We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful place to be in New Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm
Ranked #9 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It`s already four months ago, but we can`t forget our wonderful stay in New Mexico at Los Poblanos - and that`s why we don`t want to miss to write a review. Every member of the team was attentive and charming, pretty much dfifferent to usual hotel businnes. We enjoyed an extraordinary breakfast, made of fresh and local ingrediencies. The restaurant La Merienda is excellent, no need to go elsewhere in Albuquerque! Best dining during our US trip. The staff of the restaurant is extremely kind and offers good advices. You have a wonderful view of Sandia Mountains. We stayed in the Historic Inn suites, in cosy, romantic rooms with fireplaces. The farm area as well as the entire staff provide a truly magic touch!
Thanks
Katja & Matthias
Cologne, Germany

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4KaMa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

For a dinner, overnight or weekend, Los Poblanos Historic Inn and Organic Farm is a choice you will long remember. The grounds -- multiple gardens and hidden seating areas amid trailing vines, lavender fields and huge blanket of giant, fragrant pond lilies in mid-July -- coupled with the Spanish architecture of the 1930s inn, well-appointed, extremely comfortable rooms and innovative use of farm-grown produce for meals make this one of the most memorable places we have ever stayed. It is well worth a destination trip or detour from your itinerary. The dining room is intimate; the service impeccable. The inn's history through its original owners to Albuquerque's politics, art and city life makes the setting even more compelling. The current ownership works hard to ensure guests are comfortable, entranced by the beauty of place and that their privacy is preserved. What could be more perfect?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I-25 runs north-south and divides the arid western half of Albuquerque from the arid eastern half. Parallel to I-25 is the Rio Grande. Along the banks of the Rio Grande are a relative few large, lush green patches of land which, without the river, would also be arid and brown. The Los Poblanos Inn is located on a working farm of 25 acres on some of this green land. It is 3 miles north of I-40 (which coincidentally divides the north half of the City from the south) on Rio Grande Blvd. in the upscale enclave of Los Ranchos de Albuquerque. Listening to song birds while sitting in the main courtyard at Los Poblanos in the cool of the evening, you have no idea that you are actually in the middle of a large city surrounded mostly by desert. That type of experience, coupled with the Inn's mantra of an organic way of life, may explain the allure of the Inn and the rave reviews from so many other travelers. However, our stay at Los Poblamos was not very comfortable and we did not feel like valued guests. Our room was approx. $ 200 per night which was refundable only more than 10 days before arrival and, even then, only with a 10% cancellation penalty. Upon arrival after the earliest permitted check-in time of 4 PM, we were told that (1) we could not buy any food at all that evening because a large party already had dinner reservations; (2) the 2 fellows in the kitchen "may sell you a wine or a beer if you ask"; (3) there would be no one on duty on the property after 9 PM but that an answering service would be available and (4) breakfast would be served only between 8-10 AM the next morning. We did find a very good restaurant 4 miles away for dinner. However, when loud partygoers returned after the bars had closed around 2 AM, we counted ourselves fortunate that the noise levels dropped after 10 minutes and that we didn't need to call the off-site answering service to then call the off-site manager. The furnishings in our room were more worn than in the photos on the Inn's website and the backsides of the toilet and upright wash basin had not been cleaned in awhile. The window in the bathroom was unlocked and slightly open; we were glad that we had checked and locked it. It turned out that the complimentary earplugs in our room were for protection from the shreiks of the Peacocks which freely roam the grounds. The next morning, we learned from the waitress that we had only a choice of 2 entrees for breakfast with no substitutions or modifications allowed. Breakfast took almost 1 hour because the kitchen ran out of cut fruit and some other items. To try and accomodate a special diet which we had already explained was required for medical reasons, we split the entrees, one of which was overcooked. On the way to the exercise room, I picked up and disposed of a large section of newspaper from the driveway after a hotel employee walked right over it. Half of the bicycles that were promised on the website for touring the grounds had flat tires or other problems. Not that we were given much time to ride them on the pathways around the Inn on them, anyway: the stated checkout time was at 11 AM although. after we asked, we were offered "30 minutes or even an hour" extra because of the very slow service at breakfast. Next time, we will stay at a nice hotel by one of the highways, instead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldwidetravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosPoblanos, Manager at Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear WorldwidetravelerUSA,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. We take the concerns of our guests very seriously, and use this feedback as an opportunity to improve. We are a small Inn, and try very hard to offer the best service possible.

We have just scheduled the bikes for a full maintenance, and spoken with our housekeepers and kitchen staff to ensure that what you experienced does not happen again. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us, and we hope you'll return some day and give us a second chance.

If you have any questions, or if I can be of further assistance, please contact me directly.

With regards,

Nancy Kinyanjui
Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is the loveliest, most perfect place to me. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and just the right kind of fancy -- ie really restful and not precious. The fragrant lavender, the delicious breakfasts, the strutting peacocks, the gardens, and the cottonwoods as you drive in. I bought several things from the Farm store including the wonderful lavender salve. And an amazing lemon gelato. There is an enjoyable walk along the Rio Grande at the back of the hotel.

I only wish they served dinner other nights as I didn't stay Weds-Sat.

Room Tip: I stayed in Meem 1 and it was bigger than Meem 3 so I recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationjunkieny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Our daughter was married in one of the gardens. It was absolutely beautiful!!! The staff were so great everything was perfect. The food delicious! The rooms were clean and the beds so comfortable. What a lovely place to take wonderful wedding pics. One of My favorite would be the two of them standing in the lavender field with the sun setting on the mountains, oh my! My only regret was not staying more than 1 night. Would go back again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I spent three days here last month. We used it as a base to explore the region. The inn is an oasis of rest, and we happily retreated there in the evenings. The main building is an old style hacienda with a beautiful fountain in the quiet courtyard. It's an ideal place to sit and read a book while sipping a cool drink. Our room was spacious enough, though not large by contemporary standards. But who cares about contemporary standards when your door opens onto that courtyard!

The breakfasts are served in an narrow dining room with open glass on both sides. You can also eat outdoors on the patio. Both are excellent options. The breakfasts are ample, diverse, and delightful. A great start to an active day. We also dined at the inn one evening. Be sure to make reservations, often well in advance. The dinner menu is not extensive, but that's a virtue to me, not a handicap. Each meal is a separate creation, not a mass produced item off of a long list. The standards are quite high, and I would come back in a flash.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Because we don't want to share this great place with more people who have now found out about this hidden jewel. Our forth stay in 6 years and it only gets better. The addition of evening dining should surely not be missed. Perhaps my favorite place to stay in all the land.

Room Tip: We like the historic rooms, but I can't believe you would go wrong in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madasa1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,409 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,707 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 143 in Albuquerque
121 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm

Address: 4803 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107-5520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: £158 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among 25 acres of lavender fields, enormous cottonwood trees, and lush formal gardens, Los Poblanos is one of the most magnificent historic properties in the Southwest. Designed in 1932 by the region's foremost architect, John Gaw Meem, Los Poblanos combines 50 guest rooms, a working organic farm, and the ideal setting for meetings and special events. The natural beauty, comfort and privacy of Los Poblanos offer our guests a truly relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Poblanos Historic Inn And Organic Farm
Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing