We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“High Priced But Clean Showers and Has Some Level Sites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of American RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albuquerque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
American RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“High Priced But Clean Showers and Has Some Level Sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We've stayed here on and off over the years. It is an older RV park with mostly narrow shorter sites some of which tilt one way or the other. If you don't have slides and you aren't too long, you have your choice of many sites. If you have some length and slides, or if you want to use your satellite antenna instead of the provided cable you have to insist on one of the newer sites to the left of the old park as you look at it from the front. These are level sites without a bunch of trees and shrubs obstructing the sky view and your slides.
The wifi is acceptable here but spotty. We didn't have a lot of problems receiving email and minimum use. The park is paved throughout and has paved sites available. There are far too many trees, bushes, hedges, etc. around the park which block slides and can inhibit entrance and exit to sites.
The showers are outstanding in design, function and cleanliness. The washers and dryers are expensive but most worked fairly well. They also have a fenced swimming pool which is open in the summer. A light breakfast is provided which we skipped. Most of the RV parks in Albuquerque are out a little ways from downtown. American RV park is one of three RV parks right along I-40 west of town on the street which becomes Central Avenue (Route 66). All three of these RV parks are less than a quarter of a mile from each other. American RV is the most expensive but has cable, pool, FHU with up to 50 Amp, paved sites, and clean showers. If you get the right site, it is probably the most desirable. All the parks are near I-40 so you get the traffic noise. The park does not seem to be too dusty compared to your other options.
The owners seem to be trying to slowly rebuild some of the older sites. We would encourage them to get to it. Some sites are simply unacceptable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    50
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
49
81
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Of the RV parks along I40 outside of Albuquerque, this is one of the nicest. Most all the campgrounds sit along the roadway so they all have constant road noise and this one is no exception. There are sites in the back though that are treed, have grass and if you’re not to large you could get a campsite that is much quieter. The road thru the park is paved, in good condition and if you’re a big rig like us, 40ft class A and toad, you will want to stay up front in there long pull-thrus. A few sites have trees but most have an open sky for your satellite. The sites all have concrete pads for your rig and picnic table with gravel in between. There are no sand, small rocks, stickers or goat heads for you to deal with. There is a nice amount of room between sites and they are long enough that you don’t have to unhook. The park is landscaped very nicely and well maintained, no trash or dog poop on the ground. Pool, restrooms, showers and laundry were all very clean. Free WIFI worked well as did our Sprint phones and 3G. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Average park.Gravel and paved spaces.rules are reasonable.
Breakfast is coffee and muffins with instant oatmeal and toast? Laundry good and clean but on the pricey side. Overall dusty when wind blows. Seasonal pool not open in spring.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Husband and I decided to stay for one month after a $339/month (back-in site) quote by email. When I called to make reservations, I was informed that those sites were unavailable due to "re-sodding" and would have to use a pull through site for $100 more + .12/kilowatt electric. Can anyone say "bait-n-switch?" (Note: When we got here, there was NO re-sodding being done) Additionally I was informed “Back-in sites” had no electric meters, after a couple rounds in the park, we saw many of these sites were in fact metered. We decided to try the stay anyway. We are still here after two weeks, and decided we will not stay again. There are too many rules and restrictions compared to other RV parks for what little they have to offer. The park is located too far away from shopping or entertainment. The Wifi is hit and miss at best and extremely slow (avg, .48kbps download speed), I'm at my Sons house using his connection to make this review because the parks Wifi is so bad. People don't pick up after their dogs; it’s not Handicap friendly (no electric scooters/wheelchairs). Golf carts not allowed yet they use them and at speeds that seem reckless at times, and they cut through spaces with their Golf carts. We have stayed at MUCH nicer RV Parks for less and I state again we will not be returning here in the future. The Interstate noise would be another reason. The Staff treat you like children which I find offensive as well. The landscaping is NOT like others have stated, it’s in the desert, with very little for trees/shade (one area of the RV Park has nothing for trees/landscaping). They claim the spaces are paved but most are gravel. I attempted and offered to pay for breakfast since it’s not included for monthly guests. It took two weeks to get back to me with an offer to pay in advance for one month at $3/day. I only have 15 days left and am not about to “waste” money on 15 days I would not use. I believe they made the offer this way knowing it would be unacceptable, in addition to the breakfast foods not being Diabetic friendly. They have no DVD library like many other RV resorts I have stayed at, and movie entertainment is a long drive round trip, even for a Redbox. Consider somewhere else for your stay and save the gas to get to town and back for services (dining, movies, etc…) One thing I value above all else is honesty, don’t’ count on that here. I have stayed at many RV Resorts/Parks all across this country and can honestly say this one is in my top 5 of “Never again.” Even their own website with customer reviews has no reviews after 2010, maybe there is a reason for that?

Room Tip: Be prepared to travel from here to get anywhere of interest, don't expect Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7dolphin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at American RV Park, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest opinions. Please allow us the chance to address your concerns. Throughout the last several months (and ongoing to this day) we are undergoing a major landscaping project to bring green grass back to the entire park. This involves the re-sodding of many of our sites and has even led to us asking some of our seasonal guests to relocate from their normal sites during this project. We truly apologize that someone informed you that our back-in sites do not have electric meters, this was errant information as all our photos do have them. Additionally, our new rules are put in place for the enjoyment of all our guests and it is inevitable that some of our guests will need to make adjustments. We are located about 15 minutes from Albuquerque which may be 'far' for some guests to travel but we love our location as it allows for a wonderful escape from the city. We also do our best to provide wireless internet service but on extremely busy weekends it can be used by over 300+ people on multiple devices which can slow it down from time to time. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us and appreciate the time you took to share them with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here in past and liked it. This year new staff. The whole place went downhill. Staff unfriendly, kept changing rules. Garbage overflowing. Roaches in gathering room where food is served. Stay away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at American RV Park, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your opinions with us on TripAdvisor. We do have new staff this year but are actually doing our best to improve the entire park experience. We have changed quite a few rules to help all of our campers have a better vacation including policies that no longer allow parking of vehicles on the grass. This is due to a large landscaping project we are undertaking to bring back green grass to every single site. As for your comment regarding roaches, we have never had an issue there and regularly undergo and pass thorough health department inspections quite frequently. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences these new rules may have caused during your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
806 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This campground is beautifully maintained and all of the sites are paved. There are a lot of activities and a nice store with local crafts. My favorite part is the breakfast that is include with the camping fee. It is a convenient off and on location next to I-40. It is a convenient distance from downtown Albuquerque to use as a base camp for your visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennessee50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at American RV Park, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words! We really do our best to make every single camper have a memorable experience at our resort and hearing from people like you makes all that effort worth it. Our free breakfast included in the camping fee is one of the best features our campers tell us they love about the park and we'll continue to offer it. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, NV
Level Contributor
183 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We've stayed here many times over the years and it is due to it being a great park - very clean with an excellent staff.
Asphalt interior roadways with level concrete sites. There is some roadway noise from I-40, but not bad. I'm not sure what happened, but all the grass between sites is gone and the weeds have taken over - when I mentioned it to one of the staff, she said she was hoping to get some new turf put in soon.

Clubhouse, laundry room and bath houses in perfect shape. Well stocked market and gift shop.

They also include a continental breakfast - waffles, cereal, juice, toast, coffee and juice.

Good location to visit the Albuquerque sites - Route 66 and old town within 10 minute drive - Camping World just across the highway.

They will honor Good Sam discount, but you have to ask. Would Recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear site to avoid highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beave8920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at American RV Park, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We really appreciate your candid comments here on TripAdvisor and are glad to see that you enjoyed your time here at our campground. We are working on a major landscaping project to bring back beautiful green grass to all of our RV sites over time. We have a brand new management team that is still within their first year so expect constant improvements! Hope to see you again soon at American RV Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Sandia Resort & Casino
#43 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American RV Park

Property: American RV Park
Address: 13500 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87121-7703
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to American RV Park, an Albuquerque New Mexico RV park and the highest rated RV Park in New Mexico. With our convenient location to downtown Albuquerque, New Mexico, we make the perfect NM Balloon Festival camping location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing