We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!”

Albuquerque Biological Park
Ranked #6 of 223 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park complex offering three main sections the whole family can enjoy: Albuquerque Aquarium, Rio Grande Botanic Garden and Rio Grande Zoo.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Out of all the zoos I've been to (and that's a lot), this is by far one of my favorites. I'm delighted every time I go to see the changes and additions they've been making over the last several years.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank aztraveler527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    255
    46
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This place was AMAZING!!!! We only went to the aquarium and botanic garden, but man were they cool! The admission is pretty budget friendly and you really get a bang for your buck (you get to go to both the aquarium and botanic garden for the same price; there is also a combo ticket if you wish to visit the zoo)! The aquarium consists of manta rays, fish (obviously), eels, coral, mollusks, turtles, sharks, and my favorite: jellyfish! The botanic garden is beautiful. The butterfly garden (included with admission) surpasses the beauty of the one at the Boston Museum of Science! it is just incredible! The ceremonial garden is a great place to eat lunch in the shade and the Japanese garden is just so tranquil! There is also a 10 acre farm which grows some vegetables used at the restaurant by the aquarium. There is also a somewhat hidden "Children's Dream Garden" which is also camparable to an attraction and Disney's Hollywood Studios in Orlando, FL (the "Honey, I Shrunk the Kids!" playground). The ABQ BioPark is just awesome for all ages and is a can't miss if you visit Albuquerque!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great for kids.”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We love to take our grandkids here. We start at the zoo and take the train to the aquarium to cool off. Never been to the gardens, but lots of people like them. It is a great little zoo, and I like it better than Denver's Zoo. The animals are a lot closer to you.

Helpful?
1 Thank mmccauley2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loads to see, but makes for a VERY long day”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

It was a really neat place to visit, just make sure you bring some shade, because you will need it, and if you take the train from the zoo to the aquarium make sure you sit in a covered car, it is a long trip in the hot sun. Also make sure you have plenty of water to drink.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

One price for multiple places. Beautiful botanical parks, fabulous small aquarium. Fun beach to play at.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VivacWinery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albuquerque Biological Park also viewed

 

Been to Albuquerque Biological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing