We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient that you can access the garden, aquarium, and zoo from one location”

Albuquerque Biological Park
Ranked #4 of 220 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park complex offering three main sections the whole family can enjoy: Albuquerque Aquarium, Rio Grande Botanic Garden and Rio Grande Zoo.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient that you can access the garden, aquarium, and zoo from one location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We did the aquarium and garden this time. My previous time we did the aquarium only. I loved it, and will probably do it again. I have family near here which we visit every year or two.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RayelNigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    242
    44
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bigger than you think”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My sister and I planned to spend a few hours here and ended up spending the entire day, and we still didn't see everything. The zoo is massive and the animal exhibits are nicely done. The park was all but empty (in the middle of the summer) so we had a great time exploring all of the different sections of the park, seeing the animal antics show, and still had time to visit the aquarium.

Word of advice - park at the aquarium when the park opens and take the train to the zoo first. Last train back to the aquarium is at 3:45 - and the park doesn't close till 5. This gives you a majority of the day at the zoo (which you'll need) and then the chance to go back to the aquarium (and your car) at your leisure. Took the 2:45 train back (ahead of the inevitable rush) and it worked out wonderful.

Aquarium was very small (by new england standards) but its understandable as you're in the middle of the desert and hundreds of miles from the ocean. An hour or so there is more than enough.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“needs help”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I felt bad about this area, it looks like they need some money to get it fixed up. Some of the area was messes and run down and I couldn't help feeling sorry for the animals. If your going to have animals they must be kept in the best environment , to me this wasn't it.
The train was great and it works well, the gardens looked interesting and the lake for fishing looked liked the locals enjoyed themselves. Just don't do the zoo !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank scooplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a few hours”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

It was hot when we were there and so that detracted a bit from the visit for us but there were some shady spots to get to. I am sure it is even more lovely in the spring but all in all a neat stop with a varied amount of attractions (Butterfly pavilion, old New Mexico farm house and farm, aquatic plants, conservatories, etc.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank odie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for any age 1 to 101”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What a fun place to spend the day ! get a pass to the Zoo also and take the trolly over ! you can also have a picnic at the Tingley Lake feed ducks go fishing or rent a pedal boat ! bring lots of sun screen It's a full day of fun ! If you go on Saturdays in the summer they have music under the stars so have your blanket on hand !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 138DM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albuquerque Biological Park also viewed

 

Been to Albuquerque Biological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing