We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointed”

Route 66 Casino Hotel
Ranked #49 of 222 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get your kicks like never before at Route 66 Casino! Route 66 Casino Hotel and RV Resort is located less than 20 minutes west of downtown Albuquerque. The Route 66 Casino Hotel offers over 1,300 slot and video poker machines, 26 table games, a 500-seat bingo hall, a dedicated poker room with 10 tables, five restaurants, five bars, 8,000 sq. feet of convention space, nightclub, arcade and retail gift shop.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
175 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

From some other reviews, I thought this place was going to be, well, a little classier than it is. I found the decor to be tired and old looking (not 'retro' just OLD) It looked as if an update was badly needed. Worn carpets, poor lighting, and a fairly poor layout in general, kept us from wanting to stay very long. We also found the machines to be a few years old, too. I know casinos can't update constantly, but there are enough casinos in this area that competition should encourage keeping up. We broke even, which is fine with us, but this is one casino we won't go back to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    56
    16
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good casino and good stop on the road”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I quickly stopped at the casino recently on a road trip. The interior of the casino is well outfitted with a Route 66 motif and nice new machines. It is also an easy on/off from Interstate 40. For travelers there is also a travel center with a small casino as well and a Dairy Queen.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drjohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

First, let me say, DO NOT follow Mapquest directions to this casino. Call and get directions. That being said, this is a nice casino. Plenty of games to choose from. It wasn't busy when I visited, so the cigarette smoke was at a minimum, which was nice. All the employees I saw were very friendly. I would visit again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FemaleTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

While this casino is a bit out of the way we had a great time once we got there. They have a pretty good selection of games. The staff was friendly and fun. While we didn't come away winners, we did enjoy ourselves and even came back on another night. The buffet was pretty decent compared to a couple of others in the Albuquerque area. Would definitely come back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun & One-Chance Exit from ABQ”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This casino/hotel event venue is about 15-20 miles west of ABQ. The property has some things worked out very well & other aspects that are drawbacks. Drawbacks include the exit off I-40 from ABQ, parking, and the buffet cost. Hits include the Legends theater, event ticketing, thematic fun, layout, & exit off I-40 from Grants.

Exit off I-40 coming from ABQ was a challenge. There is only 1 exit, & with road construction & shipping truck traffic, we ended up missing the exit because "Rio Puerco" (the name of the street) didn't mean anything to us, the casino occurred as a mile or so away from the exit, & the signage was poor on clarity that this was THE exit. We presumed we'd have another exit closer to the casino/hotel & ended driving another 5 minutes beyond the casino until we could get to a crossover (for official use only) to make our way back (take note). The exit design from ABQ generated extra stress & displeasure. Possible with us is that the exit from ABQ could become clear as the only exit, or another exit closer to the hotel could get generated. From Grants, the exit aligns perfectly and makes sense as you get to the casino/hotel first, see it right there, and then get the exit--very easy off I-40 coming from that direction (but not from ABQ).

Parking for disabled ("handicapped") is also extremely limited, so that's another drawback, and took us 10 minutes of driving around. Missing that would make a difference particularly during events would be to have parking guides who could get guests directly to available parking & provide information on shuttles that run between far-flung lots (where the parking was available) and the front door.

The casino is thematic, fun, and reminded me of the New York, New York Casino in Las Vegas at times owing to the design aspects that keep the classic RT 66, 1950s open road & diner themes alive throughout the space. The space flows with sensible design attributes and locations for hotel, lounges, eateries, restrooms, theater and shops.

The buffet, however, is about $24 per person on the weekends and is not worth the cost when compared to other buffets or the cost of driving the distance for a meal alone. Used to be that a casino (whether in Vegas or not) was a great place to eat at a great price owing to the gambling subsidy, but this casino charges the most I've ever seen for a buffet. We skipped it owing to the excessive cost.

We went to the casino for an event at the Legends theater. Unlike Sandia, Buffalo Thunder, & Camel Rock--all of which offer events in gigantic, one-level conference rooms--the RT 66 Legends Theater is a true theater-like space. The aisles and distance between rows are wide; seats slightly raked toward an ample, raised stage; and beverages are available from bars located throughout. Seats are comfortable & even have cup holders (like in a movie theater). It was clear the theater & stage could work for many types of events from comedy to films to music concerts to large training events or even travelling theatrical shows.

The ticketing process (Hold my Ticket) is excellent with smaller handling fees than some other venues and direct access to "e-tickets" via links and email. Once at the theater, the self-printed ticket bar codes are scanned; there were kind ushers available throughout to take guests to their seats. In other words, this theater has a lot worked out that delivers on ease and satisfaction that could also be a model to other casino venues.

If the exit from ABQ, parking, & the buffet were as easy & priced well all the time, I would have given a rating of "excellent."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Route 66 Casino Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Route 66 Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing