We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Farm Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
“Luxury Farm Stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We chose Los Poblanos for an overnight in Albuquerque on a cross country Route 66 Adventure. It is a bit removed from the lively heart of the city, but offers views of the mountains and a more natural setting among gardens and lavender fields. Checking in, Sarah was super friendly and helpful. She has a great sense of humor and gave us a wonderful property room. Our room was bright and airy with a four poster bed, sitting area, wall mounted tv, and large kitchen area. Plenty of closet space and sumptuous lavender bath products that they produce at the farm. The pure white rooms felt a bit sterile, but still very luxurious for a farm. There is free internet and lots to do on site. There are guided farm tours, multiple gardens to walk, plenty of event space, a charming farm shop, greenhouse, honeybees, a pool and the best part.....the animals.

Wandering the grounds are peacocks and other fowl. There are chickens, goats, sheep, cows, llamas and my favorite, pigs. They have coin operated feed dispensers too. It was neat to hear crows in the morning and assorted farm animal noises throughout the night.

We had dinner in their restaurant which uses as much on site or local produce as possible. It was very good. As was their included breakfast. We would have liked more than 2 choices at breakfast, but we appreciated the creativity and flavor balances in the dishes.

Los Poblanos gave us a very romantic and laid back night in Albuquerque and we are very glad we stayed here. The unique combination of organic farm and luxury inn found a very nice balance and we truly enjoyed exploring their property and experiencing their hospitality first hand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    52
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
120
253
28
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I loved the feel of the place on arrival. The grounds are beautiful, and unlike anything in most other places. That should not be understated. It's a exceptionally unique location, business, and concept, all of which I immensely appreciate.

The accommodations have promise, but had their issues. The room we were staying in was infested with a variety of bugs. We had to deal with a few dozen each evening before going to bed and another few dozen each morning upon waking. This was rather off-putting, as we were not expecting nor prepared for a camp-like experience at that price. The shower, while beautiful, leaked water from the sides. The room was large. The artwork and furnishings were fun and interesting. The fireplace was a plus and quite cozy, even if not always set up to burn properly. The lavender amenities were also nice, though never replenished (even simple things when "used up", like shampoo).

The food was generally good, sometimes exceptional and sometimes below average. On the below average occasions, it tasted like someone was trying too hard to put lots of things in a dish without much specific thought on the taste or preparation. On the exceptional occasions, the food rivaled and surpassed the very best restaurants around the country and world. Either way, it's very fresh and locally sourced food from folks that seem to generally care about it.

In my experience, the majority (though not all) of the staff was surprisingly rude, or perhaps just generally disinterested and unhelpful. I didn't understand this, especially from what was billed as a local business and functioning organic farm / inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosPoblanos, Manager at Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Hello T B,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps our small business continue to grow and improve. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and on-site dining. However, I am so sorry you were disappointed with our service. As seen by our other guest reviews, we take great pride in providing excellent customer service throughout all of our guests’ time at Los Poblanos. I have discussed your review with our maintenance and housekeeping staff and please be assured that we have addressed the issues you encountered during your stay. We have also consulted our on-call pest control company, who practices all natural pest control, to make sure no future guest will encounter a similar situation in any of our rooms.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. We hope you will consider Los Poblanos for a second visit the next time you’re in Albuquerque.

With regards,
Nancy Kinyanjui
Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

You're crazy to miss the included breakfasts. Some of the best food I've ever had. The aspens in late October are ablaze of yellow. My friend spend hours chasing the peacocks on the property for a perfect picture. Just an amazing getaway. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Girard rooms are lovely and old--but also have old bathrooms. Just keep that in mind. Bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinkies1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Met every expectation from service to accommodation. It may be one of the most beautiful spots in New Mexico to spend the night. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful for being so close to Albuquerque. The restaurant was not open on the night we were there but the breakfast was very good with locally sourced ingredients. While Albuquerue is not a destination for us, this inn will probably have us stopping over there again to try the restaurant for an evening meal in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed at Los Poblanos for 3 days in September and it met every expectation. It is beautiful, the food is fresh and interesting and the entire experience was warm and welcoming. They recommended a wonderful bike company, Routes Rentals, which was a highlight of the stay. It felt like you were staying with old friends who genuinely were glad to have you. On top of all that, the staff contacted me a few days after my stay, advised me I had left some earrings and promptly mailed them to me with no hesitation. I will return whenever I am in Albuquerque and have told everyone I know that this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanford, ca
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here approximately 4 years ago...and so happy to return. Stayed in the Sor Juana (room 3) on both occasions. Unwound by the fire in our kiva and lulled to sleep by the wind in the cottonwoods. The grounds are beautiful. Without Los Poblanos, we have no need to return to Albuquerque. Los Poblanos is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myleeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

They truly live up to the expectations set on their website. It was a beautiful place...gorgeous grounds (in a natural way, not a manicured high-maintenance way) with lush vegitation everywhere you went. As this is a working farm, as well as a bed-n-breakfast, as well as a gourmet restaurant, as well as an adjacent conference center (in the estate next door), staff of some sort were constantly coming and going...but never disruptive to the serenity of the place. We stayed in the Girard Suite (I think it was room #6), which is a separate building about 40' from the dining room. While this suite is the only "room" in that building, it is shared with the laundry facilities, but as these buildings are old, they have solid thick walls, so even if you are sleeping in, the laundry will not wake you (unless you have the windows open). The suite reminded me of my grandmothers farm house. It smelled "earthy", with a wood burning kiva fireplace, and 10' ceilings. Now, as this is an old farmhouse, it's understandable that the old windows are difficult to open and close, and that the bathroom sink had separate spigots for the hot and cold water. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The water pressure and "old school" shower head made for the best shower I've had in 20 years!

As far as the food goes, it was simply impeccable! While the names of the dishes were a bit "hoity-toity" (unless you are a foody, then you might be able to discerne what is on the menu without asking the server), the food was not. It was wholesome, mostly locally grown/raised, and masterfully prepared. The portion sizes were perfect as well.

The grounds were our favorite part. We wandered, found little nooks, fountains, seating areas to sit and enjoy each other's company. It was very easy to find a beautiful place for some private time with your significant other.

The farm and farm store were equally charming. You can visit with the chickens and goats (who, I believe, are contributing to your meals each day), then find wonderful wholesome products in the farm store. While there are many Los Poblanos "branded" products in the store, it is in no ways a "gift shop".

A few other items to mention: it is very easy to get into town. Other restaurants are just a short distance (1/4 mile to 2 miles) away. There is a bocci ball court (lawn bowling) right outside of the dining room, for an after-meal game. There are 3-4 peacocks roaming the grounds, including an albino one, which are very tame. While the birds did not get loud while we were there, they do have the potential when spooked, to raise quite a ruckus...so the Inn provides earplugs for those who might be disturbed by these beautiful birds.

Simply put, our entire stay was blissful, in an old-fashion simplicity kinda way. It was very peaceful, amazingly beautiful, and incredibly romatic! You cannot go wrong with this place, and once you stay, you will be sure to return...as I've yet to find anyplace that compares to this west of the Mississippi!

Green Features: This place was so "green" and wholesome, which was uplifting. They provided well water in reusable glass bottles in each room, they composted all their organic refuse, and the only paper products you saw was TP. This is the way life is meant to be lived!
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,667 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,388 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Hotel Chaco
#17 of 144 in Albuquerque
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm

Property: Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm
Address: 4803 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107-5520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among 25 acres of lavender fields and lush formal gardens, Los Poblanos is one of the most prestigious properties in the Southwest. Detailed tours of the historic property are available to all guests, as well as the included gourmet breakfast incorporating ingredients from our organic farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Poblanos Historic Inn And Organic Farm
Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing