We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque
Ranked #2 of 222 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explora is an innovative learning place, part science center, part children's museum, providing fun, truly hands-on activities in science, technology, and art for people of all ages, from toddlers to teens to adults. We have an early childhood learning area, including a special area for toddlers to explore, and children and adults enjoy not only our two main floors of exhibit activities, but our outdoor decks with views, giant building blocks, playground patio, and gift shop filled with entertaining and educational items great for at home or travel fun. We offer after-school, home school, and early childhood classes, plus winter, spring, and summer camps for kids. Located in Albuquerque's historic Old Town, Explora has free parking and is perfectly situated for a walk to the nearby park, shops, and restaurants. We close Jan 1, July 4, the week after labor day, Thanksgiving, Dec. 25. We close early at 2pm Dec. 24 & 31.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun for Kids”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I know they say it's a kids museum but they also say they hold Adult nights there and that its pretty good for adults too. It's entertaining for adults, but not for more than about 15mins. Go with kids, not without them.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    121
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Explora is wonderful!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

What a great hands on museum! I've been twice in the last year and both times have loved it. The elevator to the second level is a treat! I've not been allowed to ride the counterweight bike, as my family is hesitant to watch. The exhibits cover many aspects of science and are great for kids and adults alike. Water, wind, light, sound, indoor, outdoor...Explora has it all!
And the cost is quite reasonable.
Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“My son didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My 7-year old didn't want to leave for lunch. He enjoyed all activities. Most of them are very hands on. We visited the museum as a stop of 10-day road trip. We got there from the opening. We all had so much fun and had to postpone our lunch until 2:30pm.
My son wrote a trip journal after our 10-day vacation, the first thing he wrote was about Explora Science Center.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarlCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What can I say…. this museum is a gem!!

We’re from the UK and have been to all the great museums London and the UK has to offer, as well as NY, Washington and many others all over the world, but this one is without question the best, most interactive museum we have ever been to.

Don’t bother with the Natural History museum across the street, which is exactly what you’d expect, being a small, provincial unexciting museum that will leave you disappointed, but Explora is amazing.

We were in town for the balloon festival and came here during the day on Saturday and back again on Sunday and spent hours here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DarienBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This museum is a must for families with children. Lots to do & its all educational but fun at the same time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque also viewed

 

Been to Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing