanya is always happy and smiling. She is extremely helpful and makes it so that you can't help but start the day happy!! The front desk folks were great too. The managers, Brenda and Mandy, were also fantastic. They took the time to say "Hi and ask how we were doing?" when they saw us. Can't thank everybody there enough for all of the hospitality while we were there.
Randy from Ohio

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oruiz10, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Randy O,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are very glad you had a wonderful stay and we were able to meet your needs. We constantly strive to make excellent stays for all of our guests and we are happy we are succeeding. Such feedback is vital and critical to the success of our team and we can not thank you enough for your valuable and honest feedback. Best Regards

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We flew in to Albuquerque and spent a day and a half touring the city before friends picked us up there. Since we did not rent a car, we had to rely on the hotel's shuttle service that was basically at our "beckon call" most of the time. They could not do enough for us in order to get us where we wanted to go. They even went out of their way and took us out of their usual shuttle service route system, in order for us to go up the Sandia Mountains via tram for a sunset dinner. All of the hotel staff was really nice. Great breakfasts too. Cannot say enough about this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauerw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Sauerw13,

Thank you for your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Midtown, the staff was delighted to know that your enjoyed your stay.

We pride ourselves on our guest service and always stress to our staff to go above and beyond to make a guests stay memorable. We are proud that those efforts were reflected in your review.

We hope that you will stay with us again when traveling to the area, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Mandy Gonzales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

During our breakfast, Tanya was amazing. She was so helpful to everyone in the room and helped our teenagers make their pancakes. Tanya was extremely friendly and very energetic, happy, and polite. What a fantastic way to start the day. She gets a 10 out of 5, in my book!

The room was very nice and spacious. We had 2 queens and a pullout. One of the queen beds was a little hard, but we made do.

Thanks for the great night stay!! You do things the right way.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Carl G,

Thank you for your complimentary review on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Tanya is a great asset to our company and not only gets our guesst energized, but keeps the staff that way as well. Thank you again for the compliments. I have passed on your review to Tanya, and will share with the staff as well.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Mandy Gonzales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Candlewood Suites Albuquerque
#52 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence Inn Albuquerque
#56 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Menaul Development Area
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown
Address: 2500 Menaul Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107-1865
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Midtown, Albuquerque. Our all-suites hotel is centrally located near the intersection of Interstates 40 and 25 and only a few miles from the Albuquerque International Airport. Our friendly staff invites you to experience our spacious and comfortable suites featuring the Express Bedding Package. All suites include: Keurig Brewers, microwave and refrigerator for your convenience. An Applebee's restaurant is located adjacent to the hotel as well as an array of enticing shopping and dining options. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers easy access to attractions such as Old Town, the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center, Balloon Fiesta Park, and Sandia Peak Tramway. Business travelers will enjoy our hotel s close proximity to Intel, Lockheed Martin, University of New Mexico, Kirtland Air Force Base, Sandia Labs and General Mills. Complimentary local shuttle service, based on availability, weekdays from 7am -9pm. During your Albuquerque visit, be sure to enjoy all the amenities our hotel has to offer, including free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary Express Start breakfast buffet, a business center, fitness center, and a heated outdoor pool. We look forward to making sure you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing